Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:22 PM   #1
echomango
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Question about late 2012 iMac and After Effects

I love my new Imac 27 and it has been flawless on almost everything. But today I ran into a strange problem with After Effects. This was the first time using AE on the new machine. CS3 had been activated a while back and photoshop and others are working just fine. When I put an mp3 file into a composition and try to preview the sound comes back an octave or two lower than it should be. Weird. I tried the same file in an older imac with AE and it worked just fine. Could it be a setting somewhere that I have missed?

Any help will be most appreciated!

Tom
echomango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:23 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Tried it with an uncompressed WAV or AIFF of that MP3 yet?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 03:10 PM   #3
echomango
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Tried it with an uncompressed WAV or AIFF of that MP3 yet?
Thanks for this. I saved the file as an .aif and now when I try and preview the audio file it hangs. When I try to preview an mp4 it goes very quickly through it, like about 5x as fast from normal speed.

This is all very odd since I used AE on this computer a while back but before I activated my CS3. The activation option seems to be greyed out in the help menu. When I try to register it says no connection to the internet. Could it be due to not having registered? This is nuts.
echomango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 03:45 PM   #4
profphil
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Have no knowledge of After Effects or CS3 unfortunately but audio files playing faster seems to point to a higher sample rate being used. Maybe see if there are sample rate options somewhere in your software? Good luck anyway.
profphil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:09 PM   #5
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by echomango View Post
I love my new Imac 27 and it has been flawless on almost everything. But today I ran into a strange problem with After Effects.
Who else thought this was another image retention thread?

(Sorry, not helpful I know. )
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 27 - SSD (late 2012) vs Fusion (late 2013) jorged iMac 2 Mar 19, 2014 07:35 PM
Using a MacBook Late 2006 as a second monitor for iMac 27" Late 2012? sultanoflondon iMac 5 Jan 19, 2014 01:25 PM
Advice Needed: Repair Late 2009 iMac vs. Buy Late 2012 MacMini AhmedFaisal Buying Tips and Advice 1 Nov 21, 2013 02:39 PM
Late 2012 iMac menu bar question Tbdbuckeyeitl iMac 13 Mar 17, 2013 03:07 PM
Late 2012 mac mini or late 2012 imac? Pianoman0018 iMac 2 Jan 7, 2013 05:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC