Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:18 AM   #1
TomG701
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
iPhone 5 - Wi-fi IP Address Issue

Hi, I'm running an iPhone 5 at ios 6.0.2 and at home my internet is via HyBeam satellite. All connections via my wi-fi work very well (iPad and Mac) with one small 'glitch'.

The iPhone will randomly change the IP address to one via a LAN search domain and not the hns.com which is needed by my satellite system.

A 'renew lease' more often than often sorts out the issue but it does get to be a bind.

Any hints most appreciated.

Thanks, Tom
TomG701 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:59 AM   #2
Ste Nova
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: LL22, UK
what is giving out the other ip address?
__________________
iP5/32 black unlimited tethered data, ip4/32 black, iPad3/32gbwifi black, 2 x iP3gs/32 black, nikon d7000 with eyefi , honda s2000, audi a6 le mans, defender 90
Ste Nova is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:08 AM   #3
TomG701
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
That's what's puzzling me. The satellite system modem (hns) feeds into a wireless router - could that be throwing out the LAN IP address?

What I don't understand is that two iPads and a Mac don't experience the same problem, just the iPhone 5 and my partners iPhone 4 and those only started with the problem once we'd updated software to ios6.

Tom

Last edited by TomG701; Jan 16, 2013 at 10:14 AM.
TomG701 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:40 AM   #4
wxman2003
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Have you tried reset network settings on your iphone?
__________________
iMac I5, Macbook, iPad Air, iPad rMini, iPhone 5s, ATV 3
wxman2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:43 AM   #5
TomG701
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I have, it works but its a pain and still doesn't explain why the change over to LAN settings and also why it only affects our two phones running ios 6.
TomG701 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC