Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 2, 2013, 05:47 AM   #26
silvetti
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Poland
If the 680MX only runs it "good" on medium, this does not bode well for the 1st gen retina Macbook owners...

Hope the haswell one comes with something more "decent".
__________________
iPhone / iPad / iMac 27 / TV
silvetti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2013, 07:09 AM   #27
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I've got it running about 95% smoothly at 1920x1200 on Ultra using 2 x GTX 670. Still shudders occasionally when vsync is turned on, so there's probably not much chance of it running on the highest settings on an iMac.

Not impressed at all by the game or the way it looks, though. The gameplay is chaotic (I only played a small urban map) and the graphics have a weird kind of smoothed-out sheen to them, almost like a very mild version of cel-shading.
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2013, 01:32 PM   #28
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
It should play good on a new iMac in Bootcamp with the 4 GB GPU.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2013, 04:57 PM   #29
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Can't believe this is launching in less than a month. So far I've seen dead helicopters frozen in the air, burning for the entire round; six-inch walls that I can't climb over; players floating; players vanishing; numerous hangs and crashes.

Also they're still using that awful Battlelog website to launch the game, so every time you want to change game mode or move to a new server, you have to quit the entire game and reload it (which takes ages).
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2013, 02:20 PM   #30
vigeoh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I've been playing bf4 on my external monitor, still need to tweak the settings to get it running smoothly, what setting has everyone else got it on? lets get a good list going of different settings and what fps you get with it? i'm aiming for 60 which i could get on bf3

1st gen 16gb mac book pro retina running off my external usb 3.0....
vigeoh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2013, 05:23 PM   #31
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
How do you get it to show the fps? I've tried bringing up the console and using the drawfps command but the console window just flickers and it gives an error message like Windows32(false) or something.
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2013, 10:28 PM   #32
Red Cube
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by garnerx View Post
How do you get it to show the fps? I've tried bringing up the console and using the drawfps command but the console window just flickers and it gives an error message like Windows32(false) or something.
just use fraps/bandicam.
__________________
Late 2009 13" MacBook, 2.26 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, 32GB Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit partition, 3TB External HDD formatted for Windows + Mac OSX; 8 GB iPod Touch (4th Generation)
Red Cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2013, 06:03 AM   #33
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Okay, here are some quick fraps benchmarks. I'm running the game on a single monitor at 1920 x 1200.
It's a Hackintosh but I booted straight into Windows 8 rather than use Parallels or anything like that. Tech specs are i7 @ 4GHz, 16GB RAM, 2 x GTX 670 SLI.

These are the frames per second using a few of the game's built-in presets:
edit: I got these wrong, as one of the graphics cards was actually disabled when I ran this the first time. This set of benchmarks is for a single GTX 670 card:

(Min, Max, Avg)
Medium:
47, 88, 67.643

High:
61, 76, 67.297

Ultra:
37, 55, 44.988

This set of benchmarks is for two GTX 670s in SLI:

(Min, Max, Avg)
Medium:
65, 106, 79.405

High:
63, 104, 77.182

Ultra:
53, 115, 74.640

It was pretty hard to tell the difference in quality between those settings while playing. Maybe the smoke looked a bit better on ultra and there was some pop-up of objects on medium.

Edit: SLI clearly makes a big difference on ultra settings. The Nvidia SLI indicator showed it was scaling quite well, using both cards at around 90%

Last edited by garnerx; Oct 5, 2013 at 06:21 AM.
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2013, 02:57 PM   #34
Geordan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Re:

BF3 runs great on my 2012 15 inch MBPr. In fact it's the reason I chose the MBPr in the first place, cause I knew I'd be able to play it. BF4 looks way, way way worse on my computer. I've got it at 1368x768 and I'm getting about 15fps.

I don't have high hopes that this will be optimized that much further in the runup to release. I spose I will be skipping this game unfortunately. BF3 runs amazingly on medium on my computer.

latest drivers as well.
Geordan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2013, 09:46 PM   #35
TyPod
macrumors 68000
 
TyPod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: And Yourself?
I can't get BF4 beta to run on my late-2012 iMac. Have Windows 8 running on VMWare and I can't get the NVidia graphics drivers to install. Anyone having this problem?
__________________
01010100 01111001 01101100 01100101 01110010 00100000 01001100 01101001 01100100 01100100 01101001 01100011 01101111 01100001 01110100 powerhourplaylists.com
TyPod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2013, 04:21 PM   #36
vigeoh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
well this bf4 beta isn't the final version and hasn't been optimized, what we're playing is a version which was decided to used as a beta back in june.

to show fpa, type this into the command box thing
perfoverlay.drawfps 1

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyPod View Post
I can't get BF4 beta to run on my late-2012 iMac. Have Windows 8 running on VMWare and I can't get the NVidia graphics drivers to install. Anyone having this problem?
have you tried running it via bootcamp? i imagine it would run better?


also have you guy installed the beta driver for the nvidia card? it NEEDS it run, my friend has a top spec pc and the game was running at 30fps for him, he then installed the beta and it was running at 60.

http://www.geforce.com/drivers/results/67378
vigeoh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2013, 05:15 PM   #37
TyPod
macrumors 68000
 
TyPod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: And Yourself?
Quote:
Originally Posted by vigeoh View Post
have you tried running it via bootcamp? i imagine it would run better?
I'm sure it would, I just don't want a VM and bootcamp on my iMac because I'm a big baby haha.
__________________
01010100 01111001 01101100 01100101 01110010 00100000 01001100 01101001 01100100 01100100 01101001 01100011 01101111 01100001 01110100 powerhourplaylists.com
TyPod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2013, 08:07 PM   #38
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vigeoh View Post
also have you guy installed the beta driver for the nvidia card? it NEEDS it run, my friend has a top spec pc and the game was running at 30fps for him, he then installed the beta and it was running at 60.
It doesn't need that. I'm using 327.23, which is the current non-beta driver, and it works perfectly (see benchmarks above).

Is anyone else going to do a benchmark, like you suggested earlier? I'd be interested to see how it runs on different hardware.
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2013, 02:08 PM   #39
MasterTick
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyPod View Post
I can't get BF4 beta to run on my late-2012 iMac. Have Windows 8 running on VMWare and I can't get the NVidia graphics drivers to install. Anyone having this problem?
Don't even bother trying to run any intense game through a VM. It just won't work.
MasterTick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2013, 04:23 PM   #40
TyPod
macrumors 68000
 
TyPod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: And Yourself?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterTick View Post
Don't even bother trying to run any intense game through a VM. It just won't work.
Yeah that's what I realized. Sounds like I'll need to install Windows 8 in BootCamp if I want to do any gaming.
__________________
01010100 01111001 01101100 01100101 01110010 00100000 01001100 01101001 01100100 01100100 01101001 01100011 01101111 01100001 01110100 powerhourplaylists.com
TyPod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2013, 07:47 PM   #41
DavsDue
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Hello

I just Bootcamped to Windows 7 64bit Ultimate today. I downloaded Battlefield 4 started playing.
Loading screen lags, game lags, menu lags. Even when I set it all on lowest settings! What to do?!?
Is it because I'm running windows 7 instead of 8??
Get windows to use all the "horsepower" the MBP have??
What to set in screen resolution??
Really Really need Help guys!!


Thanks in advance,
Davs_Due

------
Specs:
Late 2013 RetinaMBP 15"
2,6 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Intel Iris Pro 1024 MB
Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
DavsDue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2013, 08:22 AM   #42
Apple Pie 2.0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavsDue View Post
Hello

I just Bootcamped to Windows 7 64bit Ultimate today. I downloaded Battlefield 4 started playing.
Loading screen lags, game lags, menu lags. Even when I set it all on lowest settings! What to do?!?
Is it because I'm running windows 7 instead of 8??
Get windows to use all the "horsepower" the MBP have??
What to set in screen resolution??
Really Really need Help guys!!


Thanks in advance,
Davs_Due

------
Specs:
Late 2013 RetinaMBP 15"
2,6 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Intel Iris Pro 1024 MB
Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
I'm sorry to tell you this, but I don't think the Iris Pro has the power to run this game very well..

I run it on my 2012 rmbp with the 650m on the lowest settings @1680x1050 and even then it's not very smooth at all times.

You can give these settings a try though, maybe you can even do a lower resolution than 1680x1050.
Apple Pie 2.0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2013, 07:59 AM   #43
ltorrelles
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple Pie 2.0 View Post
I'm sorry to tell you this, but I don't think the Iris Pro has the power to run this game very well..

I run it on my 2012 rmbp with the 650m on the lowest settings @1680x1050 and even then it's not very smooth at all times.

You can give these settings a try though, maybe you can even do a lower resolution than 1680x1050.
If it's a 15" retinaMBP then it also has the 650M, or 750M depending on the model.

He probably didn't change the resolution setting and is playing at 2880x1800. I always use 1280x720 on my retina.
ltorrelles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2013, 10:52 AM   #44
Sinx2oic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I play it on my mac pro 2.93 (2009) with a super clocked 680GTX and I can play Ultra settings at 2560x1440, Looks amazing, single player is a bit rubbish. Just got to get better at sniping!
Sinx2oic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2013, 07:26 AM   #45
Apple Pie 2.0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltorrelles View Post
If it's a 15" retinaMBP then it also has the 650M, or 750M depending on the model.

He probably didn't change the resolution setting and is playing at 2880x1800. I always use 1280x720 on my retina.
The new 15" Retina macbooks dont come with the 750m as standard, only the high end version has it. Standard it only comes with the iris pro..
Apple Pie 2.0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2013, 04:44 PM   #46
pscl
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavsDue View Post
Hello

I just Bootcamped to Windows 7 64bit Ultimate today. I downloaded Battlefield 4 started playing.
Loading screen lags, game lags, menu lags. Even when I set it all on lowest settings! What to do?!?
Is it because I'm running windows 7 instead of 8??
Get windows to use all the "horsepower" the MBP have??
What to set in screen resolution??
Really Really need Help guys!!


Thanks in advance,
Davs_Due

------
Specs:
Late 2013 RetinaMBP 15"
2,6 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Intel Iris Pro 1024 MB
Windows 7 64bit Ultimate

i had the exact same problem. install win 8 and it will run good at 1080p with mid settings

edit: oh, well, just saw u didnt have dgpu.. i guess it will run in a lower resolution... playable.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple Pie 2.0 View Post
I'm sorry to tell you this, but I don't think the Iris Pro has the power to run this game very well..

I run it on my 2012 rmbp with the 650m on the lowest settings @1680x1050 and even then it's not very smooth at all times.

You can give these settings a try though, maybe you can even do a lower resolution than 1680x1050.
u tryed win 8?
pscl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2013, 08:41 AM   #47
Jani81
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
I have mac pro 6 core 3,33 ghz with radeon 7970, 24 gb ddr3 1333 mhz, win 7 and this game works very smoothly with 1440 p and ultra settings
__________________
Mac Pro 5.1, 6 core 3,33 ghz, 24 gb ram, 240 gb + 256 gb ssd sata3, 1 tb hdd, radeon hd 7970 3 gb "mac edition"
Macbook Pro retina i7 2,4 ghz, Iphone 5 16 gb, Ipad 3 64 gb wifi+cellular, Apple tv 3.
Jani81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2013, 11:42 AM   #48
yabot
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QH63AWOqpgI
yabot is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows: Shadowplay on Battlefield 4. Davejprince Mac and PC Games 0 Jan 13, 2014 04:52 AM
Battlefield 3 rMBP timsaxman MacBook Pro 4 Mar 23, 2013 05:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC