Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 19, 2012, 09:21 AM   #1
faustlaw
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Orleans
Time capsule 2TB

Just got one and now Wifi seems VERY sluggish. Have a Motorola 5120 modem. Do I need a faster modem to keep up? Any other suggestions?
faustlaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 09:23 AM   #2
Switchback666
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Does your modem have wifi also ? If it does disable it, btw disconnect the power cord on the TC and re-connect and see if things are faster.
Switchback666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 09:27 AM   #3
faustlaw
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Orleans
Quote:
Originally Posted by Switchback666 View Post
Does your modem have wifi also ? If it does disable it, btw disconnect the power cord on the TC and re-connect and see if things are faster.
No wifi on modem.
faustlaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 09:33 AM   #4
Switchback666
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I had that problem when i got my first TV, i had a modem and a wifi router and i had to play a little bit to get work good but in the end i removed the linksys router.

Rarely i get that issue now but i know i just unplug and plug back and speed go back to normal; might aswell check if you have intruders in your network.

Hope it helps.
Switchback666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 09:36 AM   #5
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
What's sluggish? The 'net? Local?

I just bought one Saturday (open box) and it worked like a champ.

Open up Terninal and do ping tests to another computer, your TC, your modem (if you can) and say.. google.com or something.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 09:38 AM   #6
faustlaw
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Orleans
Quote:
Originally Posted by Switchback666 View Post
I had that problem when i got my first TV, i had a modem and a wifi router and i had to play a little bit to get work good but in the end i removed the linksys router.

Rarely i get that issue now but i know i just unplug and plug back and speed go back to normal; might aswell check if you have intruders in your network.

Hope it helps.
It appears to have helped.
How check for intruders on network??

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwhities View Post
What's sluggish? The 'net? Local?

I just bought one Saturday (open box) and it worked like a champ.

Open up Terninal and do ping tests to another computer, your TC, your modem (if you can) and say.. google.com or something.
The wifi was sluggish. Wired is great.
I unplugged it and plugged in again and it seems to have sped up? What's that about?

THANKS FOR ALL THE RESPONSES. This is great!
faustlaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 09:41 AM   #7
Switchback666
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
On the airport utility app you can check under the wireless clients tab it will list connected devices, cant help atm because im not at home and i dont remember the whole layout of the app to be more specific.
Switchback666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 09:44 AM   #8
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
What system do you have? Is it just your computer? Do you have another one you can test with?

I installed "Net Master" (5.99 on the App Store) and I use that to verify there are no rouge systems on my network. That's how I tell if anyone has accessed my network.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC