Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 23, 2013, 05:05 PM   #1
thewhoosh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Largest graphics card possible

Hi guys, I have a 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon with aNVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512 MB

Is this the latest I can put in this machine, I am doing video editing and 3D design

I look forward to any info available
thewhoosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2013, 05:10 PM   #2
Macsonic
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewhoosh View Post
Hi guys, I have a 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon with aNVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512 MB

Is this the latest I can put in this machine, I am doing video editing and 3D design

I look forward to any info available
For 3D and video work you can get the Nvidia 570GTX, 580GTX or 680GTX
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2013, 09:06 PM   #3
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
ATI 5770*, 5870*
AMD 6870, 6970, 7950*, 7970
GTX 560, 570, 580, 650, 660ti, 670, 680*, 770.
Apple versions with boot screen can be bought with asterisk models.
I probably missed a few and didn't include the dual GPU cards. Point is, there is a bunch if you plan on running 10.8.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2013, 09:09 PM   #4
flowrider
macrumors 68000
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
^^^^All the cards mentioned above can be bought on eBay with flashed with an Apple EFI. one of our site vendors MacVidCards is among the sellers on eBay.

Lou
flowrider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2013, 10:08 PM   #5
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Largest Graphics Card Possible ≠ Fastest Graphics Card Possible
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 02:26 AM   #6
thewhoosh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Thankyou

I will study the ones you have recommended and look for the Mac plug and play ones.
I am on OS 10.7.5
would I be better updating this?
thewhoosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 02:47 AM   #7
DJenkins
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Hi machine sounds like it could be a 1,1 or 2,1 series which may limit the cards and OS upgrades??
DJenkins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 03:54 AM   #8
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Good point.

Thewhoosh - can you tell us the year model of your Mac Pro please. Check Apple - About this Mac - More Info - System Report and tell us just what it says next to Model Identifier.

It will have something like MacPro3,1 or similar. We don't need any other info from that page.
DanielCoffey is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 04:10 AM   #9
thewhoosh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
My Machine

Mac Pro
Early 2008
Processor 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel XeonMemory 26 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512 MB
Serial Number CK83600931E
Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 (11G63b)
thewhoosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 05:14 AM   #10
Macsonic
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewhoosh View Post
Mac Pro
Early 2008
Processor 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel XeonMemory 26 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512 MB
Serial Number CK83600931E
Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 (11G63b)
That's good. The cards mentioned in this thread will work on your 2008 Mac Pro. You'll just have to take note of the minimum system requirements on OSX on the corresponding card. Better to upgrade to Mountain Lion 10.8.4

Last edited by Macsonic; Aug 24, 2013 at 04:01 PM. Reason: typo error
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 10:38 AM   #11
flowrider
macrumors 68000
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewhoosh View Post
I will study the ones you have recommended and look for the Mac plug and play ones.
I am on OS 10.7.5
would I be better updating this?
The drivers in OS10.7.5 (Lion) are not the latest drivers to support newer cards. I would update to OS10.8.4 (ML) if I were to update to a newer card. IMO, your graphics card selection is somewhat limited if you choose to stay with Lion. Probably just the ATI HD5770, HD5870 or a flashed HD6870.
flowrider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 11:12 AM   #12
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by flowrider View Post
^^^^All the cards mentioned above can be bought on eBay with flashed with an Apple EFI. one of our site vendors MacVidCards is among the sellers on eBay.

Lou
Yeah, but extremely expensive! I paid $90 for a card he sells for over $400 just as one example. I got a fairly good deal as they typically sell for $125 to $150 but that's still a far cry from $400+. The good news is that he seems to be looking into that and states that he's planning to sell card mods as a service - you buy the card from whoever and he'll mod it for you for a fee. So that sounds better money-wise. People with a high ethical awareness should also realize that these mods essentially boil down to intellectual property theft tho - so if that's important to you then be advised - it's basically the same thing as buying stolen property.

Also there are a few start-up utilities which alleviate most of the startup (boot screen) woes - if indeed you notice any. I'm running an unmodified PC card with no boot-screens and haven't had any issues. I can still boot to other volumes and stuff without any trouble. I still keep the 8800 GT and the 7300 GT laying around just in case tho. I'm running 10.7.5 BTW, and all is well with all of the cards I've tried from the list being quoted. Going to 10.8.x is probably a good idea anyway tho. It's nearing the end cycle and that when I usually upgrade. The 10.9.x cycle is about to start pretty soon now if I'm not mistaken.
Tesselator is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 02:33 PM   #13
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
^^^ I echo that. If ANYONE is on 10.7.x do yourself a favor and upgrade. Lion, to me, was frustrating as hell. Bad choices all around.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 06:54 PM   #14
thewhoosh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Ugrading

Just upgraded to mountain lion
thewhoosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2013, 05:39 PM   #15
thewhoosh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
should this work?

Nvidia Quadro FX 4800 for Mac Pro 1.8GB Dual DVI Flashed 4000 CUDA OpenCL Apple
thewhoosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2013, 07:46 PM   #16
Cisco_Kid
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by flowrider View Post
^^^^All the cards mentioned above can be bought on eBay with flashed with an Apple EFI. one of our site vendors MacVidCards is among the sellers on eBay.

Lou
I'd buy from Newegg or Fry's and cut out the middle man by flashing it yourself, it's not complicated.
__________________
Sundays are for fishing,
Cisco_Kid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 03:12 PM   #17
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewhoosh View Post
Nvidia Quadro FX 4800 for Mac Pro 1.8GB Dual DVI Flashed 4000 CUDA OpenCL Apple
It will, but it's nothing special preformance-wise. Check sticky thread (Frequently Asked Questions...) and choose one for yourself, depending on OS you're running. If you can live without bootscreen.
GTX570 would be best bet (requires 10.7.5 or 10.8 to run OOTB). Especially with its today's prices (ca. $150).
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 06:43 PM   #18
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewhoosh View Post
Nvidia Quadro FX 4800 for Mac Pro 1.8GB Dual DVI Flashed 4000 CUDA OpenCL Apple
Ask wittjack if the card will look like the picture or if it will be in fact this one:

http://www.ztronics.com/hp-594502-00...ideo-card.html

I think you will find it to be the item I linked instead of the one pictured.

The card was developed for the Mac by myself and another party.

It is SIGNIFICANTLY slower than a GTX285 with 1GB. (Has 192 cores vs 240 in a GTX285)

The party selling it has no knowledge of how card works, he's a "copy & paste" flasher.

I have a few lying around I meant to get rid of, I'll toss one in and give you an idea how it performs.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 01:51 PM   #19
thewhoosh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Thank you

I would appreciate that
thewhoosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 07:57 AM   #20
thewhoosh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
New Card

I have just received a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470 1280 MB and my second monitor is Purple, but my main monitor is fine.
I swopped cables over to see if the main monitor had the same problem, this time both monitors were fine, I put the monitors back and the 19" LCD was purple again,

Any ideas

Keith
thewhoosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 02:20 PM   #21
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Need more detail

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewhoosh View Post
I have just received a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470 1280 MB and my second monitor is Purple, but my main monitor is fine.
I swopped cables over to see if the main monitor had the same problem, this time both monitors were fine, I put the monitors back and the 19" LCD was purple again,

Any ideas
What are the card ports, cables, and monitor ports used for each monitor.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 04:00 PM   #22
thewhoosh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
I have a samsung synmaster T240 which is working ok
The Philips 170N is purple cast
If I swop over they both work correctly the smaller one is used for program tools bars or previews wit certain programs

I just tried a TV/monitor and that was the same on the second port
thewhoosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Graphics card is in this G5? BaddestArvai PowerPC Macs 20 Mar 28, 2014 04:54 PM
Which Graphics Card? cscotto Mac Pro 5 Nov 14, 2013 11:40 AM
Which Graphics Card?? tony3d Mac Pro 3 Jun 8, 2013 04:42 PM
Best Graphics Card? xWhiplash Mac Pro 2 Sep 5, 2012 12:19 PM
Graphics Card Help Rokeneer Mac Pro 9 Jun 8, 2012 11:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC