Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 15, 2010, 11:05 AM   #1
MikeTheVike
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Can I cancel Migration Assistant midway through?

I just got my new iMac and started using Migration Assistant to transfer my old stuff to my new computer. Unfortunately I was not prepared for my old computer having Firewire 400 and the new on having 800. I started using my wireless connection to transfer. I was hoping for "time to completion" estimate but it doesn't look like it's going to give me one. I have a feeling this could take FOREVER so I was hoping to cancel it and find some spare networking hubs and connect both computers to a wired network.

I just want to make sure I can cancel my current process without messing anything up. Thanks!
MikeTheVike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 04:05 PM   #2
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
FireWire 400 is still faster than USB. I wouldn't worry too much. If it's taking too long, just leave it overnight and it'll be done by morning.

You can't cancel Migration Assistant, but you can power down the computer and run a fresh install from the restore disks. The installer takes about 20 minutes to run.
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 09:41 AM   #3
MikeTheVike
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I had it running over wireless and it probably would have taken days. I stopped the migration process and hooked both computers to the wired network and ran it again. For some reason all my files transfered over, but none of my settings cam through. I ended up clean installing OSX and trying it again and it worked great!
MikeTheVike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 01:30 PM   #4
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Yeah, running it over wireless was probably a mistake. Apple should include some sort of network performance test before copying and/or just warn you when connected to a wireless network.
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2010, 08:22 PM   #5
CrazyCleave
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Command-Q to cancel Migration Assistant

I was able to stop the process by typing Command-Q on the new Mac and then doing the same on the old Mac.
CrazyCleave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 01:06 AM   #6
Cececannavo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Migration in progress

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyCleave View Post
I was able to stop the process by typing Command-Q on the new Mac and then doing the same on the old Mac.
Thanks for posting that! It helped me get out of a 40 hr transfer! What is confusing on first blush is during set up of the new computer the set up assistant asks if you would like to transfer information from another computer. I started the whole process unaware that it was connecting over wireless network.

I was able to stop the transfer using the cmd-Q. Powered down new computer, went all the way through the setup assistant. Connected the FireWire 400/800 cable and checked FireWire settings in Network to make sure they we're both active. Then SHUT OFF the wireless network. Then started migration assistant which will now take onlyl 2hrs and not 40! Sheesh. I think they make it purposefully tricky so you pay the extra $150 to have it done in the store. But, all is well that ends well and our new Mac RockS!
Cececannavo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 07:24 PM   #7
knlowery
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
CECECANNAVO Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cececannavo View Post
Thanks for posting that! It helped me get out of a 40 hr transfer! What is confusing on first blush is during set up of the new computer the set up assistant asks if you would like to transfer information from another computer. I started the whole process unaware that it was connecting over wireless network.

I was able to stop the transfer using the cmd-Q. Powered down new computer, went all the way through the setup assistant. Connected the FireWire 400/800 cable and checked FireWire settings in Network to make sure they we're both active. Then SHUT OFF the wireless network. Then started migration assistant which will now take onlyl 2hrs and not 40! Sheesh. I think they make it purposefully tricky so you pay the extra $150 to have it done in the store. But, all is well that ends well and our new Mac RockS!
This was a life saver. Migration went from 45 hours to 1.5 hours.
knlowery is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 08:31 PM   #8
thekb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Using ethernet to migrate from 2011 imac to 2012 MBP ... Migration Assistant seemed to be going well, saying there was about 1 hour left to transfer, then kind of crapped out. The estimated time to completion is goign through the roof. Why would it mess up like that?

Also, they shoudl make it where the computers will not go to sleep during this process. I keep having to go in and move the mouse every 5 minutes or it times out. Any advice on how to do it better or fix it now?
thekb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 09:07 PM   #9
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekb View Post
Using ethernet to migrate from 2011 imac to 2012 MBP ... Migration Assistant seemed to be going well, saying there was about 1 hour left to transfer, then kind of crapped out. The estimated time to completion is goign through the roof. Why would it mess up like that?

Also, they shoudl make it where the computers will not go to sleep during this process. I keep having to go in and move the mouse every 5 minutes or it times out. Any advice on how to do it better or fix it now?
Copying small files takes more time.

To disable sleep, go into
System Preferences > Energy Saver
and adjust computer sleep time
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New iMac, two old MacBooks, migration assistant and setup? FrancoRumors iMac 2 Oct 16, 2011 09:15 PM
Migration Assistant with Time Machine backup YourHerojb Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Aug 7, 2011 03:08 PM
Well, this didn't 'just work': Time Machine and Migration Assistant nightmare... VulchR OS X 3 Aug 2, 2011 10:46 AM
Will Migration Assistant replace my apps? horace528 OS X 1 Jul 6, 2011 09:31 AM
Migration assistant failed to transfer some files alex.purple.mac Mac Basics and Help 2 Dec 29, 2010 07:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC