Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 15, 2013, 04:23 AM   #1
hbksabhi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Reinstalled fresh Mac and downgrading

1. Can we reinstall mac osx again after some months of usage , like i use to do on my windows pc for a fresh new pc look

2. And if i upgrade to new os example Mavericks , then can i later downgrade to mountain if system starts running slow ?
hbksabhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 04:41 AM   #2
Steve121178
macrumors 68020
 
Steve121178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbksabhi View Post
1. Can we reinstall mac osx again after some months of usage , like i use to do on my windows pc for a fresh new pc look

2. And if i upgrade to new os example Mavericks , then can i later downgrade to mountain if system starts running slow ?
1. Yes of course. What a strange question.

2. Unlikely. Why would the system run slow and why do you think downgrading your OS is a solution to performance issues? If you have any doubts about 10.9 just wait 6 months or whatever until 10.9.1, 10.9.2 etc are available to fix things.
__________________
13" rMBP Haswell i5/16GB/512GB (Late '13) 21.5" iMac i5/16GB/1TB Fusion (Late '12) iPhone 6 64GB iPad mini 2
Steve121178 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 05:09 AM   #3
hbksabhi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve121178 View Post
1. Yes of course. What a strange question.

2. Unlikely. Why would the system run slow and why do you think downgrading your OS is a solution to performance issues? If you have any doubts about 10.9 just wait 6 months or whatever until 10.9.1, 10.9.2 etc are available to fix things.
Actually im planning to buy mac air but cant get the 8gb model in my country so have to go with 4 gb one

And if in future new os comes and requires more memory so will i be able to downgrade back to mountain lion and reinstall it as goos as new one
hbksabhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 05:16 AM   #4
Steve121178
macrumors 68020
 
Steve121178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
4GB is the absolute minimum. If you can't get the 8GB option then I would re-consider your purchase. I wouldn't be happy buying a new machine in 2013 with just 4GB on-board...
__________________
13" rMBP Haswell i5/16GB/512GB (Late '13) 21.5" iMac i5/16GB/1TB Fusion (Late '12) iPhone 6 64GB iPad mini 2
Steve121178 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 05:27 AM   #5
hbksabhi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve121178 View Post
4GB is the absolute minimum. If you can't get the 8GB option then I would re-consider your purchase. I wouldn't be happy buying a new machine in 2013 with just 4GB on-board...
The only option then is retina mbp for 400$ more
hbksabhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 06:41 AM   #6
ylrd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbksabhi View Post
1. Can we reinstall mac osx again after some months of usage , like i use to do on my windows pc for a fresh new pc look

2. And if i upgrade to new os example Mavericks , then can i later downgrade to mountain if system starts running slow ?
1. You can, but it's not necessary. OS X isn't like Windows. You don't need to wipe your data/format the HD/reinstall everything every year because the OS just starts sucking; OS X cleans itself up.

2. Yeah, but why in the world would you do that?
__________________

21.5" iMac (C2D @ 3.06GHz, 500GB, 8GB) with Magic Trackpad
13.3" MacBook Air (i7 @ 1.7~3.3GHz, 256GB, 8GB)
iPad 2 (16GB) / Nexus 4 (16GB)
ylrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 08:59 AM   #7
MacPoulet
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ylrd View Post
1. You can, but it's not necessary. OS X isn't like Windows. You don't need to wipe your data/format the HD/reinstall everything every year because the OS just starts sucking; OS X cleans itself up.

2. Yeah, but why in the world would you do that?
To answer #2, software incompatibility. I use apps that don't work as well in 10.7/10.8 and since it's a fairly niche market with small developers it's taken a while to get that compatibility.

So if your software says it'll work in 10.9 mostly, you may have to try it and see if it works for you. This has happened to me and keeps me on older versions of OSX.
MacPoulet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 11:12 AM   #8
ylrd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacPoulet View Post
To answer #2, software incompatibility. I use apps that don't work as well in 10.7/10.8 and since it's a fairly niche market with small developers it's taken a while to get that compatibility.

So if your software says it'll work in 10.9 mostly, you may have to try it and see if it works for you. This has happened to me and keeps me on older versions of OSX.
This is why I never install the new OS as soon as they release it. I usually wait until v.1-2ish.

And when it comes to software compatibility, this website is pretty useful.
__________________

21.5" iMac (C2D @ 3.06GHz, 500GB, 8GB) with Magic Trackpad
13.3" MacBook Air (i7 @ 1.7~3.3GHz, 256GB, 8GB)
iPad 2 (16GB) / Nexus 4 (16GB)
ylrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 11:55 AM   #9
Jefe's MacAir
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbksabhi View Post

2. And if i upgrade to new os example Mavericks , then can i later downgrade to mountain if system starts running slow ?
I can tell you that when you do purchase Mavericks that not only can you re-download it at any time you can also put it on up to 5 other devices/machines. in other words, you could purchase Mavericks, lose your computer, replace your computer and re-download Mavericks to the replacement at no cost. Or if you have more than one Air/Pro/iMac/MacMini you ONLY have to purchase Mavericks once. For $20.
Jefe's MacAir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 12:05 PM   #10
PBG4 Dude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacPoulet View Post
To answer #2, software incompatibility. I use apps that don't work as well in 10.7/10.8 and since it's a fairly niche market with small developers it's taken a while to get that compatibility.

So if your software says it'll work in 10.9 mostly, you may have to try it and see if it works for you. This has happened to me and keeps me on older versions of OSX.
Install in a VM and test for compatibility then. This way you keep your known good configuration and can continue testing Macericks as updates are made to the OS and applications.
PBG4 Dude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 12:34 PM   #11
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbksabhi View Post
1. Can we reinstall mac osx again after some months of usage , like i use to do on my windows pc for a fresh new pc look

2. And if i upgrade to new os example Mavericks , then can i later downgrade to mountain if system starts running slow ?
1. Yes you can reinstall OS X.

2. Mavericks is developer beta right now, that mean it's meant for use by developers to make their apps compatible with it, not for regular users.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 12:34 PM   #12
Lakailb87
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbksabhi View Post
The only option then is retina mbp for 400$ more
You can get any of Apple's laptops with 8GB of ram...
Lakailb87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 12:48 PM   #13
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakailb87 View Post
You can get any of Apple's laptops with 8GB of ram...
It's a built to order option on the MacBook Air so might not be available in all countries.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by hbksabhi View Post
The only option then is retina mbp for 400$ more
You could also go for the non-retina MacBook Pro and upgrade the RAM to 8GB yourself.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 01:14 PM   #14
hbksabhi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakailb87 View Post
You can get any of Apple's laptops with 8GB of ram...
Not in India

They import stuff and don't allow online purchase and customise options

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by OllyW View Post
It's a built to order option on the MacBook Air so might not be available in all countries.

----------



You could also go for the non-retina MacBook Pro and upgrade the RAM to 8GB yourself.
For this one upgrade I loose a lot more things
1 fast sad
2 battery
3 epic form factor
4 better resolution
5 non glare display
To name a few
hbksabhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Downgrading my Mac, can I save data? loztheguru Mac Basics and Help 4 Feb 11, 2014 10:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC