Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPad Apps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 10:02 AM   #1
anfield11
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Out of country App Store purchase

I'm in Canada and would like to be able to purchase apps from the UK store. In particular BBC iPlayer and the Sky app. I am able to activate a VPN connection. can anyone help? Cheers
anfield11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 10:03 AM   #2
mobilehaathi
macrumors 601
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Anthropocene
You would have to register an apple ID with a credit card billing address in the UK.
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 10:07 AM   #3
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by anfield11 View Post
I'm in Canada and would like to be able to purchase apps from the UK store. In particular BBC iPlayer and the Sky app. I am able to activate a VPN connection. can anyone help? Cheers
Both those apps wouldn't work FYI. Otherwise, like the other guy says, you only need a gift card/credit card. No proxy/etc is needed.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 10:14 AM   #4
anfield11
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
That sucks!
anfield11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:25 PM   #5
dancj
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
Both those apps wouldn't work FYI. Otherwise, like the other guy says, you only need a gift card/credit card. No proxy/etc is needed.
I needed to use a proxy when I set up my American account.
dancj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:32 PM   #6
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancj View Post
I needed to use a proxy when I set up my American account.
Really? I didn't have to do that to get my UK account...
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 04:27 PM   #7
dancj
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
Really? I didn't have to do that to get my UK account...
How long ago did you do it? I only set up my US account a few months ago. Maybe they've tightened up since you did it.
dancj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 05:01 PM   #8
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancj View Post
How long ago did you do it? I only set up my US account a few months ago. Maybe they've tightened up since you did it.
Probably so. It was back in 2008.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 05:25 PM   #9
Accord3
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hampshire, UK
Sky app

I tried to use my Sky app in Spain this summer (to catch up on some Sky channels) and it wouldnt let me as it knew i was outside the UK.
Accord3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 10:54 AM   #10
anfield11
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Accord3 View Post
I tried to use my Sky app in Spain this summer (to catch up on some Sky channels) and it wouldnt let me as it knew i was outside the UK.
I'm neither great nor dumb at this stuff, but I think a VPN service gets you around that issue.

My issue is the opposite as I have a UK VPN, but to watch Sky need the Sky App and preferably a BBC iPlayer UK version from the UK App Store. That's what I need to figure out how to get.
anfield11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPad Apps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What App Store/Country are you using? osx11 iOS 7 17 Nov 29, 2013 04:34 PM
Changing iTunes/App Store Country? rocknblogger Mac Applications and Mac App Store 11 Oct 30, 2013 07:58 PM
Found myself in wrong country app store? MiniD3 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 May 12, 2013 03:34 AM
App store in wrong country! braddaz iPhone 4 Mar 31, 2013 04:33 PM
Download from another Country's App Store an-other iPad 5 Sep 5, 2012 04:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC