Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 23, 2013, 02:47 PM   #26
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abdu View Post
Yeah I understood that now. So sauer's comments are wrong that there is a screen that lets geniuses choose which carrier the phone is gonna be locked to?
Correct. Ever stand in line on launch day and they come through asking everyone which phone they want because they have limited supplies?
hexonxonx is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2013, 02:37 AM   #27
rnbgrilla
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Not gonna work. CDMA US iPhone only work abroad.
Verizon Is CDMA & there iphone 5 is GSM unlock, See How Much You Know, But As For Sprint, There Iphone Is Diffrent, or how they run it, in other words, u know what I mean
rnbgrilla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2013, 04:16 PM   #28
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abdu View Post
Yeah I understood that now. So sauer's comments are wrong that there is a screen that lets geniuses choose which carrier the phone is gonna be locked to?
for the 709348549th time, there is a screen where refurb CDMA phones will be prompted to input which carrier the phone is to be used on. there will be a list from everything to Appalacian Wireless all the way down to Verizon and everything in between. The person setting up the phone must select the carrier to which the phone will associate itself with.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
Apple TV 3rd Generation, Apple AirPort Express 2nd Generation
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2013, 04:20 PM   #29
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by dictoresno View Post
for the 709348549th time, there is a screen where refurb CDMA phones will be prompted to input which carrier the phone is to be used on. there will be a list from everything to Appalacian Wireless all the way down to Verizon and everything in between. The person setting up the phone must select the carrier to which the phone will associate itself with.
This might be but it doesn't lock the phone to that carrier. A locked iPhone is already locked to the carrier that you are buying it for. This is why if you stand in line for a phone on launch, when they running low, they do a count and see which phone you want. They won't sell you a Sprint phone if you are buying it for AT&T. The phone is locked to Sprint.

Verizon iPhones will work on AT&T without unlocking however.
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2013, 09:15 PM   #30
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexonxonx View Post
This might be but it doesn't lock the phone to that carrier. A locked iPhone is already locked to the carrier that you are buying it for. This is why if you stand in line for a phone on launch, when they running low, they do a count and see which phone you want. They won't sell you a Sprint phone if you are buying it for AT&T. The phone is locked to Sprint.

Verizon iPhones will work on AT&T without unlocking however.
not sure im understanding you here.

the replacement CDMA devices that come in white boxes are "blanks" and need to be assigned to a carrier upon activating. once assigned to a carrier, this tells the phone which network to consider its "home" or default carrier on which it will be primarily used on. once the carrier settings are downloaded, this will then either lock or unlock the SIM slot.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
Apple TV 3rd Generation, Apple AirPort Express 2nd Generation
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2013, 12:00 AM   #31
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dictoresno View Post
not sure im understanding you here.

the replacement CDMA devices that come in white boxes are "blanks" and need to be assigned to a carrier upon activating. once assigned to a carrier, this tells the phone which network to consider its "home" or default carrier on which it will be primarily used on. once the carrier settings are downloaded, this will then either lock or unlock the SIM slot.
I heard people that got a replacement even though they picked Verizon the phone was still locked to Sprint when they handed in their sprint iphone 5 for replacement.
So not sure even if you mis-select the carrier option it would make any difference on a refurb replacement.
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 11:59 AM   #32
Manfredo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
The iPhone 5 for sprint is indeed locked, but it can be unlocked using a GPP sim. I know because I do it all the time when I buy and sell phones. In fact the GPP sim can do it with any carrier that has a locked 5 on their network. Even if the phone has a bad esn it can be unlocked, yes it's true that it is not unlocked forever and you would have to buy a new sim if you wanted to update... But at least you no longer have to worry about buying an iPhone 5 iPod from a thief for 3-400 bucks and not being able to use it as a phone! Trust me its possible and has been for quite some time

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by travis.hansen View Post
Is this something you are sure of?

----------



I wish I could. I couldn't pay my bill and switched. It's got a bad esn so I'm stuck with the iPhone
The iPhone 5 for sprint is indeed locked, but it can be unlocked using a GPP sim. I know because I do it all the time when I buy and sell phones. In fact the GPP sim can do it with any carrier that has a locked 5 on their network. Even if the phone has a bad esn it can be unlocked, yes it's true that it is not unlocked forever and you would have to buy a new sim if you wanted to update... But at least you no longer have to worry about buying an iPhone 5 iPod from a thief for 3-400 bucks and not being able to use it as a phone! Trust me its possible and has been for quite some time
Manfredo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 02:30 PM   #33
freesimons
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Which GPP works with Iphone5?

[QUOTE=Manfredo;17327991]The iPhone 5 for sprint is indeed locked, but it can be unlocked using a GPP sim. I know because I do it all the time when I buy and sell phones. In fact the GPP sim can do it with any carrier that has a locked 5 on their network. Even if the phone has a bad esn it can be unlocked, yes it's true that it is not unlocked forever and you would have to buy a new sim if you wanted to update... But at least you no longer have to worry about buying an iPhone 5 iPod from a thief for 3-400 bucks and not being able to use it as a phone! Trust me its possible and has been for quite some time

----------

Thanks for the great info guys. Which GPP works for a Sprint iphone 5? Thanks
freesimons is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2013, 11:39 AM   #34
coopmike
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I came across something interesting on T-Mobile's website. http://explore.t-mobile.com/phone-sim-card

I went to get a sim for a relative's AT&T iPhone and "Step 1: Check Your Phone" lists "Apple Sprint iPhone 5" as a compatible device.

Also, the fine print says this...

"Only T-Mobile and AT&T’s iPhones, and Verizon’s & Sprint’s iPhone 5 will work on our network; other iPhones may have limited functionality, including coverage limitations. Capable device required for 4G speeds; capable iPhone may achieve 4G speeds in limited areas. iPhone is a registered trademark of Apple Inc."

Has anything recently changed?

Last edited by coopmike; Jul 20, 2013 at 11:58 AM.
coopmike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2013, 12:10 AM   #35
Minhimalism
macrumors 6502a
 
Minhimalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by coopmike View Post
I came across something interesting on T-Mobile's website. http://explore.t-mobile.com/phone-sim-card

I went to get a sim for a relative's AT&T iPhone and "Step 1: Check Your Phone" lists "Apple Sprint iPhone 5" as a compatible device.

Also, the fine print says this...

"Only T-Mobile and AT&Tís iPhones, and Verizonís & Sprintís iPhone 5 will work on our network; other iPhones may have limited functionality, including coverage limitations. Capable device required for 4G speeds; capable iPhone may achieve 4G speeds in limited areas. iPhone is a registered trademark of Apple Inc."

Has anything recently changed?
That's just a slight mishap on T-Mobile's part. The Sprint iPhone 5 has not and will not (probably ever) work on T-Mobile or any other domestic GSM network.
__________________
White iPhone 5; 2013 13" MacBook Air
Twitter Instagram Flickr deviantART
Minhimalism is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2013, 02:03 AM   #36
ogremoustro
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minhimalism View Post
That's just a slight mishap on T-Mobile's part. The Sprint iPhone 5 has not and will not (probably ever) work on T-Mobile or any other domestic GSM network.
Well it will and it does if you have a GPP.
__________________
 2011 MacBook Pro 15" with dead dGPU
iPhone 4S 16GB
iPhone 5S 32GB
ogremoustro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2013, 09:22 AM   #37
coopmike
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minhimalism View Post
That's just a slight mishap on T-Mobile's part. The Sprint iPhone 5 has not and will not (probably ever) work on T-Mobile or any other domestic GSM network.
That's what I thought but it gives one some recourse to try it and get a full refund if it doesn't work. I just found it strange that they only called out Sprint's iPhone 5.

I've read all the "you're screwed" posts about the Sprint iPhones but was hoping to get a TMobile employee to poke around and see how/why it showed in two different places.

My SERO iPhone is killing me. Nothing says 2013 like 31 Kbps down and 1.4 Kbps up. I get home from work before google maps traffic loads.

After using a relative's 4s for few days on the new AT&T $60 prepaid, I'm ditching my beloved SERO plan come October 7 (or whenever we all ordered the 4s on Sprint) for something else... TMobile, Verizon, AT&T?

I'm switching back to my Sprint 4s today and selling my iPhone 5 now. Tmobile has/had a $.99 sim sale so I'm going to try a new line based on their info. It's going to fail but I'm in a place where I call try without worry.

Good luck everybody.
coopmike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2013, 09:33 AM   #38
Minhimalism
macrumors 6502a
 
Minhimalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogremoustro View Post
Well it will and it does if you have a GPP.
Ahh well I was referring to an actual unlock that wasn't relying on a Gevey, because that's not what I thought OP wanted. Sorry, my bad.
__________________
White iPhone 5; 2013 13" MacBook Air
Twitter Instagram Flickr deviantART
Minhimalism is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2013, 12:10 PM   #39
pdawg17
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Is this the correct GPP to order if I have a Sprint iPhone 4S and want to use it on T-Mobile?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/GPP-Ultra-Ca...item3a834afaa8
pdawg17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2013, 03:52 PM   #40
Dontazemebro
macrumors 68000
 
Dontazemebro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: I dunno, somewhere in West Texas
Unlocking Sprint iPhone 5 for T-Mobile?

How different is this GPP sim unlock to a regular unlock if I want to unlock my 5 and sell it on eBay as an unlocked iPhone?

Should I be listing it as a GPP sim unlock? Does it make a difference ?

BTW I'm also locked down to Sprint's crappy network.
__________________
32GB Gold iPhone 5s - Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Quad core i7 Sony Vaio - 16GB Nexus 7 - Chromecast - AirPort Express
Dontazemebro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2013, 07:28 PM   #41
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dontazemebro View Post
How different is this GPP sim unlock to a regular unlock if I want to unlock my 5 and sell it on eBay as an unlocked iPhone?

Should I be listing it as a GPP sim unlock? Does it make a difference ?

BTW I'm also locked down to Sprint's crappy network.
It makes a big difference.
Make sure you say you're providing a sim adapter for the unlock since the phone is not unlocked.
If you don't then the buyer will just file a claim with eBay and you won't get paid.
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unlocking Sprint iPhone 4s for international use trixr4kidz iPhone 7 Dec 5, 2013 10:51 AM
iPhone: How would i go about unlocking a Sprint iphone 4s ? cymolia Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Nov 25, 2013 09:27 PM
Sprint iphone 5 unlocking trouble Josethegreat iPhone 3 Oct 30, 2013 01:35 AM
sprint iphone 5 unlocking trungthiendo iPhone 0 Oct 3, 2012 05:51 PM
Unlocking sprint iPhone 4s... Is it possible? Fishnyc iPhone 0 Sep 17, 2012 07:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC