Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 12, 2014, 12:24 AM   #1
808?
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Adium > yahoo connection issues

Neither of my Macs (10.8.5) can connect to yahoo messenger via the Adium client for the last few days, yet the official client can now after 3 days finally connect to yahoo messenger on my macs and iPhone.

I have cleared caches, reset passwords, downloaded and reinstalled desktop and iPhone official clients and desktop Adium.

Is there any updated login server tweaks I can try with Adium?

Servers: scs.msg.yahoo.com, scsa.msg.yahoo.com, scsb.msg.yahoo.com, scsc.msg.yahoo.com
Port: 20, 23, 25, 80, 119, 5050, 8001, 8002

Last edited by 808?; Mar 12, 2014 at 12:41 AM.
808? is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2014, 11:37 AM   #2
zmunkz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
same

Same problem started for me yesterday, and Adium sits at 150% cpu utilization while it tries to connect. Haven't found a solution yet, but in any event, good to know it is not just me.
__________________
People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do. --Asimov
zmunkz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2014, 12:07 PM   #3
808?
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmunkz View Post
Same problem started for me yesterday, and Adium sits at 150% cpu utilization while it tries to connect. Haven't found a solution yet, but in any event, good to know it is not just me.
Yes, Adium is doing crazy stuff to my CPU also, i was up to 175% at one stage.

Something is really puzzling, as I haven't changed anything previously to this.
808? is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2014, 12:31 PM   #4
zmunkz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
working again

No idea if I fixed it, or if I just waisted enough time trying things that it fixed itself (I am guessing the latter case), but I did this:

1. Opened Adium, disable all the accounts, quit
2. Installed Jitsi, re-configured the accounts (login worked), quit jitsi
3. Opened Adium, enabled the accounts one at a time, it worked

So I am connected again finally.
__________________
People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do. --Asimov
zmunkz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2014, 08:38 PM   #5
808?
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmunkz View Post
No idea if I fixed it, or if I just waisted enough time trying things that it fixed itself (I am guessing the latter case), but I did this:

1. Opened Adium, disable all the accounts, quit
2. Installed Jitsi, re-configured the accounts (login worked), quit jitsi
3. Opened Adium, enabled the accounts one at a time, it worked

So I am connected again finally.
Thanks for this, did what you tried and it seemed to work for me also, but I had to wait overnight to login again via Adium.
808? is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connection Issues DarkCole iOS 7 0 Oct 12, 2013 07:42 PM
Apple Mail-Yahoo IMAP-sent items sync issues KML2076 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Sep 6, 2013 03:01 PM
iPhone: Connection issues rtk86 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 10, 2013 06:12 PM
Yahoo IM issues trlyka MacBook Pro 3 Aug 18, 2012 10:34 PM
Wi-Fi Connection Issues AFPoster OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jul 27, 2012 10:40 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC