Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:24 PM   #1
hoochrulez55
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: ontario canada
Correct memory upgrade?

I will be replacing the memory myself via apples guide to installing memory. I am doubling my macbooks current 2X1GB, to 2X2GB. The memory im looking at purchasing is in the link that follows, and i would need 2 chips of 2GB RAM each. Is this the right memory for my machine? My specs are in the other link below. Thanks in advance, Hooch.

Memory in question: http://www.memorydepot.com/SOD1066NS3C72GBN.htm

My specs: http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...010-specs.html
hoochrulez55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:28 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Yes, that is the correct memory, but since only one 2 GB module costs that much, you can get 8 GB (two 4 GB modules) for less than the two 2 GB modules via the shop you linked to.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:52 PM   #3
hoochrulez55
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: ontario canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Yes, that is the correct memory, but since only one 2 GB module costs that much, you can get 8 GB (two 4 GB modules) for less than the two 2 GB modules via the shop you linked to.
i thought 8 was too much. 4 is max.
i dont want to mess up my machine.
hoochrulez55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:57 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoochrulez55 View Post
i thought 8 was too much. 4 is max.
i dont want to mess up my machine.
You linked to the specs of your machine, and as you can see there, the maximum RAM it supports is 8 GB.

And if you only want to go to 4 GB, best to buy a kit of two 2 GB sticks.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:04 AM   #5
hoochrulez55
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: ontario canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
You linked to the specs of your machine, and as you can see there, the maximum RAM it supports is 8 GB.

And if you only want to go to 4 GB, best to buy a kit of two 2 GB sticks.
okay so its best if i order 2X4GB right?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
You linked to the specs of your machine, and as you can see there, the maximum RAM it supports is 8 GB.

And if you only want to go to 4 GB, best to buy a kit of two 2 GB sticks.
and for the small amount of money to upgrade to max, i might as well

----------

so this kit should do the trick?

http://www.memorydepot.com/MICRONSOD8G8500KIT.htm
hoochrulez55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:06 AM   #6
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoochrulez55 View Post
okay so its best if i order 2X4GB right?

----------



and for the small amount of money to upgrade to max, i might as well
Yes, choose one of the kits I linked to. Crucial, GSkill and Corsair and almost any other kit is more than okay. Kingston too. Just get one with a good warranty.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoochrulez55 View Post
so this kit should do the trick?

http://www.memorydepot.com/MICRONSOD8G8500KIT.htm
Probably, but is 20 USD more expensive.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:12 AM   #7
hoochrulez55
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: ontario canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Yes, choose one of the kits I linked to. Crucial, GSkill and Corsair and almost any other kit is more than okay. Kingston too. Just get one with a good warranty.

----------



Probably, but is 20 USD more expensive.
im in Canada so it doesnt matter much the dollar is so close lol

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Yes, choose one of the kits I linked to. Crucial, GSkill and Corsair and almost any other kit is more than okay. Kingston too. Just get one with a good warranty.

----------



Probably, but is 20 USD more expensive.
ill probably go with the Mircon. it has lifetime warranty
hoochrulez55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade RAM: Two, 2GB memory cards or will one 4GB memory card work? cmhall9 MacBook Pro 6 Dec 2, 2013 02:05 PM
Correct memory not showing up macher iMac 5 Nov 29, 2013 03:17 PM
iPad: What are the correct steps to upgrade jailbroken ipad 3 from 5.1.1 to 6.1.2? Reynevan Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Jul 20, 2013 08:30 AM
[UPGRADE] Base 2012 Mac Mini SSD and Memory Upgrade That-Guy Mac mini 43 Apr 14, 2013 09:52 PM
Is this the correct ram for upgrade tommy0614 iMac 11 Feb 3, 2013 11:52 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC