Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 27, 2014, 11:11 PM   #1051
crjackson2134
macrumors 65816
 
crjackson2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Earl Urly View Post
Smells like an Apple issue to me regarding the 4 TB showstopper. But I could be wrong.

It looks like it doesn't need additional power, correct?
Correct, I'll add that in the previous post.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 6-Core 3.33 GHz, 48GB, ATI HD 5870
Optical-Apple Super Drive & MCE Internal Blu-ray
512GB Samsung 840 Pro 1TB WD, 1TB Barracuda
HP RocketU 1144C USB 3.0/SOLO-X2/OS X 10.10
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2014, 11:32 PM   #1052
flowrider
macrumors 68000
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
^^^^Just bought it! Thanks for the Tip!

Lou
flowrider is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2014, 12:28 AM   #1053
crjackson2134
macrumors 65816
 
crjackson2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by flowrider View Post
^^^^Just bought it! Thanks for the Tip!

Lou
Sorry it took so long for the review Lou. It's hard to test this stuff sometimes. I mostly connect rometly these days, but once in a while I actually get to sit at big desk
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 6-Core 3.33 GHz, 48GB, ATI HD 5870
Optical-Apple Super Drive & MCE Internal Blu-ray
512GB Samsung 840 Pro 1TB WD, 1TB Barracuda
HP RocketU 1144C USB 3.0/SOLO-X2/OS X 10.10
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2014, 05:37 PM   #1054
colorspace
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Latest on USB3 on PCIE

Anyone been playing with new PCIe cards on Mac Pros lately and having a good experience? I've tried a couple and all have problems with improper unmounting during sleep.
colorspace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2014, 06:50 PM   #1055
Macsonic
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
Quote:
Originally Posted by colorspace View Post
Anyone been playing with new PCIe cards on Mac Pros lately and having a good experience? I've tried a couple and all have problems with improper unmounting during sleep.
The sleep issue is more of an OSX driver issue and not on the PCie card as far as know. For now just unmount first the external HD before putting the machine to sleep. Though if you use the energy server under System Preferences to put your Mac to sleep, the ext HD does not get unmounted and no error messages. But if you use the Apple finder to put the Mac to sleep, the ext HD gets disconnected and you get the error message.
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2014, 07:04 PM   #1056
colorspace
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
USB3 Sleep

Actually I get the error regardless if sleep cycle is manually or automatically initiated (by power management)
colorspace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2014, 08:04 PM   #1057
crjackson2134
macrumors 65816
 
crjackson2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by colorspace View Post
Actually I get the error regardless if sleep cycle is manually or automatically initiated (by power management)
As do I. Users that don't even have 3rd party cards (RMBP, MBA, etc...) get the same error with external drives attached. I've been bombarding Apple with bug reports.

There are 3rd party apps. that help (Jettison, and Mountain just to name a couple). I use Mountain and it does the trick (most of the time, but not always).
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 6-Core 3.33 GHz, 48GB, ATI HD 5870
Optical-Apple Super Drive & MCE Internal Blu-ray
512GB Samsung 840 Pro 1TB WD, 1TB Barracuda
HP RocketU 1144C USB 3.0/SOLO-X2/OS X 10.10
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2014, 08:22 PM   #1058
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by crjackson2134 View Post
As do I. Users that don't even have 3rd party cards (RMBP, MBA, etc...) get the same error with external drives attached. I've been bombarding Apple with bug reports.

There are 3rd party apps. that help (Jettison, and Mountain just to name a couple). I use Mountain and it does the trick (most of the time, but not always).
I use Jettison and it does the trick (most of the time, but not always).

So far ... all the sleep "improper dismounts" have remounted automatically and I haven't discovered any problems with any of them.
hfg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2014, 08:34 PM   #1059
crjackson2134
macrumors 65816
 
crjackson2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
So far ... all the sleep "improper dismounts" have remounted automatically and I haven't discovered any problems with any of them.
Same with Mountain too.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 6-Core 3.33 GHz, 48GB, ATI HD 5870
Optical-Apple Super Drive & MCE Internal Blu-ray
512GB Samsung 840 Pro 1TB WD, 1TB Barracuda
HP RocketU 1144C USB 3.0/SOLO-X2/OS X 10.10
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2014, 12:41 AM   #1060
crjackson2134
macrumors 65816
 
crjackson2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Earl Urly View Post
Smells like an Apple issue to me regarding the 4 TB showstopper. But I could be wrong.

It looks like it doesn't need additional power, correct?
I have a feeling you are absolutely correct. I've now confirmed that I get the exact same result when the drive is connected to the MP USB 2.0 system ports. It seems I can defragment individule files, but I can't consolidate the free space fragments. The issue doesn't exsist on any of my 1TB drives.

Soooo.... It's either the file system or the drive(s) and I'm thinking FS since it occurs on different drive brands and enclosures.

OTOH, all of my 4TB drives are Seagate and WD in their own branded/sealed enclosures. Seagate tech. support tells me that these large drives (4TB+) have some sort of block spoofing firmware so that they will work correctly with the MS Windows line of OS's. We discussed ripping out the drives and reformatting them while installed in an enclosure that doesn't employ this technique. Since these are all new drives, I'm not going to rip them apart and void the warranties. I'll have to wait until I populate some internal bays with 4TB+ drives for testing.

I might format to NTFS just for testing (with Windows, or an NTFS driver). If this boils down to the file system, I'll be very disappointed. If it's due to the enclosure 's firmware/electronics, I can live with that easier.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 6-Core 3.33 GHz, 48GB, ATI HD 5870
Optical-Apple Super Drive & MCE Internal Blu-ray
512GB Samsung 840 Pro 1TB WD, 1TB Barracuda
HP RocketU 1144C USB 3.0/SOLO-X2/OS X 10.10
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2014, 08:29 AM   #1061
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
drives and power

Somewhat related, I find that there are certain bare drives (1 - 4 TB) that will start up fine if I put them in my Plugable USB3-SATA-UASP1 Lay Flat drive dock, but if I use my Inateck dock or Rosewill adapters, OS X immediately offers to initialize the drives. What the hell! Was it a brand thing?

The drives in question include a Hitachi 4 TB AF drive and a Western Digital 2.0 WD20EARS drive; sometimes it can be an older 750 / 500 GB drive. Their vintages fall from mid 2013 to early 2011.

Recently I figured it out, even a monkey could if it kept happening to him/her over and over.. I played a hunch and picked up a Sabrent enclosure that was a functional clone of the Plugable (or the other way around, who knows) and hey presto, those same drives mounted just fine.

What was it? Well, the Sabrent and the Plugable come with power supplies that provide 12V @ 2.5A. The others had a power supply that only provided 12V @ 2.0A.

In some isolated cases, yes it's a drive with bad media, but in others it's a drive that for some reason, probably due to components gone out-of-spec or 'born that way,' want extra power to start up. Some drives just decide to work with the lower amperage but eventually drop out with the initialize message sooner or later; they don't at the higher amperage.

I've found a lot of drives people put on the discard pile that work perfectly fine IF you use an adapter / enclosure with that higher power. Shame on WD for making a green drive that wants extra power! Or let one come off the assembly line that does. Got a pile of these 'needy' drives now, none of them act up if I use the higher power adapters, but I clearly mark them so they don't go into any mission-critical usage.

Also, that can be one more reason a drive may not work with a certain connection, especially if it's something to do with something in the power supply. Maybe they draw too much power during a defrag?

Last edited by Earl Urly; Oct 1, 2014 at 08:37 AM.
Earl Urly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2014, 11:47 AM   #1062
crjackson2134
macrumors 65816
 
crjackson2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Well, what I've learnd is that different drive enclosures/interfaces require that the drive be formatted by the individule controller (a lot of raid conrollers are that way, or were back in the day).

It's not so much a defect as that the controller usese a specific way of doing it's drive translations and the media must be formatted to that exact language in order for operation. We don't see this problem so much in internal drives that are preformatted, but for some reason, USB throws a monkey wrench into the works.

I'm finding now (over night) that I can easily defragment the files on the drive any of my USB controllers, but the corruption occures when doing volume optimazation (free space consolidation). As long as I stay away from that I'm good.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 6-Core 3.33 GHz, 48GB, ATI HD 5870
Optical-Apple Super Drive & MCE Internal Blu-ray
512GB Samsung 840 Pro 1TB WD, 1TB Barracuda
HP RocketU 1144C USB 3.0/SOLO-X2/OS X 10.10

Last edited by crjackson2134; Oct 1, 2014 at 12:12 PM.
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2014, 12:30 AM   #1063
flowrider
macrumors 68000
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Based on Mr. Jackson's post, I bought a RocketU 1144C USB 3.0 PCIe Card. It arrived today, and I replaced my Inateck KT-4004.

Just for the hell of it, I went back to onboard Bluetooth just to see what would happen. Well my Microsoft mouse paired and seemed to be working fine. I worked with it for about an hour, and every so often I would notice very small signs of interference, nothing that would make the mouse unusable as the Inateck did.

So, the RocketU Card seems to be better shielded than the Inateck Card. I guess you get what you pay for.

I have since returned to using the MVC dongle, there is absolutely no interference when using the dongle and the 3 ft. USB cable.

Lou
flowrider is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2014, 09:43 PM   #1064
flowrider
macrumors 68000
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Look Here:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1801886

Lou
flowrider is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best USB 3.0 card for Mac Pro? fizzicist Mac Peripherals 18 Jul 29, 2014 03:44 PM
state of the mac pro in the future egy195 Mac Pro 8 Mar 29, 2014 12:05 PM
Mac Pro 2008 USB 3.0 HD reports as USB 2.0 sgginc Mac Pro 2 Oct 27, 2013 02:14 PM
Apple Building 2TB Solid State Drives for Next Mac Pro Release? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 307 Apr 29, 2013 03:11 PM
Mac Pro 1,1 and USB 3.0 AF08 Mac Pro 3 Jul 9, 2012 06:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC