Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 30, 2012, 05:04 PM   #1
Gene S
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
27" 2012 iMac w/ 768 SSD. Adding internal second SSD?

I have the 27" 2012 iMac with 768GB SSD. I've read that the SSD is a blade, meaning I should have a free SATA port in there somewhere. Shouldn't I be able to add a standard 2.5 SSD drive? I'm thinking a 512GB Samsung 840 Pro.

I seriously doubt I would do it myself. I've read you can take it to an authorized Apple repair store to get aftermarket drives installed without voiding the warranty. (Excluding the addition.)

I do not want an external drive. I bought an all-in-one, I'd rather like to keep it that way.
Gene S is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 05:07 PM   #2
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
Can't see why not.

How ever I haven't seen any body that got the blade ssd only crack open the machine so can't confirm if the sata cables are sitting there for the second drive. or the brackets to hold the hdd in place.
__________________
27" Late 2012 | 120gb SSD | 680mx 2gig | 3.4ghz I7 | 24gig ram |
27" Late 2011, 120 gig SSD, 512mb GPU, I5
2 x Iphone 5, 1 x Iphone 4s, 1 x Ipad 3 , 1 x Ipad 2
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:29 AM   #3
Tanax
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Where's info about taking it to an Apple Store to install third-party drives? Never heard of it but would be very nice!
Tanax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 08:50 AM   #4
snugja
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanax View Post
Where's info about taking it to an Apple Store to install third-party drives? Never heard of it but would be very nice!
That would be nice. Waiting to see if this works for anyone.
snugja is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:18 AM   #5
pubjoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
If you're going to open it up anyway, why on earth pay the crazy Apple SSD premium in the first place?!

But yes, that'd work.
pubjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:29 AM   #6
aziatiklover
macrumors 68020
 
aziatiklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubjoe View Post
If you're going to open it up anyway, why on earth pay the crazy Apple SSD premium in the first place?!

But yes, that'd work.
This!
__________________
ppleholic
aziatiklover is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:31 AM   #7
Brian Y
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Well if he wants two SSD's he'd still need the Apple one :P.

There will be a spare SATA port on the back of the MLB - the cables from a Mid 2011 iMac should work (then again, so should any SATA cable - they're generic connectors).

You won't have the mountings for a second SSD, but velcro sorts that out!
Brian Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:44 AM   #8
pubjoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bma View Post
Well if he wants two SSD's he'd still need the Apple one :P.
I installed a blade type SSD myself. I currently have two SSDs in my imac.
pubjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:57 AM   #9
snugja
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubjoe View Post
I installed a blade type SSD myself. I currently have two SSDs in my imac.
Is the blade 768GB?
snugja is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 01:07 PM   #10
pubjoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
No. 256.

There's some 768s available at around 600 though. And 512s for about 360 iirc.
pubjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 03:01 PM   #11
fpdesign
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubjoe View Post
I installed a blade type SSD myself. I currently have two SSDs in my imac.
Sorry can explain how to ?

Is the last 2012 imac bto with ssd or the basic model with hd?
What cable have you used?

Which brand is the ssd?

What about trim enabler?

i have see this picture

http://threedevices.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/inside-imac.jpg


This ssd work inside the imac in the blade slot?
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/O...a_Pro_Air_2012
Or is better buy the iMac with SSD and put another SSD or HD in the HD place?

Last edited by fpdesign; Jan 1, 2013 at 03:16 PM.
fpdesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 06:14 PM   #12
pubjoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
No, that's a Macbook Air SSD. The imac uses the same type as found in the retina Macbook Pro. Search ebay for "retina MacBook ssd". Also, I'm not a fan of OWC's blade SSDs at all to be honest but that's another story.

I bought the new iMac 27" (top model but with only the 1TB hdd). I didn't need a cable as the 2.5" SSD simply replaced the stock HDD. The 'blade type' SSD plugs straight into a slot on the logic board.

Have a look through the thread titled "Rip those iMacs open".

Last edited by pubjoe; Jan 1, 2013 at 11:57 PM.
pubjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC