Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 15, 2011, 05:43 AM   #1
Dr. McKay
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belgium, Europe
iMac screen going black for no reason

I have an early 2008 iMac (24", 2.8ghz Core2duo, ATI Radeon HD 2600 pro, Snow Leopard).

A couple of weeks ago, my screen went completely black, for no apparent reason. The Mac was still running but because I couldn't see what I was doing anymore, I had to shut it down using the power button and then reboot it again. Everything was fine after that.

The day before yesterday, I was browsing the web with Firefox and it happened again. Same thing yesterday, watching youtube clips in Firefox.

Has anyone experienced this before ? Does this mean my videocard/display is going to die soon ? Should I start worrying ?
Dr. McKay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 07:17 AM   #2
sndeed
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McKay View Post
I have an early 2008 iMac (24", 2.8ghz Core2duo, ATI Radeon HD 2600 pro, Snow Leopard).

A couple of weeks ago, my screen went completely black, for no apparent reason. The Mac was still running but because I couldn't see what I was doing anymore, I had to shut it down using the power button and then reboot it again. Everything was fine after that.

The day before yesterday, I was browsing the web with Firefox and it happened again. Same thing yesterday, watching youtube clips in Firefox.

Has anyone experienced this before ? Does this mean my videocard/display is going to die soon ? Should I start worrying ?
yes I have the same problem with Firefox, just go to 'options' from 'Tools' under 'General' drop off the check from 'use hardware acceleration when available' . I noticed that card graph has problem with Firefox.

please let me know if you feel better because I called the apple about this problem, I have Amd 2 gb I face this problem with win7 but now looks fine
sndeed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 07:37 AM   #3
Dr. McKay
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belgium, Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by sndeed View Post
yes I have the same problem with Firefox, just go to 'options' from 'Tools' under 'General' drop off the check from 'use hardware acceleration when available' . I noticed that card graph has problem with Firefox.

please let me know if you feel better because I called the apple about this problem, I have Amd 2 gb I face this problem with win7 but now looks fine
Thx, I'll give that a try...
Dr. McKay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 05:44 AM   #4
Dr. McKay
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belgium, Europe
Screen didn't go blank yesterday. Maybe disabling hardware acceleration in Firefox really did the trick...
Dr. McKay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 04:39 AM   #5
evildead1971
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
my brother pointed me to this forum after having this issue. i turned off the hardware acceleration for firefox, but had to enable it in Adobe Flash Player for a game. i'll post an update if i still have a problem.
evildead1971 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 05:36 AM   #6
mchoffa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I have an early 2008 24" myself and in the past two months I've had this happen twice and another time the same thing happened but the screens (I've also got an external hooked up) went white instead of black... very frustrating and another reason why I can't wait for the new iMacs to get here

----------

and I do not use firefox by the way... I do however keep chrome (with about 20 tabs), photoshop cs6, safari and a few smaller apps open all day ever day
mchoffa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 05:43 AM   #7
evildead1971
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
mine is a 2010 and in the past several months i've had this issue. i've brought to the apple store twice already. the 2nd time they did replace the logic board and graphics card. an hour later the screen flickered which is an indication that the screen will go. the next day it did several times. i've used the control-shift-eject combo to bring it back and then it does settle.
evildead1971 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 'black screen' Where to go from here? flyinhigh iMac 9 Jan 20, 2014 02:48 PM
New 21.5" iMac screen goes black! marylpn iMac 13 Oct 12, 2013 12:24 AM
Old iMac G5, black screen on startup Flenix iMac 3 Sep 6, 2013 02:25 PM
black screen iMac 21.5 (2010) diddi969 iMac 1 May 16, 2013 09:38 AM
iMac 2008 Black screen lAnthonyl iMac 14 Oct 21, 2012 09:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC