Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 12, 2012, 06:20 PM   #1
CrAkD
macrumors 68030
 
CrAkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boston, MA
New Airport express question....

I have our modem/time capsule on the 3rd floor in the attic. I have a cable running to the first floor for my aunts mac mini. I got her an ipad mini for christmas and want to give her my old apple tv as well. the time capsule wireless signal is shaky on the first floor. its fast in some parts and super slow in others. So i was thinking about adding an airport express to extend the signal. Can I attach the cable from the time capsule that gos to the mini into the express and a cable from the express into the mini? I saw the new express has 2 ethernet ports but im not familiar with all the networking lingo.

I just want to extend the wireless but keep the mac mini wired.
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB Macbook Air TV iPad Mini Retina 16gb LTE Hackintosh i7 920
CrAkD is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 08:57 PM   #2
charlien
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Yes, that is how I have mine set up and works great.
charlien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 08:57 PM   #3
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Yes, the new Airport Express has a WAN and LAN port. You will want to put the ethernet cable that's currently in the mac mini, into the WAN part of the AE and then run another ethernet cable from the LAN port to the mac mini.

This is the manual:

http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/...etup_guide.pdf

Chapter 1: Page 11 shows a sample diagram of a network utilizing the WAN and the LAN.

Product info:

http://support.apple.com/kb/SP651
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 08:06 AM   #4
CrAkD
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
CrAkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Thanks guys!
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB Macbook Air TV iPad Mini Retina 16gb LTE Hackintosh i7 920
CrAkD is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 03:33 PM   #5
nephron8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Or you can use airport express just to extend wireless network
nephron8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 04:20 PM   #6
lucasfer899
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by nephron8 View Post
Or you can use airport express just to extend wireless network
nope, wired gigabit ethernet is so much better, it's useful to save the wireless bandwidth for things that can't be hard wired, like iPads, iPhones, and apple tvs.
lucasfer899 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 04:31 PM   #7
apunkrockmonk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasfer899 View Post
nope, wired gigabit ethernet is so much better, it's useful to save the wireless bandwidth for things that can't be hard wired, like iPads, iPhones, and apple tvs.
One think to keep in mind though is the APE only has 10/100Mbps LAN/WAN ports, so the mini's link to the main router (and all other devices on the network) would be effectlively reduced from 1Gbps to 100Mbps by setting up the network this way.

When setting up the network this way you'd want to setup the APE in bridge mode to have the main time capsule handle all the routing duties.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 32GB T-Mobile
iPad Mini 2 Black 32GB T-Mobile
Hackintosh i5 4GHz|24GB|7TB
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.4GHz|8GB|256GB
apunkrockmonk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 09:31 PM   #8
charlien
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
[You will want to put the ethernet cable that's currently in the mac mini, into the WAN part of the AE and then run another ethernet cable from the LAN port to the mac mini.]

You have it backwards.
charlien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:17 AM   #9
nephron8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
theoretically, this airport express can connect over wifi n at rate of 300 mbps.
but over ethernet at 100mbps.
nephron8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 10:32 AM   #10
jasontrucks76
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I am having similar thoughts of adding an express to broaden my wireless coverage in my home...
Please correct me if I am wrong here.

I was under the impression that if I simply plugged in the express to the outlet that I could set it up to connect to my current wireless signal and it then would be amplifying my current signal. (airport extreme)

I have my extreme set up in my office up stairs and the signal is too weak to connect my thermostat to so I can control my furnace and AC remotely from my iPhone. At the end of the day i am looking for advice on how to get my wireless coverage amplified so I will cover the entire house... 3 Floors. Any mode of completing the task if fine with me so if the express is the wrong item to use I am happy to listen to any input.

Thank you~
jasontrucks76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Express question anton1s Mac Peripherals 15 Oct 29, 2013 06:04 AM
Wireless Setup Question: Airport Express or New Airport Extreme? Mac21ND Mac Peripherals 7 Aug 2, 2013 12:11 PM
All iPads: Airport express question TheMTtakeover iPad 7 Feb 28, 2013 06:48 AM
Airport Extreme & Airport Express question bmbbryan Mac Basics and Help 3 Jan 25, 2013 08:01 AM
Airport Extreme -> Airport Express setup question CtotheP Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 14, 2012 05:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC