Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 24, 2012, 03:15 AM   #1
kylera
macrumors 6502a
 
kylera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seoul
Is buying Office used okay?

Please note, this isn't asking whether Office is a good product or not. What I would like to ask is whether buying a used, open copy of Office is legit or not, or whether I will have to deal with potential activation issues, etc.
__________________
Current Macs: 2012 13" MBA | 2011 27" iMac | PowerBook G4 12" | eMac 700Mhz
Current iOS: iPad 4 3G 64GB | iPhone 4S 16GB
kylera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 04:16 AM   #2
macman312
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylera View Post
Please note, this isn't asking whether Office is a good product or not. What I would like to ask is whether buying a used, open copy of Office is legit or not, or whether I will have to deal with potential activation issues, etc.
Mate, I honestly wouldn't risk it. To answer your question, yes you probably will have issues with activation
macman312 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 04:23 AM   #3
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Nope, not worth the risk...At best you will have to jump through Microsoft hoops to get the code changed....At worst it will still be in use and you end up with no software and no money....Buy a new copy, it's the safest way, but FWIW at the moment, it's so full of bugs made worse by the recent updates that I would leave it alone entirely....Outlook is useless now, and many are finding Word and Excel also have issues.

I have 2 licensed copies, but I'm not even using them at present.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 10:43 AM   #4
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
IIRC it's not allowed per Microsoft. Why not verify with them directly?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
Outlook is useless now, and many are finding Word and Excel also have issues.
Also FWIW I'm using all three just fine.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 06:13 PM   #5
kylera
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
kylera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seoul
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
Nope, not worth the risk...At best you will have to jump through Microsoft hoops to get the code changed....At worst it will still be in use and you end up with no software and no money....Buy a new copy, it's the safest way, but FWIW at the moment, it's so full of bugs made worse by the recent updates that I would leave it alone entirely....Outlook is useless now, and many are finding Word and Excel also have issues.

I have 2 licensed copies, but I'm not even using them at present.
Geez, they might as well eliminate box sales if it might be that complex. Thanks for the heads-up.
__________________
Current Macs: 2012 13" MBA | 2011 27" iMac | PowerBook G4 12" | eMac 700Mhz
Current iOS: iPad 4 3G 64GB | iPhone 4S 16GB
kylera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 06:17 PM   #6
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
Nope, not worth the risk...At best you will have to jump through Microsoft hoops to get the code changed....At worst it will still be in use and you end up with no software and no money....Buy a new copy, it's the safest way, but FWIW at the moment, it's so full of bugs made worse by the recent updates that I would leave it alone entirely....Outlook is useless now, and many are finding Word and Excel also have issues.

I have 2 licensed copies, but I'm not even using them at present.
2008 Version is fine (no Outlook, of course).
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 06:01 AM   #7
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
The only way I would do it is if you, the seller, and Microsoft get on the phone at the same time and they transfer the license/activation to you while all are together and you verify it works.
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 08:08 AM   #8
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
It'll be fine. First off Microsofts activation system is not that difficult. I transfer licenses of Office frequently from old computers to new computers. There is no paperwork to fill out or jumping through hoops to get the license activated.

Most of the time you just install the used Office, type in the key and activate over the internet (probably between 95% and 99% of the time this works). MS knows computers fail, get old, get new boot drives, &c. Each of these scenarios generates a unique installation ID from the serial number, requiring a unique activation key to activate.

I don't know what the time interval is but after several weeks or months the MS activation servers reset and allow the serial number to be used again on a new computer. If it has been too soon. You will be provided with a phone number to call. When calling it has two steps the first you type in the installation ID the the system gives you the activation code. In the extremely rare event this does not work you go on to a live operator. Tell them you replaced your computers, they say okee dokee and give you your installation ID.

Autodesk already lost a lawsuit over selling used software. At least in the US you have the right to resell software.
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.
velocityg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Launches Office 365 Subscriptions Alongside Office 2013, But Macs Still Stuck on Office 2011 MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 302 Apr 15, 2014 04:15 PM
Buying pre owned iMac with office installed Valwoire Mac Basics and Help 5 Jan 10, 2014 08:15 AM
Need Office now, but it's Office 2011 and Office 2014 is coming in March... msallin Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jan 9, 2014 10:27 PM
Microsoft Brings 'Office Mobile for Office 365 Subscribers' to iPhone MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 212 Oct 8, 2013 02:36 PM
Buying Dock for Office -- Both Windows/Mac Compatible? LinksAwakener MacBook Pro 0 Aug 5, 2013 03:40 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC