Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2012, 08:09 PM   #26
torana355
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jberends View Post
I have a step-by-step guide on the procedure I followed. That is to break the fusion drive, repartition the drive and rebuilt the fusion. My performance is absolutely on par in the new setup. Bring your own time machine backup!

http://tmblr.co/ZeDCRyZsh-kC
Wow that's a pretty good guide, all done in the command line. They only delete half the logical volume which gives most people issues though... I will use that guide if i ever have to do it again but i will delete both parts of the logical volume. They also merge the final storage volume into the fusion drive, im not sure how the performance would be on that?
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:41 PM   #27
qamaro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Thanks guys all this information is helpful and great!
qamaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:44 PM   #28
torana355
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by qamaro View Post
Thanks guys all this information is helpful and great!
Yep, i bet there are some people that got the 1TB fusion that are wishing they got the 3TB one now
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 12:56 AM   #29
cla9614
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Solving Problems one plateau at a time. This is why I'm on these forums...
__________________

iMac - Mid 2011
13" MBP - 2012
cla9614 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 04:18 AM   #30
ste0803
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gateshead//Newcastle/UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by brock2621 View Post
If i'm understanding this correct, I would have to do BOTH of these processes for it to work, correct? I would STILL need to do bootcamp on an internal drive (this process), as well as do the instructions here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1508618.

Correct me if I'm wrong?
You dont need to fully install windows on the internal drive, the only reason you need a partition on the internal drive is to have the boot manager on there,

So:

Create your USB with Drivers,
Create a small partition on the internal drive (using disk utility) lable BOOTCAMP & formatted in FAT. (i used 4GB)
Reboot & boot from the USB stick created earlier, install onto the external drive when selecting disk within the windows install.
When booting using Alt press the first Windows hard drive in the row and this will allow full install.

Ste0803
ste0803 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 11:09 PM   #31
brock2621
macrumors 6502a
 
brock2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kentucky
Quote:
Originally Posted by ste0803 View Post
You dont need to fully install windows on the internal drive, the only reason you need a partition on the internal drive is to have the boot manager on there,

So:

Create your USB with Drivers,
Create a small partition on the internal drive (using disk utility) lable BOOTCAMP & formatted in FAT. (i used 4GB)
Reboot & boot from the USB stick created earlier, install onto the external drive when selecting disk within the windows install.
When booting using Alt press the first Windows hard drive in the row and this will allow full install.

Ste0803
Is there a work around at this time that will allow zero reliance on trying to reformat my 3TB?

I'm really wanting to just hold alt and boot into windows completely from external if at all possible...
__________________
2012 27" iMac www.OCULUSSTUDIOS.com
www.Twitter.com/OculusStudiosKY
brock2621 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 01:27 AM   #32
qamaro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by brock2621 View Post
Is there a work around at this time that will allow zero reliance on trying to reformat my 3TB?

I'm really wanting to just hold alt and boot into windows completely from external if at all possible...
As far as I know and I have looked exhaustively, there really is no good work around you'll need a master boot record (MBR) on the main drive (SSD or HDD). Once the MBR is in place you can then install the OS on an external. Microsoft prohibits running Windows OS's off of removable media. The only way I know is to run Windows To Go (which is a striped down version of windows 8). You can look it up, to see if it meets you needs but, it really limited. I ruled it out due to its limited update, software install capabilities.
__________________
2012 - 27" iMac i7, | ARECA-8050 32TB | 2012 - MacMini i7 | 2012 Sony Vaio Z - Win8
2009 - MacBook Pro 17" | 2008 Water Cooled PC
Marqelexsis Photography | Facebook
qamaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 03:43 AM   #33
ste0803
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gateshead//Newcastle/UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by brock2621 View Post
Is there a work around at this time that will allow zero reliance on trying to reformat my 3TB?

I'm really wanting to just hold alt and boot into windows completely from external if at all possible...
You dont need to re-format your drive, all your doing is shrinking the current partition to make room for another. takes moments to do and your data should be safe.

Ste0803
ste0803 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 10:45 AM   #34
alienatf
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Russia, Moscow
tryed to do that 5 times, checked everything

windows installer return me 0x80300024 error - could't install to this location (or something like that)
alienatf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 12:01 PM   #35
alienatf
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Russia, Moscow
also i've got qestion: why i should install mac os before i try to install windows?

is it mandatory?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0817.JPG
Views:	41
Size:	1.83 MB
ID:	385580  

Last edited by alienatf; Dec 24, 2012 at 12:44 PM.
alienatf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 12:24 PM   #36
aiming
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by qamaro View Post
I think torana355 was referring to the fact that the step by step for using terminal commands to setup the Fusion Break then SSD + Partition Fusion isn't very clear in most of these threads.

The twocanoes guide is basically just for the 3TB drive portion of the work effort.
Using the Twocanoes method you never unlink the fusion drive and the Mac OS partition. Instead you just shrink it, and make place for a new Windows partition within the 2.2TB. This new Windows partition will not be linked with the fusion drive.
But as far as the Mac OS partition, you will not have to do any linking between it and the Fusion drive, seeing that you never unlinked the two, right?
aiming is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 12:48 PM   #37
alienatf
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Russia, Moscow
So what i've done:

1) Unfusion, partiton 3 drives (800+800+1400), refusion (ssd+800)
2) Unfusion, partiton 3 drives (800+800+1400), refusion (ssd+800+1400)
3) Unfusion, partiton 4 drives (800+800+1400), withoud refusion
4) Unfusion, partiton 4 drives (500+500+800+1400), withoud refusion

none of this methods doesn't work

maybe i've got faulty win7 iso image - it's russian

also i do no understand why i hsould install mac os or refusion drives before install windows......

and last thing gets me confising: terminal command "diskutil list" shows me very long list, but there is no drives connected (check out attachment)

guys help me please )
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0818.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	3.16 MB
ID:	385581  

Last edited by alienatf; Dec 24, 2012 at 12:54 PM.
alienatf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 04:29 PM   #38
torana355
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by alienatf View Post
tryed to do that 5 times, checked everything

windows installer return me 0x80300024 error - could't install to this location (or something like that)
Guys when you first get to the windows installer you have to format the correct partition as NTFS, after that you will still get a message saying you cant install to that partition, all you have to do is reboot the iMac back to the Win7 USB stick again and the error message will be gone, i have repeated this result!!!
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:25 AM   #39
alienatf
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Russia, Moscow
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
Guys when you first get to the windows installer you have to format the correct partition as NTFS, after that you will still get a message saying you cant install to that partition, all you have to do is reboot the iMac back to the Win7 USB stick again and the error message will be gone, i have repeated this result!!!
No, still same error:
after i select correct partition to install i'got message that windows could create addition partitions for it's need and then error 0x80300024 could't install to this location

Last edited by alienatf; Dec 25, 2012 at 02:20 AM.
alienatf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 02:05 AM   #40
torana355
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by alienatf View Post
No, still same error:
after i select correct partition to install i'got message that windows cound create addition partitions for it's need and then error 0x80300024 could't install to this location
Ok im lost as to why it does not work for you...
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 07:41 AM   #41
torana355
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by alienatf View Post
No, still same error:
after i select correct partition to install i'got message that windows could create addition partitions for it's need and then error 0x80300024 could't install to this location
If you google that error it seems to be a common issue, you have to remove all other drives except the one you are installing windows too so windows does not see any drives with GPT (GUID) which could be a big pain with the iMac..A good way to trick it is to format the SSD as MBR (master boot record) Then install windows on the HDD, then go back and reformat the ssd back to GUID and fuse it back with the HDD partition and reinstall OSX.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.

Last edited by torana355; Dec 25, 2012 at 08:52 AM.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3TB Time Capsule for 3TB Fusion Drive? Remi B iMac 22 Jul 29, 2013 05:53 PM
Replacing internal 3TB HHD from Fusion Drive with a SSD and using 3TB HHD as external lazlo kovac iMac 3 Jun 17, 2013 09:25 AM
3TB FUsion Drive Windows 8 iso sukai iMac 2 Apr 13, 2013 03:22 AM
Fusion confusion. Why no bootcamp on 3TB Fusion but OK on 1TB Fusion inscrewtable OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Dec 11, 2012 11:21 PM
3TB Fusion or 1TB Fusion - surely 3TB? jackofharts iMac 33 Dec 11, 2012 04:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC