Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 8, 2013, 01:37 PM   #851
A Hebrew
macrumors 6502a
 
A Hebrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Minnesota
(I am new to phones)

If I were to purchase a ST iPhone from Walmart and I later wanted to use a different carrier (Such as ATT, Sprint, or Verizon) what would I do to make this possible? Or is this even possible for all of them?
__________________
2012 13" MacBook Air | 2012 27" iMac | iPad 3 | iPhone 5
A Hebrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 02:13 PM   #852
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Hebrew View Post
(I am new to phones)

If I were to purchase a ST iPhone from Walmart and I later wanted to use a different carrier (Such as ATT, Sprint, or Verizon) what would I do to make this possible? Or is this even possible for all of them?
If you got a Straight Talk iPhone 4S or 5 you could later switch to a SIM-based provider such as AT&T or T-Mobile, but not Sprint. You could also switch to a prepaid provider like Net10 or Airvoice.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 05:48 PM   #853
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by KendraPlanet View Post
Okay -- Just found a new AT&T SIM card for unlocked iPhones on Ebay. Bid Sniper got it for me for $42. High-rated seller and Ebay always sides with the buyers anyway. I'm either a genius or I'm out $42 + ship. *crosses fingers*
Just for the SIM card? They used to be $15 on ST's website.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RockstarSR View Post
No reason for me to make such silly stories!

I did this in Jan.
I wonder if they will still do this now, after seeing that they no longer offer them on their website.
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 06:11 PM   #854
madmaxmedia
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via Yahoo to madmaxmedia
Quote:
Originally Posted by umiwangu View Post
Just for the SIM card? They used to be $15 on ST's website.
They only offer T-Mobile compatible SIM's on their web site now, so there is a price premium for the ATT ones.
madmaxmedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 06:55 PM   #855
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmaxmedia View Post
They only offer T-Mobile compatible SIM's on their web site now, so there is a price premium for the ATT ones.
Yeah, I know that. I was just surprised how much of a premium they're getting these days. I have one with me that I stopped using in February. Maybe I should try selling it.
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 09:52 AM   #856
KendraPlanet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by umiwangu View Post
Yeah, I know that. I was just surprised how much of a premium they're getting these days. I have one with me that I stopped using in February. Maybe I should try selling it.
I'm just happy mine wasn't MORE.

Last edited by KendraPlanet; Apr 15, 2013 at 10:02 AM.
KendraPlanet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2013, 07:10 PM   #857
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by KendraPlanet View Post
I'm just happy mine wasn't MORE.
:-)
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2013, 07:20 PM   #858
Premium1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Might want to be careful with straight talk http://androidandme.com/2013/04/carr...they-throttle/

Seems they will cut you off/throttle without any rhyme or reason
Premium1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 09:25 PM   #859
Satnam1989
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
see vendor information in user profile
I use about 700MB-1.2GB/month of data but recently my problem isnt even data related, what I'm being told by many of my contacts is that when they try to call me I am getting told my phone has the busy dial tone...I never get notified on my iPhone/it doesn't even ring.

My Text and Data works all day no issues....even for calls I can make anytime of the day without issue....today I was expecting a important call and I got told when I called the person to get an update that my phone kept coming as busy...during that time I was not on any calls or even using my phone...

Anyone else experiencing such an issue?
Satnam1989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 06:56 AM   #860
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satnam1989 View Post
I use about 700MB-1.2GB/month of data but recently my problem isnt even data related, what I'm being told by many of my contacts is that when they try to call me I am getting told my phone has the busy dial tone...I never get notified on my iPhone/it doesn't even ring.

My Text and Data works all day no issues....even for calls I can make anytime of the day without issue....today I was expecting a important call and I got told when I called the person to get an update that my phone kept coming as busy...during that time I was not on any calls or even using my phone...

Anyone else experiencing such an issue?
I always suspected something like this, but I never really could prove it. That said, I have a friend who has a similar problem with his AT&T iPhone. Or at least friends have tried to call him and they have to leave a voicemail, even when he wasn't using his phone.

Maybe it's a congestion issue? The MVNOs get bumped down in the priority list?
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 11:18 AM   #861
Satnam1989
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by umiwangu View Post
I always suspected something like this, but I never really could prove it. That said, I have a friend who has a similar problem with his AT&T iPhone. Or at least friends have tried to call him and they have to leave a voicemail, even when he wasn't using his phone.

Maybe it's a congestion issue? The MVNOs get bumped down in the priority list?
sad part for me is that mine doesnt even go to voicemail...it just goes to beep beep beep beep beep beep....thats it
Satnam1989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 11:12 AM   #862
Satnam1989
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
see vendor information in user profile
Anyone else experiencing degraded service on Straight Talk AT&T SIM?

Things I experience in past 2 weeks

- Dropped Calls (been experiencing like 1-3 times daily in the past few days)
- Lots of static in calls everyday
- My contacts telling me my phone comes as busy when I am not on my phone at all during random times (doesn't happen daily but does happen)

I have simple mobile service on another line and that works fine (yes its on T-Mobile towers I'm aware)
Satnam1989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 11:26 AM   #863
madmaxmedia
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via Yahoo to madmaxmedia
3 days ago I noticed I was EDGE for a couple of hours in an area I normally get 4G, but other than that I have been smooth sailing for the couple of months I've had Straight Talk.
madmaxmedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 05:37 PM   #864
Satnam1989
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satnam1989 View Post
Anyone else experiencing degraded service on Straight Talk AT&T SIM?

Things I experience in past 2 weeks

- Dropped Calls (been experiencing like 1-3 times daily in the past few days)
- Lots of static in calls everyday or simply the persons voice starts to get choppy/cut to the point i cant hear anything...
- My contacts telling me my phone comes as busy when I am not on my phone at all during random times (doesn't happen daily but does happen)
- I do not over use data...700MB-1.3GB/month

I have simple mobile service on another line and that works fine (yes its on T-Mobile towers I'm aware)
Anyone else experiencing such issues? In Chicago or anywhere else...this happens to me on every call now...

EDIT: Update 1)
Words from Straight Talk Customer Service:
I was on a "old" plan since I started my service in mid FEB, according the rep AT&T is testing a "new" plans with Straight talk which will allow customers to connect to "3G" and "4G" I'm guessing HSPA (up to 14Mbps) and HSPA+21? So she "switched" me to the new plan, I asked her where can I find the information on their site and she said this is something only employees are told as it should offer customers better experience.

Surprisingly she did not recommend or offer to replace my SIM with T-Mobile one.

Will report back in a day or two to see if her switching me to "new" plan inside their system is making anything better.

Last edited by Satnam1989; Apr 26, 2013 at 05:56 PM.
Satnam1989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 05:20 PM   #865
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satnam1989 View Post
Anyone else experiencing such issues? In Chicago or anywhere else...this happens to me on every call now...

EDIT: Update 1)
Words from Straight Talk Customer Service:
I was on a "old" plan since I started my service in mid FEB, according the rep AT&T is testing a "new" plans with Straight talk which will allow customers to connect to "3G" and "4G" I'm guessing HSPA (up to 14Mbps) and HSPA+21? So she "switched" me to the new plan, I asked her where can I find the information on their site and she said this is something only employees are told as it should offer customers better experience.

Surprisingly she did not recommend or offer to replace my SIM with T-Mobile one.

Will report back in a day or two to see if her switching me to "new" plan inside their system is making anything better.
Interesting. Maybe this has to do with why AT&T SIMs are sold out.
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 08:30 PM   #866
Satnam1989
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by umiwangu View Post
Interesting. Maybe this has to do with why AT&T SIMs are sold out.
No New improvements, my phone still get cut out, at times the caller would be talking and then all of a sudden would just go blank...always have to call back.

This is terrible I am going to switch over to GoSmart coming June, I'll trade in my iPhone 5 for the T-Mobile...Only holding back because I do not want to give up my jailbreak.

Last edited by Satnam1989; Apr 29, 2013 at 08:38 PM.
Satnam1989 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 05:32 PM   #867
cburton
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
AT&T micro sims are back on ST's web site!
cburton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 05:54 PM   #868
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
Quote:
Originally Posted by cburton View Post
AT&T micro sims are back on ST's web site!
Are you sure? I just checked and it's still just tmobil
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 06:05 PM   #869
cburton
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
Are you sure? I just checked and it's still just tmobil
They announced on their Facebook page.

This was the link they gave:

http://www.shopstraighttalk.com/bpdirect/straighttalk/Start.do?action=view&locale=en&market=GSM4&productFamily=simcards

Last edited by cburton; Aug 6, 2013 at 06:07 PM. Reason: Adding link
cburton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 08:05 PM   #870
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
Quote:
Originally Posted by cburton View Post
They announced on their Facebook page.

This was the link they gave:

http://www.shopstraighttalk.com/bpdi...amily=simcards
very cool!

I wonder if iOS 7 will allow for native visual voice and mms out of the gate
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2013, 10:01 PM   #871
ajt1995
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
How unlimited is "unlimited" what are you guy's uses? (AT&T, obviously, T-mo doesn't care)
ajt1995 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC