Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 10, 2013, 07:20 PM   #1
TheBeastman13
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Trouble uploading pictures from camera to MacBook.

I just purchased a Nikon d7100 for photography class. My teacher has the class shooting in jpeg+ RAW. My problem begins with connecting my nikon to my MacBook. I plug my micro USB into my camera > plug USB into MacBook > turn camera "ON". I can't seem to find my Nikon as mounted (like a flash drive, external HDD, or my Sanyo Xacti do). BUT when I open iPhoto, low and behold, my Nikon appears in iPhoto. Thoughts on why my camera is not mounting to the desktop like my flash drive and HDD do?

Second problem is when I "import all." Mind you I shot in Jpeg and RAW formats. Meaning, when I shot 45 pictures today, I should be uploading 90 photos when I import all. But it doesn't... All 45 RAW files are not accepted/recognized by iPhoto and/or my MacBook. So as of now, all I have are my 45 jpeg photos on my flash drive to take to class... Thoughts/ suggestions?

Yesterday I uploaded a hundred photos (only the Jpegs were accepted) and I deleted all the photos on my camera, so I lost all the RAW formatted photos. Lesson learned. This time, however, until I find out why the RAWs are not transferring to my laptop, I am not clearing my SD card in the camera. I do need to clear it ASAP because I have a video shoot tomorrow evening, and I need all the space I can have.

Thanks for any and all would-be help!

Regards,
B.
TheBeastman13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 07:28 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Tried Finder > Go > Applications (CMD+SHIFT+A) > Image Capture yet?

And when handling RAW (.NEF) files, it is better to use Adobe Lightroom or Apple Aperture (though a bit out of date as of some years now).

Do you know, why you have to shoot both JPEG and RAW? It is a waste of storage space and as a RAW contains much more information, it can be easily converted to a JPEG if one needs to.

PS: Have you already installed the Digital Camera Update 4.06 from Apple (Mac OS X 10.7.5 or OS X 10.8.2 are required for this) to get iPhoto and Aperture compatibility for your camera?
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 09:52 PM   #3
TheBeastman13
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Tried Finder > Go > Applications (CMD+SHIFT+A) > Image Capture yet?

And when handling RAW (.NEF) files, it is better to use Adobe Lightroom or Apple Aperture (though a bit out of date as of some years now).

Do you know, why you have to shoot both JPEG and RAW? It is a waste of storage space and as a RAW contains much more information, it can be easily converted to a JPEG if one needs to.

PS: Have you already installed the Digital Camera Update 4.06 from Apple (Mac OS X 10.7.5 or OS X 10.8.2 are required for this) to get iPhoto and Aperture compatibility for your camera?
I'm not sure why she wants both, but I have no idea why my MacBook isn't downloading the RAW... I'm running snow leopard 10.6.X on an '08 MacBook with an intel core 2 duo, by the way.

I know at school we have high-powered iMacs with Lightroom, Ps, and Aperture. I assume the teacher wants us to utilize RAW when editing with said programs, but yeah, no idea why I need to capture RAW and JPEG...
TheBeastman13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 09:58 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBeastman13 View Post
I'm not sure why she wants both, but I have no idea why my MacBook isn't downloading the RAW... I'm running snow leopard 10.6.X on an '08 MacBook with an intel core 2 duo, by the way.

I know at school we have high-powered iMacs with Lightroom, Ps, and Aperture. I assume the teacher wants us to utilize RAW when editing with said programs, but yeah, no idea why I need to capture RAW and JPEG...
As you still run good, old Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, the camera is not really compatible, or at least the RAW files, as the update I mentioned, only works on Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion.

Anyway, as Image Capture should not care, you can still transfer the .NEF files anyway, if not, get an SD card reader and copy it via Finder.

Canon and Nikon cameras are known to have their issues showing up as external storage device, meaning, it is disabled somehow, forcing the user to either use Nikon's or Canon's software or use third party applications like Lightroom or iPhoto or Image Capture.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 10:15 PM   #5
TheBeastman13
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
As you still run good, old Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, the camera is not really compatible, or at least the RAW files, as the update I mentioned, only works on Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion.

Anyway, as Image Capture should not care, you can still transfer the .NEF files anyway, if not, get an SD card reader and copy it via Finder.

Canon and Nikon cameras are known to have their issues showing up as external storage device, meaning, it is disabled somehow, forcing the user to either use Nikon's or Canon's software or use third party applications like Lightroom or iPhoto or Image Capture.
I understand now. I was looking for a simple drag mounted files from Nikon folder to designated external drive. Guess I'll have to take the convoluted route. Lol. Thanks for the input, Sim.
TheBeastman13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 01:34 AM   #6
fa8362
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
If your camera doesn't have an SD card reader, you should buy one. Then just copy the files onto the laptop from the card reader. Don't use the camera for transfer.

It also seems like your SD cards are not high enough capacity. You should be using an 8-16 GB card with that 7100. You should be able to find a Sandisk Extreme 16 GB card for $20 or less.
fa8362 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 07:26 AM   #7
TheBeastman13
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fa8362 View Post
If your camera doesn't have an SD card reader, you should buy one. Then just copy the files onto the laptop from the card reader. Don't use the camera for transfer.

It also seems like your SD cards are not high enough capacity. You should be using an 8-16 GB card with that 7100. You should be able to find a Sandisk Extreme 16 GB card for $20 or less.
I am using two 32 GB SanDisk Extreme cards that are 95mb/s read/write.
TheBeastman13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 12:39 PM   #8
fa8362
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBeastman13 View Post
I am using two 32 GB SanDisk Extreme cards that are 95mb/s read/write.
Sorry. I missed the video reference in your initial post.
fa8362 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 12:58 PM   #9
TheBeastman13
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fa8362 View Post
Sorry. I missed the video reference in your initial post.
It's all good, no harm, no foul. Thanks for the input, any how.

I talked to my teacher today, and she told me to pick up a card reader. I'll head to the store after class tonight and buy an SD reader. At school the computer labs have Gear Head readers, any insight/preferences one could suggest for a quality, cost-effective SD reader?
TheBeastman13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 02:45 AM   #10
rolsskk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBeastman13 View Post
It's all good, no harm, no foul. Thanks for the input, any how.

I talked to my teacher today, and she told me to pick up a card reader. I'll head to the store after class tonight and buy an SD reader. At school the computer labs have Gear Head readers, any insight/preferences one could suggest for a quality, cost-effective SD reader?
Honestly, it doesn't matter much these days, unless it's a horribly bad knockoff.
rolsskk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 03:03 PM   #11
Apple fanboy
macrumors 601
 
Apple fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Here's a story to make you laugh. I use an iMac, and because the slot is in the back it's not the best. So I use the USB lead that came with my camera.
Anyway a few weeks back it suddenly stopped working. I went through all the settings in the camera and iPhoto. Searched the boards for answers, nothing.

Anyway started taking the card out to transfer. On one occasion doing this, I noticed a USB lead had been unplugged.

Can you guess which one it was?
__________________
Late 2012 21" iMac 2.9GHz i5, ITB FD, 16G RAM, 2 TB TC, iPhone 5 32GB, iPad Air 32G, iPad 4 32G, iPad 2 16G, ATV2, iPod touch 8G, Xbox 360 Nikon D7100/D300 70-200 24-70 14-24 60 10.5 mm (all 2.8)
Apple fanboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 10:53 PM   #12
mofunk
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Americas
@ TheBeastman13 It's not the camera... It's the computer. If you shoot RAW anything, you computer has to know what to do with it. Image Capture will not work unless you updated either iPhoto or Aperture camera RAW files. If you have Adobe as your editor, you need to do the same.



I'm on a Mac right now and its using OS 10.7.5. But my iPhoto & Lightroom aren't updated. I can't view any D7100 RAW files because my software isn't updated.

You can download Aperture trial version and that might fix the problem. You have to have Aperture 3.4 or later. Or download Nikon Capture NX. Lightroom 5. PS CS6.. A reader won't help because your computer still would need to read RAW files.


http://www.apple.com/aperture/specs/raw.html


btw DSLR and iPods stopped using mass storage around 2008 and started using flash which is why you do not see it on your desktop. Your camera can only be viewed in an application. This was changed when the Nikon D90 came out. And also iPod Touch. Before you could see it on your desktop, and move files and from it. This is why I love my iPod classic, it's more of a mass storage drive.
__________________
MBP | PB |iPhone tID | iPad 4G | G4 | Touch 4G | iPod 30GB
mofunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2013, 12:05 AM   #13
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by mofunk View Post
btw DSLR and iPods stopped using mass storage around 2008 and started using flash which is why you do not see it on your desktop. Your camera can only be viewed in an application. This was changed when the Nikon D90 came out. And also iPod Touch. Before you could see it on your desktop, and move files and from it. This is why I love my iPod classic, it's more of a mass storage drive.
DSLRs still use the same storage, nothing has changed that much since 200x, only that the capacity is bigger and it is faster.
Nikon and Canon, and probably those other manufacturers of digital photo machines, have shipped their cameras with "software" to disable the use of the built in card reader/writer as an external volume, thus you are forced to hopefully use their software (which they ship on DVDs, but most often do not offer online - forward thinking times ten) or some other software, thus those card readers can get quite handy some time.

When the iPod touch came out, it was not meant as mass storage like the iPod classic, due to the difference in, you know, capacity, and due to, you know, the complexity.
The iPod classic can run its software from its own ship, it does not need to be stored on the HDD.
The iPod classic has to run its OS and software from the storage device, due to its size and complexity.
Giving users of the iPod touch or iPhone (which came before the iPod touch) to that file system via enabling that device as storage device accessible via Finder, would seriously bring havoc to those devices, as ignorant users might delete the files on there, thinking (or not thinking) they were not important.
Or have you never heard of people, having deleted some DLL files or EXE files or whatever files back in the day, in order to get some KB of more storage?
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2013, 01:40 AM   #14
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Go to the camera setup. You will find there are two methods the camera can use to connect to the computer. Only one of them makes the camera look like a Flash drive. That would be called "mass storage". I think Nikon calls the other one "pict bridge" Maybe you prefer "mass storage"

Also the better way to transfer images is just to remove the card from the camera and place it into theSD card slot on most Macs or get a card reader.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2013, 12:09 AM   #15
mofunk
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Americas
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
DSLRs still use the same storage, nothing has changed that much since 200x, only that the capacity is bigger and it is faster.
Nikon and Canon, and probably those other manufacturers of digital photo machines, have shipped their cameras with "software" to disable the use of the built in card reader/writer as an external volume, thus you are forced to hopefully use their software (which they ship on DVDs, but most often do not offer online - forward thinking times ten) or some other software, thus those card readers can get quite handy some time.

When the iPod touch came out, it was not meant as mass storage like the iPod classic, due to the difference in, you know, capacity, and due to, you know, the complexity.
The iPod classic can run its software from its own ship, it does not need to be stored on the HDD.
The iPod classic has to run its OS and software from the storage device, due to its size and complexity.
Giving users of the iPod touch or iPhone (which came before the iPod touch) to that file system via enabling that device as storage device accessible via Finder, would seriously bring havoc to those devices, as ignorant users might delete the files on there, thinking (or not thinking) they were not important.
Or have you never heard of people, having deleted some DLL files or EXE files or whatever files back in the day, in order to get some KB of more storage?


Let me clarify what I said. It looks like I put both in the iPods and DSLR in the same sentence. I was answering the OPs question to why he cannot see his DSLR on his desktop. When the D90 was released, Nikon change the USB transfer which is why you cannot see it on the desktop. I'm not sure about the pro cameras, but since the D90 mass storage (FTP or whatever you want to call it) on DSLRs was changed. This causes a problem when you trying to update your firmware. You either have to use a card reader or use a computer with a card reader.

I gave the example of the iPod Touch because the FTP format had changed too. The iPods were changed to Flash storage with the release of the iPod Touch. Both you can no longer view on the desktop like you did with previous models. It's not complex, its flash drive. lol


I use my iPod Classic as a back up hard drive. Its nice to have that option. Back when I purchased it, I could create a folder on it, outside of iTunes and carry it with me. You can use it also to backup your photos on the go.

Sorry you didn't get it. If I had a Nikon Digital SLR I would expect it to behave like the previous. Or any digital camera. Plugging your camera via USB and having control of it without opening an app, nothing wrong with that.
__________________
MBP | PB |iPhone tID | iPad 4G | G4 | Touch 4G | iPod 30GB
mofunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhoto not uploading all the pictures to iCloud album tonynz iCloud and Apple Services 1 Jan 13, 2014 08:10 AM
Anyway to compress pictures before uploading to Dropbox/Copy ? rak007 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Oct 22, 2013 11:09 PM
iPhone: Dropbox Automatically Uploading Contacts Pictures ma1nstr3am iOS 7 3 Jul 22, 2013 12:25 PM
Uploading pictures to MR Forums using iOS 6? dontwalkhand iPhone 1 Sep 30, 2012 02:29 PM
Uploading pictures migdaddy iPad 3 Jun 9, 2012 11:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC