Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:39 PM   #1
danistyping
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boston, MA
2012 13" MBA Secondary Monitor Fullscreen question

I just got a 24" Dell IPS display to use with my 2012 13" i7 MBA. It's awesome.

So here's my question/issue. I need to use this as a second display, not mirrored. When I do this, I want to full screen Safari and many other apps. When I click full screen, it goes full screen on my MBA screen, NOT the external Dell display. No matter what I do, I get the grey background pattern on the dell and the full screened app on the MBA.

WHY? It's seriously pissing me off. There doesn't seem to be a way around it unless you mirror, which is not what I need the monitor for. I hope that you guys know of one. It's probably right in front of my face.....

Any insight here is greatly appreciated.
danistyping is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 11:24 AM   #2
jttwm23
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by danistyping View Post
I just got a 24" Dell IPS display to use with my 2012 13" i7 MBA. It's awesome.

So here's my question/issue. I need to use this as a second display, not mirrored. When I do this, I want to full screen Safari and many other apps. When I click full screen, it goes full screen on my MBA screen, NOT the external Dell display. No matter what I do, I get the grey background pattern on the dell and the full screened app on the MBA.

WHY? It's seriously pissing me off. There doesn't seem to be a way around it unless you mirror, which is not what I need the monitor for. I hope that you guys know of one. It's probably right in front of my face.....

Any insight here is greatly appreciated.

Hi,

Try this, and let me know if it works. I'm having secondary monitor issues as well. when you are at the display arrangement window, you can actually move the menu bar from the macbook display to your dell display. This probably turns the dell display into the primary display. It might work, let me know how it goes.

jttwm23
jttwm23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 02:42 PM   #3
Boyd01
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey Pine Barrens
I think that's how it works. I have a 13" 2011 MBA and use an old 23" Apple Cinema Display (1920x1200). I have the menu bar on the external screen and fullscreen programs such as Safari and Logic work as expected (they fill the external screen).
Boyd01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 03:06 PM   #4
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
You need to move the menu bar as previous stated.

This is what annoyed me when Apple removed Spaces and introduced this "full screen" option. Multi-monitor support went out the window.
__________________
Mac Pro | Mac mini | 15" MacBook Pro | iPad Air | iPhone 6
alphaod is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 06:31 PM   #5
Boyd01
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey Pine Barrens
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
This is what annoyed me when Apple removed Spaces and introduced this "full screen" option.
I always figured that was a "Windows thing" that Apple copied, along with being able to resize windows by dragging the edges.
Boyd01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2013, 05:15 AM   #6
Spoonz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
As others have stated, dragging the menubar to the external display will allow you to fullscreen, but I don't see this as a solution since your primary display will just show the grey gradient.

Apple still haven't offered a work-around for this, and the long and short of it is basically that you can't fullscreen anything without making one of your displays useless. The best you can manage is resizing any apps you're using to fill the screen space - bye bye to gesture swiping through your running programs I'm afraid.
Spoonz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 09:38 AM   #7
PBG4 Dude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoonz View Post
As others have stated, dragging the menubar to the external display will allow you to fullscreen, but I don't see this as a solution since your primary display will just show the grey gradient.

Apple still haven't offered a work-around for this, and the long and short of it is basically that you can't fullscreen anything without making one of your displays useless. The best you can manage is resizing any apps you're using to fill the screen space - bye bye to gesture swiping through your running programs I'm afraid.
Actually, if you set up multiple desktops and run programs in "almost full screen", swiping between desktops will swipe both screens, in effect giving you two desktops per swipe.

This should've been fixed for Mountain Lion though, since people started complaining about it in Lion.
PBG4 Dude is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBA 2012 13" Trackpad question vjicecool MacBook Air 2 Mar 22, 2014 12:21 PM
Question about secondary monitor and 15 rMBP?!? jomirrivera MacBook Pro 5 Jan 19, 2014 10:45 PM
2012 MBA 13" & LG IPS234 monitor SoIsays MacBook Air 7 May 27, 2013 05:58 PM
2012 Base 13" MBA with 128SSD Question Wicked1 MacBook Air 6 Jul 20, 2012 01:06 PM
MBA 2012 and Iiyama 27" monitor OceanFrog MacBook Air 11 Jul 5, 2012 12:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC