Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 14, 2012, 05:25 PM   #1
silentbob007
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Kernel panics ... cause?

Last week I made two decently big changes to my new mini ... I installed a BootCamp partition and installed new RAM. Now, in the past week, I've had two kernel panics. Is it more likely this is from the RAM or the partition?
silentbob007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 05:28 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Post the kernel panic report you get to see upon restart.

About "You need to restart your computer" (kernel panic) messages
Resolving Kernel Panics
Mac OS X: How to log a kernel panic
The cause is more likely to be the RAM. Maybe tell us what exact RAM you have.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:15 PM   #3
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
put the original ram back in and see if the problem goes away.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:52 PM   #4
RiderX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Yep, it's the RAM. Get it exchanged asap!
RiderX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:41 PM   #5
Snowcake
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
It is not your partition. It should be your new ram.

Test it with memtest86+ for atleast 10 passes. (10 hours)
If your ram is really bad it should give a error in the first passes.

That way you know for sure if your ram is defect. Use the bootcd version of memtest86+.

Last edited by Snowcake; Nov 14, 2012 at 08:47 PM.
Snowcake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 03:24 AM   #6
borostef
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
99% that it is RAM... Try with the original sticks...
borostef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 03:54 AM   #7
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
it is ram - 100 percent - try original ram, or only new one - had similar with imac - old ram did not work with new - so i bought for new modules and problem was solved .. if you dont trust us, try apple hw test and run extensive one - it will give you error code
majkom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 05:14 AM   #8
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
You can also try running memtest+. Errors will eventually show up. Then return those modules as they're clearly faulty!
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 06:03 AM   #9
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasx View Post
You can also try running memtest+. Errors will eventually show up. Then return those modules as they're clearly faulty!
that does not need to be truth - I had imac original 4GB module, added another from iceberg and problem occured... tryed another iceberg, no change, then swapped apple original for another iceberg and since then, 18 months without any problem... my conclusion, some modules work together, some not
majkom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 03:28 PM   #10
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
Quote:
Originally Posted by majkom View Post
that does not need to be truth - I had imac original 4GB module, added another from iceberg and problem occured... tryed another iceberg, no change, then swapped apple original for another iceberg and since then, 18 months without any problem... my conclusion, some modules work together, some not
My point still makes sense. Those modules are faulty!
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 04:12 PM   #11
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasx View Post
My point still makes sense. Those modules are faulty!
Nope, they may be OK - only does not work with apple ones... in my case, those from apple (original in imac) were problematic, when switched for iceberg, everything went ok...
majkom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 04:37 PM   #12
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
Quote:
Originally Posted by majkom View Post
Nope, they may be OK - only does not work with apple ones... in my case, those from apple (original in imac) were problematic, when switched for iceberg, everything went ok...
You should've gone to Apple and have them replace them then.
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 04:49 PM   #13
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Whenever you install new ram, the first thing you should do is test it. Single user utilities are preferable, as they tend to test a greater portion of ram. Whatever the test, run it at least 5 cycles. If any errors arise, RMA the memory. Test replacement ram too. RAM is extremely cheap these days, so I get the feeling that quality control may have slipped somewhat.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 05:20 PM   #14
Snowcake
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
Whenever you install new ram, the first thing you should do is test it. Single user utilities are preferable, as they tend to test a greater portion of ram. Whatever the test, run it at least 5 cycles. If any errors arise, RMA the memory. Test replacement ram too. RAM is extremely cheap these days, so I get the feeling that quality control may have slipped somewhat.
Well, it is better to do atleast 10 cycles.

I have read that people had weird problems and and the errors showed up in the 9th cycle. After replacing the ram, no more weird problems and ram tested good.
Snowcake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 05:35 PM   #15
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowcake View Post
Well, it is better to do atleast 10 cycles.

I have read that people had weird problems and and the errors showed up in the 9th cycle. After replacing the ram, no more weird problems and ram tested good.
We can argue over how many. There's no real magic number to it. You're slightly more likely to turn up an error if you run it 100 cycles. In most cases errors capable of causing kernel panics turn up early enough. I just suggest setting it for a number of cycles and letting it run overnight.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 06:23 PM   #16
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasx View Post
You should've gone to Apple and have them replace them then.
I did so... they took original apple ram, gave me another iceberg module and since then, it works like calendar
majkom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 08:19 AM   #17
Snowcake
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
We can argue over how many. There's no real magic number to it. You're slightly more likely to turn up an error if you run it 100 cycles. In most cases errors capable of causing kernel panics turn up early enough. I just suggest setting it for a number of cycles and letting it run overnight.
Just search the internet. Memtest86+ stays a synthetic test...

More than 15 has no use.
Snowcake is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kernel Panics.... jwolf6589 MacBook 0 May 13, 2013 05:58 PM
Need help with Kernel Panics jwolf6589 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 May 12, 2013 04:04 PM
Kernel panics eco7777 MacBook Pro 2 Feb 13, 2013 06:37 PM
Help with kernel panics!!! wickedny5 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Dec 20, 2012 07:32 AM
Keep getting kernel panics? Help! sayheysarah MacBook Pro 3 Jul 18, 2012 12:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC