Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 7, 2013, 10:13 PM   #1
blasto2236
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Star Wars : The Force Unleashed

Was this just recently ported to Mac? I bought it over in Windows on Steam and just noticed it in my list of Mac games.

I had pretty high hopes, since it's done by Aspyr, but it's a pretty awful port. No 360 controller support, no ability to change the resolution. Hell, you can't even navigate the menus with a mouse. Keyboard only. I was pretty excited to play this natively on OS X, but these issues make it not worth it.
__________________
iMac (Late 2011 21.5) - iPhone 5s (16GB space grey) - iPad Air (16GB silver) - Apple TV (3rd gen)
blasto2236 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 10:40 PM   #2
Solomani
macrumors 68000
 
Solomani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blasto2236 View Post
Was this just recently ported to Mac? I bought it over in Windows on Steam and just noticed it in my list of Mac games.

I had pretty high hopes, since it's done by Aspyr, but it's a pretty awful port. No 360 controller support, no ability to change the resolution. Hell, you can't even navigate the menus with a mouse. Keyboard only. I was pretty excited to play this natively on OS X, but these issues make it not worth it.
The OSX version of Force Unleashed has been in the Mac App Store since August 2012. It's not a new port at all.
Solomani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 11:09 PM   #3
blasto2236
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomani View Post
The OSX version of Force Unleashed has been in the Mac App Store since August 2012. It's not a new port at all.
Thanks for clarifying that. Hopefully their Mac port of Bioshock Infinite doesn't face similar problems.
__________________
iMac (Late 2011 21.5) - iPhone 5s (16GB space grey) - iPad Air (16GB silver) - Apple TV (3rd gen)
blasto2236 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 02:11 AM   #4
bkar89
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by blasto2236 View Post
Was this just recently ported to Mac? I bought it over in Windows on Steam and just noticed it in my list of Mac games.

I had pretty high hopes, since it's done by Aspyr, but it's a pretty awful port. No 360 controller support, no ability to change the resolution. Hell, you can't even navigate the menus with a mouse. Keyboard only. I was pretty excited to play this natively on OS X, but these issues make it not worth it.
I bought this on MAS. I can change the resolution. You dont get the Aspyr settings screen when you launch the game?

This port never struck me as bad at all, atleast not when compared to the PC version its ported from.
bkar89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 01:20 PM   #5
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by blasto2236 View Post
No 360 controller support, no ability to change the resolution. Hell, you can't even navigate the menus with a mouse. Keyboard only. I was pretty excited to play this natively on OS X, but these issues make it not worth it.
Blasto, can you tell us which version of the game you have? I'm so sorry you are having issues. Force Unleashed does support the xbox wired controller and as bkar pointed out, you can select your resolution.
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 06:59 PM   #6
TedM
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: California
I played it on my xbox and didn't think the game was really worth it anyways.
__________________
http://www.yourpoetic.com/
TedM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 07:17 AM   #7
txa1265
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkar89 View Post
This port never struck me as bad at all, atleast not when compared to the PC version its ported from.
haha exactly - I got it for my kids to play on XBOX and it is pretty clear where it is MEANT to be played!
txa1265 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 09:39 AM   #8
blasto2236
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspyr-Blair View Post
Blasto, can you tell us which version of the game you have? I'm so sorry you are having issues. Force Unleashed does support the xbox wired controller and as bkar pointed out, you can select your resolution.
I got it through Steam, it's the Ultimate Sith Edition. I believe it came with a whole bundle of Star Wars games. Never had any problems using the controller or changing the resolution when playing in Bootcamp, it seems to only be an issue in OS X.
__________________
iMac (Late 2011 21.5) - iPhone 5s (16GB space grey) - iPad Air (16GB silver) - Apple TV (3rd gen)
blasto2236 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 12:23 PM   #9
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by blasto2236 View Post
I got it through Steam, it's the Ultimate Sith Edition. I believe it came with a whole bundle of Star Wars games. Never had any problems using the controller or changing the resolution when playing in Bootcamp, it seems to only be an issue in OS X.
Ok good, you have the most up to date version then.

The resolution can be changed along with other settings from the launcher window. Its right next to the Windowed and Full Screen buttons at the top.

As for the controller, as long as you are using a wired Xbox controller, its plug and play. It's possible that you have a controller driver installed that would prevent this from happening. Here is a support article on how to fix that if in fact that is the case.

If for some reason you are still having issues, start a support ticket with our team. They will get you up and running asap.

Apologies again for the frustration.
Aspyr-Blair is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 12:28 AM   #10
blasto2236
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspyr-Blair View Post
Ok good, you have the most up to date version then.

The resolution can be changed along with other settings from the launcher window. Its right next to the Windowed and Full Screen buttons at the top.

As for the controller, as long as you are using a wired Xbox controller, its plug and play. It's possible that you have a controller driver installed that would prevent this from happening. Here is a support article on how to fix that if in fact that is the case.

If for some reason you are still having issues, start a support ticket with our team. They will get you up and running asap.

Apologies again for the frustration.
I had forgotten about changing the resolution via the window in Aspyr titles. I should have remembered from playing the Arkham games. BTW, never had these controller issues with either of those games.

As a bit of customer feedback, I wouldn't bother building drivers in to the game if they are going to conflict with the way OS X gamers play 99% of their other games. Really hoping this won't be an issue with Bioshock Infinite.

Honestly, thats a lot of trouble to go through to play a single game. I'll just keep booting over in to Windows. Thanks for your help though.
__________________
iMac (Late 2011 21.5) - iPhone 5s (16GB space grey) - iPad Air (16GB silver) - Apple TV (3rd gen)
blasto2236 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 11:40 AM   #11
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by blasto2236 View Post
I had forgotten about changing the resolution via the window in Aspyr titles. I should have remembered from playing the Arkham games. BTW, never had these controller issues with either of those games.

As a bit of customer feedback, I wouldn't bother building drivers in to the game if they are going to conflict with the way OS X gamers play 99% of their other games. Really hoping this won't be an issue with Bioshock Infinite.

Honestly, thats a lot of trouble to go through to play a single game. I'll just keep booting over in to Windows. Thanks for your help though.
Arkham games are not ours. That is actually the issue. You downloaded a 3rd party driver in order to use your controller for those games.

Our games are native plug and play support for the xbox wired controller, just as they are on the PC. Remove that driver, and Force Unleashed will work with your controller, natively.

Bioshock Infinite will run the same when its released, plug and play, no additional drivers needed. To your point, where we need to get better is adding support for additional controllers other than the xbox wired. That's pretty complex stuff, but we are working on it.
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2013, 12:27 AM   #12
dmorris395
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspyr-Blair View Post
Ok good, you have the most up to date version then.

As for the controller, as long as you are using a wired Xbox controller, its plug and play. It's possible that you have a controller driver installed that would prevent this from happening. Here is a support article on how to fix that if in fact that is the case.

If for some reason you are still having issues, start a support ticket with our team. They will get you up and running asap.

Apologies again for the frustration.
I'm new to mac. I, too, am having issues with the wireless 360 controller with third party drivers. Where do I go to delete the files lister on your support article you linked to? Also, are you saying that the wireless controller will work if the files listed are deleted.

Thanks
dmorris395 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2013, 01:56 PM   #13
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmorris395 View Post
I'm new to mac. I, too, am having issues with the wireless 360 controller with third party drivers. Where do I go to delete the files lister on your support article you linked to? Also, are you saying that the wireless controller will work if the files listed are deleted.

Thanks
Welcome to Mac gaming! To be clear, Force Unleashed currently only supports the wired 360 controller. We are working on that for future updates, as we are also working on the interference issue with the most commonly used 3rd party driver (Tattiebogle).

Edit: Sorry dmorris, I didnt quite answer your question. In that article, it tells you to delete specific files. The first one is:

HD/Library/Preference Panes/Pref 360 controller

So you would go to your HD, then look for Library, then Preference Panes...you get the point. Hope that helps!

Last edited by Aspyr-Blair; Aug 21, 2013 at 03:27 PM.
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2013, 11:24 PM   #14
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
I enjoyed the game, despite it obviously being very console-centric. My main frustration was with the clunky and sluggish menu controls (loading screen after every sub-menu selection, very annoying to level up and choose new abilities, etc), but I think that's the way it is in the PC version as well.
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Star War The Force Unleashed JI7 Mac and PC Games 2 Feb 22, 2014 07:18 PM
'Star Wars: Tiny Death Star' Hits the U.S. App Store MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 56 Jan 27, 2014 06:33 PM
NimbleBit and Disney to Team Up for 'Star Wars: Tiny Death Star' MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 23 Oct 8, 2013 12:38 AM
Konami Launches 'Star Wars Force Collection' Card Game for iOS MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 19 Sep 6, 2013 03:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC