Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 30, 2012, 08:12 AM   #1
kristenanne77
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Will Fusion 5 work with Windows XP?

I am planning the basic Fusion 5 route on my Mini-Mac.

It says it will works with windows 8 but I need it for windows xp because that is what I have. It doesn't go into detail. It lists Fusion 5 "profesional" as working with all windows programs, including xp, but I don't want to pay extra for that.

http://www.vmware.com/company/news/r...on-082312.html

Does anyone know if the basic $50 version of Fusion 5 will work with Windows XP migration and emulation??

Thanks
K
kristenanne77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 08:24 AM   #2
chrise2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I'm sure it would. The comparison chart between regular and professional doesn't say anything about older OS support. I'm sure the virtualization engine is exactly the same. The professional version just gives you extra management support which typical home users don't need.

You can also download the demo of Fusion Pro if you want to try that out and suck in your XP workstation.
chrise2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 10:09 AM   #3
xlii
macrumors 68000
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Millis, Massachusetts
I'm using fusion 5 on my mac mini and I'm running windows xp, windows 98se and windows 7 in it. Running 10.8.2. XP will no longer run under bootcamp if you have the newer versions of OSX.
xlii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 11:06 AM   #4
kristenanne77
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Thanks. I guess that limits my options if bootcamp is out.
kristenanne77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:30 AM   #5
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kristenanne77 View Post
It says it will works with windows 8 but I need it for windows xp because that is what I have. It doesn't go into detail. It lists Fusion 5 "profesional" as working with all windows programs, including xp, but I don't want to pay extra for that.

http://www.vmware.com/company/news/r...on-082312.html
The problem here is that you're attempting to use a press release. Try looking for the actual product info (linked above), tech specs, etc.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fusion Drive For DAW Work fastlanephil iMac 6 May 25, 2013 08:38 PM
Fusion 5 Vmware Converter lists only up to Fusion 4.x. Will it work? kristenanne77 Mac mini 2 Jan 2, 2013 08:54 PM
Fusion Drive work under Windows OS karnashuk iMac 7 Dec 28, 2012 05:26 PM
Will this work for installing new SSD and getting Fusion Squeak825 Mac mini 1 Nov 18, 2012 08:27 AM
VMWare Fusion 3 doesn't work on Mountain Lion, VMWare asking full price for Fusion 4! Marc4 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 20 Jul 29, 2012 09:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC