Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2012, 05:19 PM   #1
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
Sata 3 Do the new imac's have it

Do the new Imac's come with Sata 3 ?
Can't seem to find any info anywhere about it.
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 05:53 PM   #2
SuperCyborg
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Doesn't matter. They use really slow 2.5" laptop hard drives.
Even the 7200rpm drive wouldn't come close to the limits of SATA II.
The SSD and fusion options have the SSD directly on the logicboard.
SuperCyborg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 05:56 PM   #3
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
The older iMacs had SATA 3, no reason to believe the new ones don't have it.
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:09 PM   #4
NVRENUF!
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
lol

I wouldn't keep the Slow drive they have any way.

I will be installing my own SSD, So it does matter if there is Sata 3 .
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:13 PM   #5
HardcoreWally
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCyborg View Post
Doesn't matter. They use really slow 2.5" laptop hard drives.
Even the 7200rpm drive wouldn't come close to the limits of SATA II.
The SSD and fusion options have the SSD directly on the logicboard.
Ever think some of us may want to install a SSD ourselves, instead of paying Apple's exorbitant SSD prices???

Sheesh!!
HardcoreWally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:45 PM   #6
joe-h2o
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCyborg View Post
Doesn't matter. They use really slow 2.5" laptop hard drives.
Even the 7200rpm drive wouldn't come close to the limits of SATA II.
The SSD and fusion options have the SSD directly on the logicboard.
The 27" does not use a laptop drive. It uses a standard 3.5" desktop HD.

The port is SATA3. Very useful if you want to swap in your own SSD, so it certainly "matters".

Research: good to have done some before commenting!
joe-h2o is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:45 PM   #7
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by NVRENUF! View Post
lol

I wouldn't keep the Slow drive they have any way.

I will be installing my own SSD, So it does matter if there is Sata 3 .
Better get that hair dryer ready.

(to remove the screen that is).
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:50 PM   #8
joe-h2o
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GimmeSlack12 View Post
Better get that hair dryer ready.

(to remove the screen that is).
No hair dryer needed. Cut the foam tape with a plastic pizza cutter, remove screen, remove tape, apply new tape, install drive, close up iMac. Job done.
joe-h2o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:53 PM   #9
NVRENUF!
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
Yep what joe said.

Already have new role tape on the way , plastic pick to open it.

and the drives will be 2.5" not 3.5 as mentioned in an above post
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 01:14 AM   #10
boto
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Let us know first hand if there is any ventilation issues, especially when the fans rack up at maximum speeds for a non-Apple certified drive. Also, you should make certain there is no screen defects (backlight bleeding, yellow/pinkish tints, dead pixels, stuck pixels, pressure marks, and etc) and other issues before you install the drive and find out you need to replace it... It will be time and money wasted just to replace the SSD back with the old drive.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4Ghz, GTX 680MX, 1TB FD, 32GB RAM | rMBP 2.6Ghz/16GB RAM/256GB | 16GB iPhone 5 White | 16GB iPad 3rd Gen White | Time Capsule 2TB | Apple TV 3
boto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 01:42 AM   #11
NVRENUF!
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
I will be checking for defects before we do it yes.

people with the 21inch haven't said any thing about fans going up.
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 02:01 AM   #12
tom vilsack
macrumors 65816
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
i would be interested to see the speed difference from using a external ssd threw thunderbolt vs fusion drive vs internal user installed ssd....might be just as good to use external ssd threw thunderbolt and clone mountain lion over to it (using carbon copy or superduper)
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 07:31 AM   #13
SuperCyborg
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe-h2o View Post
The 27" does not use a laptop drive. It uses a standard 3.5" desktop HD.
Got any proof to back up your false claim?

Quote:
Research: good to have done some before commenting!
Please follow your own advice before embarrassing yourself again.
SuperCyborg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 08:16 AM   #14
joe-h2o
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCyborg View Post
Got any proof to back up your false claim?


Please follow your own advice before embarrassing yourself again.
Show me a 7200 rpm 3TB laptop drive.

I'll wait.
joe-h2o is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 08:37 AM   #15
d0nK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
I'm looking forward to seeing people successfully replace the 5400rpm 2.5" laptop drive in the 21.5".

There is no way I'm using a 5400 laptop drive or paying 350 for a fusion drive (21.5" step up + BTO), lol. Apple must think we're complete idiots.
d0nK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 08:39 AM   #16
NVRENUF!
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
I will have photos hopefully by monday afternoon
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 08:47 AM   #17
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCyborg View Post
Got any proof to back up your false claim?


Please follow your own advice before embarrassing yourself again.
There are no 2.5" 3TB 9.5mm hdds in existence buddy. The largest one available is 1TB.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 08:56 AM   #18
mac.ross
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCyborg View Post
Got any proof to back up your false claim?


Please follow your own advice before embarrassing yourself again.
Apple keynote - iMac late 2012 - 3.5" drive.



There is some evidence for his 'false claim' as you so eloquently put it.

Last edited by mac.ross; Dec 12, 2012 at 09:01 AM. Reason: better image
mac.ross is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 08:57 AM   #19
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
There are no 2.5" 3TB 9.5mm hdds in existence buddy. The largest one available is 1TB.
Correct, the only thing larger than 1TB is Western Digital makes a 2TB 2.5" laptop drive but it is 15mm height, getting close to double the height of a normal laptop drive.
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 5s 32GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, JetStream Gigabit, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC