Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 7, 2013, 03:31 PM   #51
cal6n
macrumors 68000
 
cal6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Unless you have any other inquiries regarding the 5870, I'll go back to my 680 in 10 mins or so...
__________________
Is your internet experience tainted by trolls, shills, bigots & fools?
Select "User CP" > "Edit Ignore List" > Add [username] to Your Ignore List > Save List
Every little helps.
cal6n is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 03:33 PM   #52
kunia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal6n View Post
Unless you have any other inquiries regarding the 5870, I'll go back to my 680 in 10 mins or so...
By all means..thanks for wasting your time with the 5870
I'm jealous of your working 680....
kunia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 04:24 PM   #53
kunia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
'So just how did ATI drop the Radeon HD 5870ís idle power to 27W' from a review...and I'm idling at 55w, drawing 40 from the slot itself...
Now I'm thinking its the logic board
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-05-07 at 5.20.08 PM.png
Views:	18
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	411278  
kunia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 06:20 PM   #54
cal6n
macrumors 68000
 
cal6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
How many monitors are you running?
__________________
Is your internet experience tainted by trolls, shills, bigots & fools?
Select "User CP" > "Edit Ignore List" > Add [username] to Your Ignore List > Save List
Every little helps.
cal6n is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 06:28 PM   #55
kunia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Two...and I just disconnected one and still the same...its actually pretty loud as well...right now its idling at about 62watts...
kunia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 06:31 PM   #56
cal6n
macrumors 68000
 
cal6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Not that, then. I think I'm out of ideas.
__________________
Is your internet experience tainted by trolls, shills, bigots & fools?
Select "User CP" > "Edit Ignore List" > Add [username] to Your Ignore List > Save List
Every little helps.
cal6n is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 06:50 PM   #57
kunia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Off to apple store tomorrow....
Thanks for helping out....very much appreciated
kunia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2013, 12:20 AM   #58
Moleyman69
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Hi Kunia,

When you flashed your card, did you get a message from NVFLASH about the boards being different and having to press Y twice to be able to do the firmware flash?

Cheers,

Moley
__________________
I am actively seeking employment in the Norfolk/Suffolk area of the UK. I have good IT and communication skills, with 18 years of print experience. If you can help me in any way, please send me a PM.
Moleyman69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2013, 07:24 AM   #59
kunia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moleyman69 View Post
Hi Kunia,

When you flashed your card, did you get a message from NVFLASH about the boards being different and having to press Y twice to be able to do the firmware flash?

Cheers,

Moley
Yeah...
but from what I've read I was flashing a reference card, model 2680
which should work
kunia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2013, 11:14 AM   #60
kunia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
out of curiosity, what could cause the that excess wattage on the PCIe slot?
kunia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2013, 07:05 PM   #61
kunia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Update

Just got back from the Apple store...they did the tests and it passed.

And after reinstalling everything, my 5870 is running at 11.5W from the PCI and 3.1+3.3W from 6-pin power cables....

so....

two lemon GTX 680 !?
kunia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2013, 02:55 AM   #62
cal6n
macrumors 68000
 
cal6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
That's entirely possible, even if it's not very likely and doesn't explain the 5870's idling behaviour. However, it's come back from Apple with a clean bill of health. That would reassure me enough to try again, especially as everyone else is reporting success.

Maybe there was some tarnish on the PCIe slot connector that just needed "scrubbing off" by reseating a card repeatedly. I've certainly seen that problem with RAM slots more than once in the past.
__________________
Is your internet experience tainted by trolls, shills, bigots & fools?
Select "User CP" > "Edit Ignore List" > Add [username] to Your Ignore List > Save List
Every little helps.
cal6n is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2013, 07:20 AM   #63
kunia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal6n View Post
That's entirely possible, even if it's not very likely and doesn't explain the 5870's idling behaviour. However, it's come back from Apple with a clean bill of health. That would reassure me enough to try again, especially as everyone else is reporting success.

Maybe there was some tarnish on the PCIe slot connector that just needed "scrubbing off" by reseating a card repeatedly. I've certainly seen that problem with RAM slots more than once in the past.

with just one hard drive and clean os x 10.8.3, the 5870 (at the apple store) was idling at about 17 watts - 11w from the PCI slot, and 3 watts per each 6-pin connector. They ran the ASD on it, and all components passed. We specifically looked at all the power/voltage on the slots...again, all good.
kunia is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disappointed with GTX680... jimj740 Mac Pro 9 Nov 26, 2013 03:30 PM
GTX670 or GTX680? w33z3r Mac Pro 5 Jul 13, 2013 08:28 AM
about to try another GTX680 in my MP kunia Mac Pro 7 Jun 14, 2013 07:32 PM
I felt like being flushed into the toilet hajime Wasteland 3 Jun 11, 2013 12:49 AM
Where can I get EVGA GTX680 besides newegg? LEOMODE Mac Pro 19 Apr 23, 2013 03:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC