Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 15, 2013, 09:20 AM   #1
mrknight13
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Mac Pro Wireless Signal Issues

Hello,

I'm running an A1289 (bought late 2011) Mac Pro 2.8qcx, 12g Ram, 2tb hard drive with BT infinity ISP.

The problem is that the wireless speed on the machine is anywhere between 0.8mbps and 9mpbs. Whereas if I put my early 2009 macbook in exactly the same position, or even further away, I can get speeds between 30 - 40mbps.

The router is about 18 feet (5.5 metres) away and doesn't pass through any walls, just through one open door.

Does anyone have any suggestion to improve the signal strength?

Many thanks in advance.
mrknight13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 11:39 AM   #2
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
The Mac Pro antennas are inside the metal box, so most folks use a USB dongle for things like Bluetooth and wifi.

Is there no practical way you can use a wired connection for the Mac Pro?

Last edited by DanielCoffey; Mar 15, 2013 at 11:40 AM. Reason: typo
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 11:45 AM   #3
mrknight13
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielCoffey View Post
The Mac Pro antennas are inside the metal box, so most folks use a USB dongle for things like Bluetooth and wifi.

Is there no practical way you can use a wired connection for the Mac Pro?
No practical way I can do it permanently, I suppose I could it when downloading and uploading big files.

I was hoping that there might be a replacement airport that would improve things but I will look into a wifi dongle.

Very frustrating this expensive beast of a machine can't compete with a half dead 2009 macbook when it comes to wifi signal.

Thanks.
mrknight13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 11:52 AM   #4
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
It is just where the antenna is positioned inside the case. The assumption was that you would wire the MP workstation into the network.

Can you use a second wifi router with decent external antennas as an Access Point and wire the MP directly into that?
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 11:57 AM   #5
mrknight13
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Does anyone have a suggestion for the best mac compatible wifi dongle?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielCoffey View Post
It is just where the antenna is positioned inside the case. The assumption was that you would wire the MP workstation into the network.

Can you use a second wifi router with decent external antennas as an Access Point and wire the MP directly into that?
That's a good idea, thanks.
mrknight13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 10:19 PM   #6
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Try OWC. They have a wide selection of nice USB dongles to choose from. Right now I am using a Bluetooth 3.0 USB Adapter as 2.1 is slower and for some reason my magic mouse keeps losing connection and reconnects. This fixed my problem.

I am not going to go inside my Mac Pro and do some serious re-wring and or re-positioning of the internal antennas. The bluetooth 3.0 usb adapter works great.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrknight13 View Post
Does anyone have a suggestion for the best mac compatible wifi dongle?

----------



That's a good idea, thanks.
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 02:42 AM   #7
dmax35
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I bought a couple of adapters from Best Buy and they worked great, plug and play.

Rocketfish™ - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
Model: RF-MRBTAD | SKU: 8820886
__________________
(2) 3.5 GHz New Mac Pro 6 Core - (3) Macbook Pro's- iPad Air x 3,i,ATV3. Beech King Air 350,P645+ Phase One IQ280, Nikon D800E, .
dmax35 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 08:40 AM   #8
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Mrknight13 is asking about wifi rather than bluetooth. Any recommendations for wifi dongles if they don't want to use a second router?
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:32 AM   #9
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
The wireless card/antenna in the Pro is certainly junk. I had the same problem and went with a Premiertek PL-18N USB adapter from Newegg for 40 USD. The thing is huge and picks up every network in the neighborhood! The only issue I had is that it took Ralink (the chipset manufacturer) forever to update the driver when 10.8 was released. The current drivers come fro Ralink, not Premiertek.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:34 AM   #10
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Is the rocketfish a bluetooth 3.0 or 2.1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax35 View Post
I bought a couple of adapters from Best Buy and they worked great, plug and play.

Rocketfish™ - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
Model: RF-MRBTAD | SKU: 8820886
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:11 AM   #11
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
The Airport Express is $69 on the refurbished pages at the Apple online store. I am pretty sure (but double check before committing to the purchase) that it can be set up as WiFi extender. Just plug it into a power source near the Mac Pro, and connect it with an ethernet.

I think that this will work, but perhaps others can chime in.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 12:16 PM   #12
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by snberk103 View Post
The Airport Express is $69 on the refurbished pages at the Apple online store. I am pretty sure (but double check before committing to the purchase) that it can be set up as WiFi extender. Just plug it into a power source near the Mac Pro, and connect it with an ethernet.

I think that this will work, but perhaps others can chime in.
I tried Airport Express extenders too. They helped some, but I'm telling you guys, that Premiertek PL18N is unreal. Mine is the old version. I can't imagine what the updated one will do. They list it as having up to a 2000 meter range.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 12:20 PM   #13
fungus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: @unclefungus
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrknight13 View Post
...Does anyone have any suggestion to improve the signal strength?...
There are a few settings you can tweak that don't involve buying new equipment. The one that worked for me was to go into Airport Utility, select your router, then click edit>Wireless tab>Wireless Options...>Radio Channel and choose a different one. I had to toggle between 10 and 11 a couple of times, but I haven't had any problems in a while (working fine on channel 11 now). It all depends on your particular environment. Give it a shot before investing in a new antenna, and try searching the web for other ideas. Creating a new network location is one, setting the MTU manually under the hardware tab in Network>Wifi>Advanced is another, but neither of those worked for me.

If you can't get it sorted tweaking these settings, another hardware option would be to try a powerline adapter. These allow you to create a wired ethernet network using your existing home electrical wiring. I had planned to order this: http://www.amazon.com/Livewire-Power.../dp/B003VWY0VY if the channel toggle hadn't worked.
fungus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 01:01 PM   #14
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fungus View Post
There are a few settings you can tweak that don't involve buying new equipment. The one that worked for me was to go into Airport Utility, select your router, then click edit>Wireless tab>Wireless Options...>Radio Channel and choose a different one. I had to toggle between 10 and 11 a couple of times, but I haven't had any problems in a while (working fine on channel 11 now). It all depends on your particular environment. Give it a shot before investing in a new antenna, and try searching the web for other ideas. Creating a new network location is one, setting the MTU manually under the hardware tab in Network>Wifi>Advanced is another, but neither of those worked for me.

If you can't get it sorted tweaking these settings, another hardware option would be to try a powerline adapter. These allow you to create a wired ethernet network using your existing home electrical wiring. I had planned to order this: http://www.amazon.com/Livewire-Power.../dp/B003VWY0VY if the channel toggle hadn't worked.
Changing channels is only going to help if slow speeds are due to interference from a close by network on the same or adjacent channel. The problem with the Mac Pro is definitely hardware related. The included adapter on certain models just plain stinks.

Powerline adapters may, or may not, help, depending on the age/type of household wiring. In my house, built in the mid 60's, the one I tried didn't help at all. Just try the one I suggested (PL-18N) for 35 bucks on sale now at Newegg. If you're lucky, you'll pick up intergalactic communications with it.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 06:36 AM   #15
dmax35
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
Is the rocketfish a bluetooth 3.0 or 2.1?
It's 2.1
__________________
(2) 3.5 GHz New Mac Pro 6 Core - (3) Macbook Pro's- iPad Air x 3,i,ATV3. Beech King Air 350,P645+ Phase One IQ280, Nikon D800E, .
dmax35 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Pro could be 4K, and wireless monitor for Mac Pro booyahbooyah Mac Pro 25 Jun 11, 2014 04:16 PM
Mac Pro 1,1 - No signal gnuman Mac Pro 0 May 16, 2014 05:14 PM
Printing from pro to dell 1760 wireless issues bodtwo MacBook Pro 0 Dec 18, 2013 04:20 PM
Wireless Issues - MacBook Pro Classic (Mid 2012) Elmzeh MacBook Pro 2 Feb 4, 2013 09:20 AM
iPhone: HELP - AT&T Signal Issues HiDEF Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Aug 8, 2012 08:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC