Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 24, 2013, 05:52 AM   #1
Washac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Cannot Install WOW

I know Blizzard no longer support WOW under 10.6 so I thought that's OK I will install it under Mountain Lion, but alas these discs do not work under Mountain Lion.

I assume that Blizzard expect me to buy a new copy so as to run it under Mountain Lion ?

EDIT: OK, forgive my stupidity did not raelise I could do it from my Battlenet account.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Mountain Lion 10.8.3/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; Apr 24, 2013 at 06:08 AM.
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2013, 08:37 AM   #2
pojo1806
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
As you have probably found out by now, you can login on the website and download the client there.
__________________
Mac Mini | AirPort Express | Apple TV 3 | Google Nexus 5 Black | Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7.0 Black | PlayStation 4
pojo1806 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2013, 10:51 AM   #3
phillipduran
macrumors 6502a
 
phillipduran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Iowa
You can also copy the World of Warcraft folder from any current Mac and just fire it up. By current, I mean from a Mac with the same OS version. It can be quicker than redownloading the install.

The wow application is a stand alone install. You just copy the folder over and it works as is. You can even put the WoW folder on an external drive and run it from there. That's an easy way to quickly run WoW on someone elses computer that doesn't have wow installed.

You might want to rename the WTF if you do copy it from another computer. I think that folder contains users accounts info and settings, but it doesn't matter that much. When you login, it will create your information and you cant do much with anyones info other than look at user names and realm locations. Copying someones wow folder will copy chat logs so you'll want to erase those before doing any copying.

Just to point out, there is nothing wrong with copying the files in regards to the license. Your license exists with your account and you can install wow on a 1000 computers if you like, but you still only have one login at a time per paying account.

Battlenet is pretty awesome. Once you register a game to your bnet account, it's there forever. I have WCIII, SCI, WOW, SCII, Diablo II and III. I can redownload them if I travel somewhere and I dont have to worry about losing any disks.
__________________
That's "Geniuses," not Genii, genius.
To err, is PC.
phillipduran is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2013, 11:21 AM   #4
Plutonius
macrumors 68040
 
Plutonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Hampshire
I still run it under 10.6 and will not update till I can't run it anymore.
Plutonius is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC