Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:02 AM   #1
boltjames
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Still No Ethernet Home Sharing With Apple TV Update 5.1.1

As the subject line says, was very much hoping the new update would resolve the issue where the library is on a wi-fi connection (notebook) and the Apple TV is on an ethernet connection (highest speed) and the two can't see each other via Home Sharing.

Still not working. Still have no choice but to unplug the ethernet cable from Apple TV and use it on wi-fi only. Very disappointing.

BJ
__________________
The New iPad 4G-LTE | 64GB | $829 | UDP | iPhone 6 | 128GB | $399 | UDP | ATV x3 | iPod Touch x4
iPhone 5S x3 | iMac | Rolex | BMW | Trophy Wife | Beach House | iPad 4G-LTE Elitist ClubŪ Member
boltjames is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:35 AM   #2
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by boltjames View Post
As the subject line says, was very much hoping the new update would resolve the issue where the library is on a wi-fi connection (notebook) and the Apple TV is on an ethernet connection (highest speed) and the two can't see each other via Home Sharing.

Still not working. Still have no choice but to unplug the ethernet cable from Apple TV and use it on wi-fi only. Very disappointing.

BJ
Strange - I've always been using my ATV3 this way (ATV3 with latest firmware is on Ethernet, MBP is on Wi-Fi (iTunes latest 10.x version always - haven't tested with the brand new 11 yet), both connected to the same AP) and have never had any problems streaming both home and protected iTunes Store movies.
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 09:16 AM   #3
boltjames
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys2 View Post
Strange - I've always been using my ATV3 this way (ATV3 with latest firmware is on Ethernet, MBP is on Wi-Fi (iTunes latest 10.x version always - haven't tested with the brand new 11 yet), both connected to the same AP) and have never had any problems streaming both home and protected iTunes Store movies.
I use my notebook and iTunes to play music and stream it via Home Sharing to two iHome wi-fi wireless speakers as well as my Apple TV 2. So my setup is:

Wi-fi: Notebook w/iTunes
Wi-fi: iHome wireless speaker 1
Wi-fi: iHome wireless speaker 2
Ethernet: Apple TV 2

For the first 18 months, I could do this with my ATV2 connected via ethernet cable, get the highest speed possible for Apple TV. With the prior firmware update (must have been around August or September) I lost this ability, my ATV2 can't see my notebook even though they are on the same network (it's the FiOS cable modem and router that the ATV2 is wired into for cripesakes).

When connected via ethernet, I can stream content and use AirPlay but I can't use Home Sharing. Very annoying. If I disconnect the cable, let the ATV2 connect via wi-fi, toggle Home Sharing on/off, boom it works. But I placed my FiOS router right at my Apple TV because I wanted the best speed possible. I don't want to have to use wi-fi.

BJ
__________________
The New iPad 4G-LTE | 64GB | $829 | UDP | iPhone 6 | 128GB | $399 | UDP | ATV x3 | iPod Touch x4
iPhone 5S x3 | iMac | Rolex | BMW | Trophy Wife | Beach House | iPad 4G-LTE Elitist ClubŪ Member
boltjames is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 10:20 AM   #4
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Hmmm...

What kind of router?

Does it some home set up difference subnets for wired and wireless connections?
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 10:40 AM   #5
iOrbit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys2 View Post
Strange - I've always been using my ATV3 this way (ATV3 with latest firmware is on Ethernet, MBP is on Wi-Fi (iTunes latest 10.x version always - haven't tested with the brand new 11 yet), both connected to the same AP) and have never had any problems streaming both home and protected iTunes Store movies.
iv been using my apple tv 3rd gen this way too.

initially before i purchased a long ethernet cable i used wifi, but i use ethernet for months now, and my mbp is nearly always on wifi
__________________
MacBook Pro - late 2011, 16GB Ram, 256GB SSD. iPad - 2nd Gen, White 16gb. iPhone 4s - Black 8gb. iPod Touch - 4th Gen, 8GB, White. TV - 3rd Gen.
iOrbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 10:56 AM   #6
DaveGee
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhurst View Post
What kind of router?

Does it some home set up difference subnets for wired and wireless connections?
Yep my thoughts exactly... What are the IP addresses of both the wired devices as well as the wireless ones?
DaveGee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 12:11 PM   #7
boltjames
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhurst View Post
What kind of router?

Does it some home set up difference subnets for wired and wireless connections?
It's the all-in-one cable modem and router from Verizon, the latest FiOS quantum version.

I don't know what a subnet is; how can I check?

BJ
__________________
The New iPad 4G-LTE | 64GB | $829 | UDP | iPhone 6 | 128GB | $399 | UDP | ATV x3 | iPod Touch x4
iPhone 5S x3 | iMac | Rolex | BMW | Trophy Wife | Beach House | iPad 4G-LTE Elitist ClubŪ Member
boltjames is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 12:19 PM   #8
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Check IP addresses

Quote:
Originally Posted by boltjames View Post
It's the all-in-one cable modem and router from Verizon, the latest FiOS quantum version.

I don't know what a subnet is; how can I check?

BJ
Subnets are local networks. They're usually created for security reasons (say you wanted anyone to be able to connect to your home wifi to get online, but only special guests would have access to your file server) from what I understand.

Check the IP addresses.

The first three should be the same for all devices, like 192.168.1.xxx or 10.0.0.xx
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:33 PM   #9
NorCalLights
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I've had nothing but horrible luck using routers from the cable company. Much *much* better to use your own router (preferably an Apple Airport model, but anything is better than the crap you'll get from your cable co.).

Best to get a boring-old cable modem from Verizon and bring your own router/wifi base station combo.
NorCalLights is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:38 PM   #10
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Yep

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorCalLights View Post
I've had nothing but horrible luck using routers from the cable company. Much *much* better to use your own router (preferably an Apple Airport model, but anything is better than the crap you'll get from your cable co.).

Best to get a boring-old cable modem from Verizon and bring your own router/wifi base station combo.
Same here, except that most Verizon FIOS customers don't have any options.

If possible, get a separate router and turn off the router functionality of the FIOS modem/router. I tried to bridge my Airport Extreme and then tried to just use the CenturyLink DSL modem/wireless router, but both attempts failed.

I only got everything working by using my own router.

Regardless, the OP's setup SHOULD work, as long as everything is on the same subnet.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:10 PM   #11
boltjames
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhurst View Post
Subnets are local networks. They're usually created for security reasons (say you wanted anyone to be able to connect to your home wifi to get online, but only special guests would have access to your file server) from what I understand.

Check the IP addresses.

The first three should be the same for all devices, like 192.168.1.xxx or 10.0.0.xx
Forgive the naivety, but how do I check the IP addresses and (ultimately) change them so that they are all the same (eliminate the subnet)?

BJ
__________________
The New iPad 4G-LTE | 64GB | $829 | UDP | iPhone 6 | 128GB | $399 | UDP | ATV x3 | iPod Touch x4
iPhone 5S x3 | iMac | Rolex | BMW | Trophy Wife | Beach House | iPad 4G-LTE Elitist ClubŪ Member
boltjames is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:22 PM   #12
boltjames
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010


Above are the ATV2 configs when ethernet is plugged in and when wi-fi is in use.

See anything there that would prevent Home Sharing using ethernet and wi-fi together?

BJ
__________________
The New iPad 4G-LTE | 64GB | $829 | UDP | iPhone 6 | 128GB | $399 | UDP | ATV x3 | iPod Touch x4
iPhone 5S x3 | iMac | Rolex | BMW | Trophy Wife | Beach House | iPad 4G-LTE Elitist ClubŪ Member
boltjames is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:29 PM   #13
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhurst View Post
Same here, except that most Verizon FIOS customers don't have any options.

If possible, get a separate router and turn off the router functionality of the FIOS modem/router. I tried to bridge my Airport Extreme and then tried to just use the CenturyLink DSL modem/wireless router, but both attempts failed.

I only got everything working by using my own router.

Regardless, the OP's setup SHOULD work, as long as everything is on the same subnet.
I had no problems bridging my CenturyLink DSL modem/router with my Airport Extreme. The router does all the DHCP handoffs, and my 3 Airport Extremes do all the wifi and ethernet (my "main" extreme is hardwired to the DSL modem in bridge mode, and the other two are setup to extend the wifi).

Now I don't have Fios, I have traditional DSL.
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:45 PM   #14
DaveGee
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by boltjames View Post
Image

Above are the ATV2 configs when ethernet is plugged in and when wi-fi is in use.

See anything there that would prevent Home Sharing using ethernet and wi-fi together?

BJ
They look fine... The good news is that both wifi and wired are on the same subnet... The bad news is your problem is that much more a mystery.

While I'm pretty sure I know the answer... What IP address is your Mac / Windows box getting (where iTunes is running). If its also 192.168.1.XXX then the mystery deepens.

Also have you tried quitting and restarting iTunes?

I had an issue where home sharing would just up and die after some indeterminate period of time... Odder still was this issue seemed to resolve itself by some unknown action. Perhaps it was the last ML update ... I'm not quite sure tho since I also switched to a new 2012 Mac mini as my iTunes server.
DaveGee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:48 PM   #15
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Just a shot, but did you see this post (#240)?

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...355892&page=10
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 07:13 PM   #16
boltjames
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Just a shot, but did you see this post (#240)?

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...355892&page=10
I LOVE you!

Problem solved. After months of trying and testing and rebooting and arguing with the wife, ethernet and wi-fi operates perfectly. There is a God.

For those who stumble across this thread in the future, the answer is:

For FiOS customers, do the following:

1. Go to 192.168.1.1 in your browser.
2. Go into Advanced Settings.
3. Set WMM to "disable".
4. Set IGMP to "off".
5. Save Settings, wait for reboot.

Thanks to all who helped today. Happy Holidays!

BJ
__________________
The New iPad 4G-LTE | 64GB | $829 | UDP | iPhone 6 | 128GB | $399 | UDP | ATV x3 | iPod Touch x4
iPhone 5S x3 | iMac | Rolex | BMW | Trophy Wife | Beach House | iPad 4G-LTE Elitist ClubŪ Member
boltjames is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Sharing HD movie slow after 5.2 update rshock Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Feb 11, 2013 06:25 PM
Apple TV, Home Sharing? trvsglr Apple TV and Home Theater 24 Dec 9, 2012 03:44 AM
Apple TV Home Sharing failing OldSchoolMacGuy Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Nov 30, 2012 01:36 AM
Apple TV 3 Home Sharing Help!!? entropyfl Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Aug 28, 2012 03:34 PM
Home sharing over ethernet, no connection zulkiflim Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 31, 2012 06:10 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC