Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2013, 06:44 AM   #1
Spacedust
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Anyone using OCZ Vertex 4 + Areca cards here ?

My ARC-1680IX-24-4G is detecting these drives as SATA/600 but works only in SATA/150 mode :/

__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+3x64 GB SSD RAID5/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/BD-RE/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 08:39 AM   #2
98lwatso
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
According to Newegg.com, that Areca card is only capable of SATA II speeds. Both the card and drive need to support SATA III to get up to 6GBps

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16816151053
98lwatso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 10:39 AM   #3
Spacedust
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98lwatso View Post
According to Newegg.com, that Areca card is only capable of SATA II speeds. Both the card and drive need to support SATA III to get up to 6GBps

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16816151053
I know, but why I'm getting only SATA/150 instead of SATA/300 ?

The same card was working fine in SATA/300 mode with A-Data S599 SSD's...
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+3x64 GB SSD RAID5/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/BD-RE/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 12:59 PM   #4
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Try experimenting with some of the settings.

You might also need to upgrade the firmware to 1.51 (released July 4, 2012; direct download link).
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:08 PM   #5
Spacedust
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanofrog View Post
Try experimenting with some of the settings.

You might also need to upgrade the firmware to 1.51 (released July 4, 2012; direct download link).
I got firmware 1.51 already:



Disabling NCQ didn't helped. Forcing SATA mode is available only for Seagate, Western Digital or Hitachi drives...
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+3x64 GB SSD RAID5/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/BD-RE/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 11:49 PM   #6
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacedust View Post
I got firmware 1.51 already:

Disabling NCQ didn't helped. Forcing SATA mode is available only for Seagate, Western Digital or Hitachi drives...
Previous screen shot only indicated v.1.5, not 1.51. Since issues like this are usually firmware related (drives as well as the card), it was worth mentioning.

As per card settings, I meant the SSD settings.

Unfortunately, you may not be able to do anything about this (seen it numerous times with mechanical drives). If you can't get this adjusted, it still may not be time to panic anyway (run a speed test).
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:29 AM   #7
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
I could never SSDs to work right with the 1680. I'd upgrade to the 1880 which works great.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 11:11 AM   #8
Spacedust
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
I could never SSDs to work right with the 1680. I'd upgrade to the 1880 which works great.
Both Areca and OCZ offered some support.

Areca told me to login to SAS expander via RJ-11 cable and set to 3G mode only, while OCZ offered a speed fix which removes SATA600 support so it would be SATA300 only then controller will work on max speed too.

Kingston V200 128 GB SATA/600 SSD isn't recognized at all by my card.
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+3x64 GB SSD RAID5/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/BD-RE/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white

Last edited by Spacedust; Feb 6, 2013 at 11:23 AM.
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 01:17 PM   #9
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
I could never SSDs to work right with the 1680. I'd upgrade to the 1880 which works great.
It has a more difficult time, as it was designed before SSD's were prevalent. Not impossible to use SSD's with the 1680 series, but it will have additional caveats, even with the newer settings made available in the firmware as it doesn't have the additional hardware support that's in the newer LSI chips used in the 188x series.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacedust View Post
Both Areca and OCZ offered some support.

Areca told me to login to SAS expander via RJ-11 cable and set to 3G mode only, while OCZ offered a speed fix which removes SATA600 support so it would be SATA300 only then controller will work on max speed too.

Kingston V200 128 GB SATA/600 SSD isn't recognized at all by my card.
Firmware incompatibilities as I expected. At least they will work, even if not with the settings you'd hoped to use, unlike the Kingstons you mention.

Unfortunately, this will continue to be a problem over time (even happens with mechanical disks, so it's not solely an issue with SSD's). Which is why checking the HDD Compatibility List can really be worthwhile (will indicate limitations if it's not 100% functional, such as a reduced setting or need to disable a feature, such as NCQ).

At least you've got them running.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:52 PM   #10
Spacedust
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanofrog View Post
It has a more difficult time, as it was designed before SSD's were prevalent. Not impossible to use SSD's with the 1680 series, but it will have additional caveats, even with the newer settings made available in the firmware as it doesn't have the additional hardware support that's in the newer LSI chips used in the 188x series.


Firmware incompatibilities as I expected. At least they will work, even if not with the settings you'd hoped to use, unlike the Kingstons you mention.

Unfortunately, this will continue to be a problem over time (even happens with mechanical disks, so it's not solely an issue with SSD's). Which is why checking the HDD Compatibility List can really be worthwhile (will indicate limitations if it's not 100% functional, such as a reduced setting or need to disable a feature, such as NCQ).

At least you've got them running.
I'm ordering special Areca RJ-11 to DB9 cable and will check if this forcing ports to 3G will work

I just got rid on my all my A-Data drives which were failing like crazy. I hope Vertex 4 will be very reliable just like the 3 was. My two 120 GB Vertexes 3 in RAID1 are working more than a year 24/7 and absolutely no issues with about 1500 MySQL databases and high load !
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+3x64 GB SSD RAID5/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/BD-RE/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white

Last edited by Spacedust; Feb 7, 2013 at 05:59 AM.
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Vertex 4 SSD not showing up? basketball762 MacBook Pro 10 Jun 13, 2013 06:57 PM
OCZ Vertex 4 SSD Kryptik.Kode Mac mini 1 Oct 19, 2012 06:40 PM
OCZ Vertex 4 stupid fast... Orlandoech MacBook Pro 23 Aug 24, 2012 01:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC