Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 17, 2012, 12:27 AM   #26
EPiCDiNGO
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by brock2621 View Post
Can somebody PLEASE tell me someone is creating a way to run Windows from an external thunderbolt/USB3 SSD???
I have asked this question before and got mixed results, some say yes others say no I googled around and found out that apparently it is not possible unless you do some messing around with terminal and other things. It did sound complicated for me and as I am kind of new to OS X I decided against it for now and will just put up with slow booting from windows on a Fusion drive, that is unless I find a easy tutorial or guide for this somewhere.
__________________
2010 Macbook Pro i5 2.4GHz 8GB ram 256 SSD
iPhone 4 Black 32GB
iPad 2 32GB Black
Soon to buy 2012 27" iMac
EPiCDiNGO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 12:37 AM   #27
MatthewAMEL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by brock2621 View Post
Can somebody PLEASE tell me someone is creating a way to run Windows from an external thunderbolt/USB3 SSD???
Give this a read...
http://refit.sourceforge.net/
MatthewAMEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 01:32 AM   #28
brock2621
macrumors 6502a
 
brock2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kentucky
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewAMEL View Post
Give this a read...
http://refit.sourceforge.net/
Sigh... This looks a little risky/complicated :/. Has anyone on here successfully been able to boot (completely) from an external drive?

EDIT:Thank you tho, I will look into this in the coming week
brock2621 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:24 AM   #29
aerobyravol
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Switzerland
Sorry for this stupid question, but...

... with my 3TB Fusion Drive, I guess I won't have any issue to run Windows 32bit on a VM (VMWare), right?
aerobyravol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:27 AM   #30
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerobyravol View Post
Sorry for this stupid question, but...

... with my 3TB Fusion Drive, I guess I won't have any issue to run Windows 32bit on a VM (VMWare), right?
No.
VM is not bootcamp, it runs in OS X.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:33 AM   #31
aerobyravol
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
No.
VM is not bootcamp, it runs in OS X.
OK - thanks.

And once Apple has fixed bootcamp on 3TB HDD issue, do you know whether there's a way to migrate my (Fusion) VM on bootcamp?
aerobyravol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 03:16 AM   #32
jido
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerobyravol View Post
OK - thanks.

And once Apple has fixed bootcamp on 3TB HDD issue, do you know whether there's a way to migrate my (Fusion) VM on bootcamp?
Just copy your Windows disk to the new partition, then install the Bootcamp drivers.

In fact, don't the latest VMware and Parallels support graphic acceleration? You should be able to do at least /some/ gaming in a VM.

Or if you want to use Boot Camp right now, just partition your drive the right way (I saw posts on this forum with instructions).

You can also boot MacOSX from an external drive and Windows from the internal drive if you want.
jido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 03:50 AM   #33
aerobyravol
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by jido View Post
Just copy your Windows disk to the new partition, then install the Bootcamp drivers.
You mean, copy the vm ?
And how do I install Bootcamp drivers, then?
I guess, running my Mac, there are options to select the partition?
aerobyravol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 03:58 AM   #34
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerobyravol View Post
You mean, copy the vm ?
And how do I install Bootcamp drivers, then?
I guess, running my Mac, there are options to select the partition?
Copying won't work, I know you can import an existing windows machine into Parallels but exporting it?

It might be possible mounting the disk in OS X and then use Disk utility to restore that image to a bootcamp partition.

I did not respond to you before because I don't have Parallels so I can't give you advise on this, I do know though that you can not copy the image, that is pure nonsense and won't work.

Other's can probably answer this question better than me.

You could also do research yourself, for instance : MRoogle
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 05:28 AM   #35
jido
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Copying won't work, I know you can import an existing windows machine into Parallels but exporting it?

It might be possible mounting the disk in OS X and then use Disk utility to restore that image to a bootcamp partition.

I did not respond to you before because I don't have Parallels so I can't give you advise on this, I do know though that you can not copy the image, that is pure nonsense and won't work.

Other's can probably answer this question better than me.

You could also do research yourself, for instance : MRoogle
Right, copying the image will not work. You need to copy Windows inside the image to the new partition. Sorry if that wasn't clear.
jido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 05:38 AM   #36
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewAMEL View Post
Windows 8 support and GPT support have nothing to do with each other.

Boot Camp will be updated with drivers for Win8, it will never be re-written to support GPT.
Why is GPT not supported? Not that knowledgeable with Windows 8.
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:03 AM   #37
MatthewAMEL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
Why is GPT not supported? Not that knowledgeable with Windows 8.
Because when Boot Camp was introduced, no Windows PCs could support EFI/GPT, so Apple used an industry trick called 'MBR emulation'.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boot_Camp_%28software%29
MatthewAMEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:34 AM   #38
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Then why do I get a lot of search results relating to 3rd party instructions to use Boot Camp to facilitate the installation of Windows 8.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewAMEL View Post
Because when Boot Camp was introduced, no Windows PCs could support EFI/GPT, so Apple used an industry trick called 'MBR emulation'.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boot_Camp_%28software%29
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 09:59 AM   #39
b0redom
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Is there any reason if you order a 3TB fusion drive you can split it into SSD and HDD, and then install Windows to the SSD and OSX to the HDD?

Like this:

http://www.macworld.com/article/2015...ion-drive.html
b0redom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:09 AM   #40
mihai.ile
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
As replied on another thread, using the graphical interface probably no. But using the command line terminal I do not see one reason why it should not work really....
Delete the virtual fusion drive, create a windows partition on ssd and then create the fusion back using the remaining space on ssd and the hdd.
mihai.ile is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:16 AM   #41
b0redom
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Well I'd probably just use the whole 128GB, and if I want to fusion it up use and external Thunderbolt SSD anyone see a problem with that?
b0redom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 11:09 AM   #42
MatthewAMEL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
Then why do I get a lot of search results relating to 3rd party instructions to use Boot Camp to facilitate the installation of Windows 8.
I don't understand your question.

MBR/GPT disk layout has nothing to do with any specific version of Windows.
MatthewAMEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 01:06 PM   #43
Westacular
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewAMEL View Post
I really want you to be right.

However, I doubt Apple's commitment to Boot Camp. 3TB drives have been around since 2010. All 64-bit versions of Windows (except Win Server 2003) support booting from GPT. They have had 2+ years to develop a fix. At the very least, the configuration for the current model iMac has been set for 3-6 months. They couldn't get a Boot Camp update ready for release?

Apple used Boot Camp as bait during the PowerPC/Intel switch. Now they have far less motivation for providing their competitors operating system to run on their hardware.

Virtualization has improved dramatically. Excepting games, of course, VMWare and Parallels provide a good experience using Windows.

Finally, Apple realizes how small the user base is for Boot Camp. 17 million Macs sold in 2011. How many of those use Boot Camp? I would be shocked if it's 10%.
That's fair. Those are all good points, and it would be quite like Apple to decide that Boot Camp has run it's course and quietly let it die. I suppose one counterpoint is that Apple makes most of its money on the initial sale of the hardware, not from your use of OS X. It's incentivized to make the hardware as versatile as possible -- or at least, to appear that way. Keeping Boot Camp viable is still an attractive lure for switchers, even if most don't end up using it; this means they need to keep Boot Camp viable.

My guess is that six months to a year from now, we'll have a clearer picture of the future: either there will be updates, indicating continued support, or there won't be, and the slow death of Boot Camp will begin to set in (possibly with support dropped entirely in 10.9).
Westacular is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 09:23 PM   #44
2Turbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0redom View Post
Is there any reason if you order a 3TB fusion drive you can split it into SSD and HDD, and then install Windows to the SSD and OSX to the HDD?

Like this:

http://www.macworld.com/article/2015...ion-drive.html
That's what I plan to do, except install windows on the hdd. Hopefully it works!
2Turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 03:24 AM   #45
iWaiting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
fixed in latest beta

as above


But thats all I am going to say so dont ask
iWaiting is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 04:28 AM   #46
Fifemacuser
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iWaiting View Post
as above


But thats all I am going to say so dont ask

I ordered my new I mac yesterday and specifically asked on the phone about the 3tb bootcamp issue. Decided to go with 1tb fusion and buy an external drive if/when the need arises.

If They fix it before i take delivery i Will not be impresed. Will Probably send it Back and get The bigger drive.
Fifemacuser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 06:35 AM   #47
81Steven
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by iWaiting View Post
as above


But thats all I am going to say so dont ask
you mean in latest osx beta?
81Steven is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 09:41 PM   #48
drambuie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
The word is that in OS X beta 10.8.3 build 12D58, Bootcamp is updated for Win 8, and for use on 3TB drives.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1531346
drambuie is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 12:58 AM   #49
81Steven
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
happy day

Anyone can confirm with a real test?
81Steven is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootcamp on 3tb fusion Motoxmann iMac 5 Jan 14, 2014 03:35 PM
Fusion 3TB and Bootcamp solomanii Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 8 Sep 28, 2013 08:33 AM
iMac 27" 2012 3TB Fusion Drive no bootcamp? zerozoneice iMac 1 Aug 19, 2013 09:06 PM
3TB BootCamp help Shane1905 iMac 6 Apr 4, 2013 09:06 PM
3TB Fusion / BootCamp Jazwire iMac 29 Dec 8, 2012 04:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC