Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:04 PM   #1
macaddict23
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MacVille, USA
How to create a DVD Start Menu

On the menu I want the following links:

PLAY | CHAPTERS | SUBTITLES | MAIN

On the Chapters section, I want to have clickable Text, or graphic headings to represent the 10 chapters of my movie.

On the Subtitles, I would like a dropdown option for "English" and "Off"

I don't have DVD Studio Pro, but can this be done Final Cut X or any other program?

Thanks!
__________________
Think Different.
macaddict23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:41 PM   #2
Dave Braine
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Warrington, UK
Quote:
can this be done Final Cut X
You may well be able to set Chapter markers in FCX, you certainly can in iMovie, and they should show up in the dvd menu, but the main dvd menu will have to be done in whatever app you are using to burn the dvd.
__________________
PPC Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mini, 10.6.8, White MacBook 10.8.5
iPhone 3GS, using o2 PAYG
Dave Braine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 09:56 PM   #3
treehorn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
You could do this in IDVD or if you want more power in your editing capabilities, Adobe Encore
treehorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 01:58 PM   #4
macaddict23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MacVille, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by treehorn View Post
You could do this in IDVD or if you want more power in your editing capabilities, Adobe Encore
I'm using iDVD at the moment, but I find the included Themes . . . lame.

How's the compatibility of Adobe Encore with FCPX?
__________________
Think Different.
macaddict23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 04:05 PM   #5
dumbland
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Compatibility should be just fine.

I usually run my video through the Compressor presets (90min Best Quality) which produces separate video and audio files, and take those into Encore. No further transcoding necessary.

Encore works well if you also have Photoshop since you can build up your menus using PS layers, as seen here.
dumbland is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 05:42 PM   #6
macaddict23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MacVille, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbland View Post
Compatibility should be just fine.

I usually run my video through the Compressor presets (90min Best Quality) which produces separate video and audio files, and take those into Encore. No further transcoding necessary.

Encore works well if you also have Photoshop since you can build up your menus using PS layers, as seen here.
Thank you.
__________________
Think Different.
macaddict23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC