Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:23 PM   #1
tjlazer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Send a message via ICQ to tjlazer Send a message via Yahoo to tjlazer
Luxmark and GT120 crash

I wanted to try the Luxmark v2.0 benchmark before I upgrade my graphics card but it won't work! It crashes every time I run it. What is the deal?? On 10.6.8

My specs are in my sig.
__________________
--
Mac Pro 4,1, Hex 3.20 GHz, 16GB, 2TB, ATI 5870 1GB, SL
iMac 24", 2.4GHz, 4GB, 500GB HD, ML
Powerbook G3 Bronze, 333MHz, 512MB, 40GB HD, OS 9.22
tjlazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:47 AM   #2
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Most likely 2.0 "doesn't like" OpenCL 1.0 + GT120 combo or you're not running final version. Get it from http://www.luxrender.net/wiki/LuxMark or insanelymac. I've used it in 10.6.8 with ATI cards without problems (aside from wrong memory amount reporting).

Quote:
Originally Posted by some forum
BTW, it looks like the precompiled LuxMark 2.0 benchmark for OpenCL also requires at least OpenCL 1.1: it runs fine on Mac OS X 10.7.x and 10.8.x, but crashes the window manager on 10.6.x without warning;
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:58 PM   #3
tjlazer
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Send a message via ICQ to tjlazer Send a message via Yahoo to tjlazer
Installed a ATI 4870 and it works. I just wanted to do a benchmark. Oh well.
__________________
--
Mac Pro 4,1, Hex 3.20 GHz, 16GB, 2TB, ATI 5870 1GB, SL
iMac 24", 2.4GHz, 4GB, 500GB HD, ML
Powerbook G3 Bronze, 333MHz, 512MB, 40GB HD, OS 9.22
tjlazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 03:53 PM   #4
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjlazer View Post
Installed a ATI 4870 and it works. I just wanted to do a benchmark. Oh well.
Let me guess: you got ~120 on sala scene?
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going back from GTX570 to GT120 - Am I insane? fiatlux Mac Pro 6 Oct 9, 2013 02:02 PM
Successful 7970 Install, LuxMark Tested MacMilligan Mac Pro 8 Sep 24, 2013 05:21 PM
GT120 in MP1,1 under OSX 10.7.5 fiatlux Mac Pro 2 Sep 21, 2013 12:30 PM
4.1 gt120 faringdon11 Mac Pro 1 Jul 14, 2012 08:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC