Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:48 PM   #1
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Playing Sims 3 on late 2012 iMac?

I just wondered if anyone here plays The Sims 3 on their new late 2012 21.5" iMac?

Please mention the specs of your system. What frame rates are you getting? Any lag? Do you have any expansion packs installed?

Thanks
__________________

iPhone 6, space gray, 64GB, iOS 8.1.2
iPad mini 2, silver, iOS 8.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 12:08 AM   #2
DerekS
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Also, how the hell do you do it since it demands a DVD?
DerekS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 01:08 AM   #3
johto
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland
LOL. Of course Sims 3 will run on any 2012 machine. Its old game!
Have you heard, there are this thing called "external cd/dvd-drive" ?
..or if you dont want to use physical media, you can always use image file.
johto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:20 AM   #4
virginblue4
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekS View Post
Also, how the hell do you do it since it demands a DVD?
Using this magical device known as an external CD/DVD drive....

Quote:
Originally Posted by johto View Post
LOL. Of course Sims 3 will run on any 2012 machine. Its old game!
Have you heard, there are this thing called "external cd/dvd-drive" ?
..or if you dont want to use physical media, you can always use image file.
I know it will run, but will it run well? I know some people with 2011 iMacs and yet it still lags. And with expansion packs planned well into '13, it's not that old.

Has anyone got any useful information? Anyone play it on the new 21.5" iMac?
__________________

iPhone 6, space gray, 64GB, iOS 8.1.2
iPad mini 2, silver, iOS 8.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:36 AM   #5
Adam552
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
It will run well, just depends what settings you pick for it.

I'm guessing it should be easily able to handle high settings however.
Adam552 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:54 AM   #6
Gibsonsoup
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Italy
I think I should run absolutely fine on your machine, It runs smoothly on my 2009 3.06 Ghz iMac and the gameplay is fluid with no lag at all, so you really shouldn't worry. my model has the nvidia geforce card though
__________________
15" AG uMPB - iMac 21.5" - iPhone 5 - iPad2
Gibsonsoup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 01:11 PM   #7
laryenhilllvr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC
not sure if you have visited forum.thesim3.com mac section, if not i would recommend you pay it a visit.

i asked the same thing over there and there was one user that has a 21" (i forget her specs), but she said she had no lagging and the graphics were all on high. she was quite surprised at how drastic the gaming experience was from her mbp. from what i've heard simming through bootcamp is 10x better, but i just can't bring myself to not use the native os.

now to bring balance to the picture there are several very serious errors caused playing the game on mac (many are game ruining ie crashing within a few minutes of play, etc) so i would be careful or at least ready to play via bootcamp if you do play on the imac.
__________________
I'm living the iLife, but it's time to upgrade all my products.
laryenhilllvr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 01:36 PM   #8
AQUADock
macrumors 65816
 
AQUADock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
Using this magical device known as an external CD/DVD drive....



I know it will run, but will it run well? I know some people with 2011 iMacs and yet it still lags. And with expansion packs planned well into '13, it's not that old.

Has anyone got any useful information? Anyone play it on the new 21.5" iMac?
It should run fine but you would have much better performance if you played it in BootCamp as the Mac version is just a windows application running under Cider.
AQUADock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:05 PM   #9
virginblue4
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by laryenhilllvr View Post
not sure if you have visited forum.thesim3.com mac section, if not i would recommend you pay it a visit.

i asked the same thing over there and there was one user that has a 21" (i forget her specs), but she said she had no lagging and the graphics were all on high. she was quite surprised at how drastic the gaming experience was from her mbp. from what i've heard simming through bootcamp is 10x better, but i just can't bring myself to not use the native os.

now to bring balance to the picture there are several very serious errors caused playing the game on mac (many are game ruining ie crashing within a few minutes of play, etc) so i would be careful or at least ready to play via bootcamp if you do play on the imac.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AQUADock View Post
It should run fine but you would have much better performance if you played it in BootCamp as the Mac version is just a windows application running under Cider.
If I begin playing it on OS X and then say 4 months down the line I decide to use Bootcamp, will I being able to transfer all of my saved game data over to Bootcamp or will I have to start fresh?
__________________

iPhone 6, space gray, 64GB, iOS 8.1.2
iPad mini 2, silver, iOS 8.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:35 PM   #10
mslide
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
If I begin playing it on OS X and then say 4 months down the line I decide to use Bootcamp, will I being able to transfer all of my saved game data over to Bootcamp or will I have to start fresh?
It should work fine. I've transferred saves from Windows to Mac.

I agree with playing under bootcamp. The Sims games have always been one of those games that no matter how fast your computer is, it's always somewhat of a pig and cider will just make it that much worse. Don't get me wrong, it will run just fine on your new iMac. Just not as wicked fast as one might expect considering how old the game is and how new your computer is.

Playing under bootcamp also opens up the possibility of playing it under Origin so you don't have to have the DVD loaded while playing it. I was able to register my physical copies of The Sims 3 and add ons with Origin. I was also able to register add ons I purchased through Steam during their Winter sale.

Last edited by mslide; Jan 14, 2013 at 07:44 PM.
mslide is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 27 - SSD (late 2012) vs Fusion (late 2013) jorged iMac 2 Mar 19, 2014 08:35 PM
Using a MacBook Late 2006 as a second monitor for iMac 27" Late 2012? sultanoflondon iMac 5 Jan 19, 2014 02:25 PM
Advice Needed: Repair Late 2009 iMac vs. Buy Late 2012 MacMini AhmedFaisal Buying Tips and Advice 1 Nov 21, 2013 03:39 PM
Late 2012 iMac running warm playing CS:S? themomopan iMac 11 Jan 21, 2013 09:01 PM
Late 2012 mac mini or late 2012 imac? Pianoman0018 iMac 2 Jan 7, 2013 06:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC