Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 18, 2013, 03:51 PM   #51
VKB
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
identifying Duplicates

I find it amazing (~ly disappointing) that Aperture doesn't identify duplicates. Even the simplest built-in programs identify dups, it's like downloading Excel and finding it doesn't divide.

Having to download another program to cope with the shortcomings of the so-called ultimate program you just downloaded is ridiculous. Come on Aperture, just fix it!
VKB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2013, 07:32 PM   #52
Razeus
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by VKB View Post
I find it amazing (~ly disappointing) that Aperture doesn't identify duplicates. Even the simplest built-in programs identify dups, it's like downloading Excel and finding it doesn't divide.

Having to download another program to cope with the shortcomings of the so-called ultimate program you just downloaded is ridiculous. Come on Aperture, just fix it!
Just another example of how Aperture is severely outdated, despite it gets frequent updates.
__________________

Website, Pictures & Tweets
Razeus is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2013, 02:40 AM   #53
Zeiss
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Australia
Aperture has 2 major flaws - it doesn't use dng profiles and it doesn't have database lens corrections. These 2 reasons were enough for me to switch to Lr4 and now 5...

Maybe A4 will bring this in, but I ain't going back. Pro photographers use Lr5 for these reasons.
Zeiss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2013, 04:55 AM   #54
swordio777
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Scotland, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeiss View Post
Pro photographers use Lr5 for these reasons.
Sorry, no offence, but this is a ridiculous thing to say. It may be true that YOU use Lr5 for these reasons, but any pro worth his salt will use the right tool for the job. For some this might be Lightroom, for others maybe Aperture, and for others still it might be something completely different.

Be under no illusion - Lightroom is aimed squarely at AMATEURS, not professionals (so is Aperture, I'm not taking sides here). You've got to remember that professionals make up a tiny percentage of the photography market. If Adobe or Apple really did make a programme designed specifically for professionals, nobody would buy it.

They're not making the software so the planet's standard of photography goes up - they're doing it to make money. And the real money is in the amateurs / enthusiats / general public, because they make up 99.9% of the photographic community.

Both tools are good, but both are also extremely limited.

All the best.
__________________
iMac, Nikon camera, Wacom tablet, more external drives than I can count.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/32963578@N06/
http://www.isdimages.co.uk
swordio777 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2013, 06:18 AM   #55
Mike in Kansas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Metro Kansas City
Quote:
Originally Posted by VKB View Post
I find it amazing (~ly disappointing) that Aperture doesn't identify duplicates. Even the simplest built-in programs identify dups, it's like downloading Excel and finding it doesn't divide.

Having to download another program to cope with the shortcomings of the so-called ultimate program you just downloaded is ridiculous. Come on Aperture, just fix it!
Aperture identifies duplicates prior to importing, not after you've imported.
__________________
13" 2012 MBA/i7/8GB/256GB
24" 2008 iMac/2.8GHz/6GB/240GB SSD & 2TB FW800 HDD "Fused"
2GB TC; ATV 3; 32GB iPad 4; iPhone 5
Left Nikon for Fuji X-E1, Fujinon 18-55mm OIS, 55-200mm OIS, 27mm f/2.8
Mike in Kansas is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help setting "home" and "work" locations correctly dk143 iOS 6 4 Jun 23, 2013 07:03 PM
in Aperture it states "You donít have permission to save the file" fitworldmac Digital Photography 2 Mar 3, 2013 08:11 PM
iOS 6 App Store - "More Reviews" Broken? rhino89 iOS 6 6 Sep 23, 2012 02:30 AM
Aperture: "Moving MobileMe Album" hanging nealeholl Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 11, 2012 12:45 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC