Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 1, 2013, 06:13 AM   #101
bcc2k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
I wouldn't return the air just because of this small issue. This is almost certain a software issue, that will get fixed soon and if by any chance, this would really be an hardware issue then Apple would have to replace your air.
So lay back and leave the work to Apple and enjoy your new Air
bcc2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 08:06 AM   #102
szw-mapple fan
macrumors 6502a
 
szw-mapple fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithrh View Post
Protip: use caution when posting half-asleep. Consider not posting at all. If posting, have something cogent to say.
Thanks for the advice...
szw-mapple fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 10:02 AM   #103
NotHappyUser
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcc2k View Post
I wouldn't return the air just because of this small issue. This is almost certain a software issue, that will get fixed soon and if by any chance, this would really be an hardware issue then Apple would have to replace your air.
So lay back and leave the work to Apple and enjoy your new Air
It's hard to enjoy a laptop when it kicks you offline every 20 minutes
NotHappyUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 12:27 PM   #104
bedifferent
macrumors Demi-God
 
bedifferent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cjm1 View Post
Same with IOS 7. Cant descirbe how good the battery life is on my iPhone 5 now that i downloaded the Beta. No way am i downgrading to IOS 6 until the golden master of IOS 7 comes out. Have to put 6 along with IOS 4 as my least favourite IOS's
I really like the new system functions that many smart phone's have had for a while finally making it's way to iOS. A lot of the jailbreak app's I used are no longer necessary as they're built it. My only issue is the GUI. I hated the skeuomorphism, and I liked what I saw at the keynote, but having used it on a number of devices, many changes in the GUI have made it more difficult to navigate. I'm hoping the next few months will produce improvements, I've filed enough bugs already.
__________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
Arthur C. Clarke
bedifferent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 03:42 AM   #105
Jedi Master
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: ar the moment on the Death Star
Ethernet

Quote:
Originally Posted by NotHappyUser View Post
It's hard to enjoy a laptop when it kicks you offline every 20 minutes

Yes it would, if big enough issue attach via Ethernet cable till resolve. Might be even easier than returning and far easier then returning and buying a windows machine. It may be a few months before the Haswell pro's are released.

Only you know which choice is best for use.

Personally I'd get a Ethernet cable.

Jed
Jedi Master is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 08:32 PM   #106
bryanj030
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveJobs2.0 View Post
I still need to take my iMac in for a stuck cd lol
try restarting your computer while holding down the left mouse button.

----------

I recently bought the 13" Haswell and I have no problems with the wifi. I also have the new apple time machine as well. I did have a problem with the iphone 5 and an old router but when I swapped it out for an apple extreme I had no issues with it after that. I think it might have been due to an odd encryption that isn't really used that much. I forget what it was called though.
bryanj030 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 12:13 AM   #107
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedifferent View Post
It seems this is more in relation to the ac protocol as well, of which I use through a new Extreme and MacBook Air. No issues on my end, however that means nothing if it is widely spread. I have noticed the new Extreme router improved my 2.4 and 5 GHz networks over N tremendously. Hmmm.
I just replaced my old AEBS with the new AC version and my 2013 MBA is connected to it at n speed, not ac speed. There are other n devices on the AEBS-AC, so does the AEBS-AC throttle down, thus explaining why my MBA is only at n speed?
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 07:00 AM   #108
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
I just replaced my old AEBS with the new AC version and my 2013 MBA is connected to it at n speed, not ac speed. There are other n devices on the AEBS-AC, so does the AEBS-AC throttle down, thus explaining why my MBA is only at n speed?
No, I have a 2013 MBA connected to a new Time Capsule at AC at the same time as other N devices and the MBA stays connected and works at AC speeds. The N devices do not make the MBA drop back to N for me.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 09:20 AM   #109
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Well, I just rebooted my MBA this morning and now it says it's using ac, so that problem is resolved. However, now I need to get my Airport Express set up with the new AEBS-AC...
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 12:43 PM   #110
bedifferent
macrumors Demi-God
 
bedifferent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
Well, I just rebooted my MBA this morning and now it says it's using ac, so that problem is resolved. However, now I need to get my Airport Express set up with the new AEBS-AC...
I believe routers are not impaired by b/g devices for a few years now. At one time, b/g devices connected to first gen N routers forced it into b/g speed for the entire network. Quickly, newer N routers rectified this issue with improved antennas, etc. Newer tech allows older devices to connect without degrading faster N or ac speeds.

On extending your network, I did the same. I'm using the 2011 5th gen Airport Extreme Base Station that the 2013 replaced to extend my 2.4 and 5GHz network. Normally I set DHCP reservations on my router for all devices (especially servers) to ensure devices don't fight over local IP's and server IP's remain static for VPN and local access. However, in a 2+ setup with extenders, devices need to be able to connect to the router with the best signal. If I force all devices to the main router, it defeats the purpose of the 2nd router extending my wireless network. I posted a thread about it here, was a long day and working in telecommunications I should know this, but I flaked and posted a thread here to ensure I wasn't being too blond that day lol:

Set DHCP Reservations w/ 2 routers to extend WiFi or counterproductive?

Hope this helps, and glad you got ac working.
__________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
Arthur C. Clarke
bedifferent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2013, 09:04 PM   #111
PPFee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedifferent View Post
I gotta say, without breaking my NDA - much, 10.9 has remedied any WiFi issues that plagued my current generation Mac Pro, MacBook Air, Mac Mini and 2011 iMac. I'm surprised Apple doesn't utilize whatever resolved software developed in 10.8 updates, the infrastructure is set and if it is in testing stages could easily be implemented.

It seems this is more in relation to the ac protocol as well, of which I use through a new Extreme and MacBook Air. No issues on my end, however that means nothing if it is widely spread. I have noticed the new Extreme router improved my 2.4 and 5 GHz networks over N tremendously. Hmmm.
I'm still having an issue on my 2011 MacBook Air
On Mavericks over Wi-Fi, it mostly tends to be upon startup or occasionally upon freshly opening safari after waking the computer and it just won't load pages or simply loads them in a text only way with odd formatting like you would expect on a windows mobile device of old, it's certainly not a bandwidth issue as that much is instantly verified with my phone or iPad. Might be worth a fresh install of mavericks to see though.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by name99 View Post
So you're both:
(a) pissed off that Apple won't fix hard-to-reproduce bugs. (I, for example, have multiple Macs and have no idea what you're talking about with this Spotlight re-indexing bug) AND
(b) pissed off when Apple actually DID try to fix these bugs by contacting you?

All right then...
Maybe my understanding of Indexing is incorrect, I've no issue prefacing with that, but the "issue" he refers to I believe to be simply the computer re-indexing the hard drive upon restarting. Based on what indexing is and does this seems like an obvious necessity. As more files are added the index needs to be adjusted/verified and should not be an issue that takes much time as is the case when you say do a restore or fresh install and add many files at once.
PPFee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2013, 03:54 PM   #112
raducanmihai
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Romania
Send a message via Skype™ to raducanmihai
Just to be sure it is not a hardware issue: did anyone tried Windows in bootcamp to see if the wifi problem is still there?
raducanmihai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 07:48 PM   #113
Mznr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Looks like they've perhaps solved it?

Just had a chat with an Apple sales over their site, and he pointed me to the following URL

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4611

Mznr
Mznr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2013, 02:36 AM   #114
yellowplum
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mznr View Post
Just had a chat with an Apple sales over their site, and he pointed me to the following URL

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4611

Mznr
That didn't work for me, it just said 'this software is not supported on your system'
yellowplum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2013, 08:24 AM   #115
blitzer09x87
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2013
thankgod i dont have any wifi issues. appe should be worried about the AC issues.
blitzer09x87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2013, 09:18 AM   #116
yellowplum
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I do wonder if it may be connected to the previous version of routers/access points that I have in the house.

Maybe having an AC AP would mean that it would not have these issues.
yellowplum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2013, 07:46 PM   #117
AidenShaw
macrumors G5
 
AidenShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The Peninsula
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowplum View Post
I do wonder if it may be connected to the previous version of routers/access points that I have in the house.

Maybe having an AC AP would mean that it would not have these issues.
How clever of Apple to sell computers that have "issues" with your network - until you replace it with the latest Apple network gear.

I don't think that "interoperability" is in the Cupertino dictionary.
__________________
6 October 2014 - the day that the debate about marriage equality ended. And equality prevailed.
AidenShaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2013, 03:12 AM   #118
yellowplum
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
To be honest, I do have three wireless AP points in the house. One is very old one is from the ISP and the other is a newer N. I haven't connected to the N yet.

I was toying with the idea of replacing them with a AC one (not apple - and I didn't think apple made them)

As I said, it was just a thought the issue could be that.
yellowplum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2013, 07:39 PM   #119
bwat47
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
The new driver fixes connection issues for some people but has a pretty severe regression causes very high latency/jitter for many users (even pinging local router gateway wildy fluctuates between 30-150ms ping. many,many other posts in the apple forums verify this too. As soon as I manually downgraded the driver everything started working well again and latency is now 1-3ms to the router as expected.

Right now there's two options: The original driver which seems to work perfectly for some, but seems to have connection issues to certain AP's, but always has stable latency, or the updated driver which has less connection issues but awful, awful latency and jitter. I really hope they release another update that fixes these issues properly... I really love my new macbook air aside from this issue, I had hopes moving to apple would avoid these types of issues :/

Last edited by bwat47; Oct 1, 2013 at 07:46 PM.
bwat47 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2013, 04:34 AM   #120
celo48
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
This is stupid. I just bought a Macbook Air and having problems. I am on 10.9.1.

My Macbook Pro (2010) works much better.


-MacBook-Pro:~ cg$ ping 192.168.1.1

PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1): 56 data bytes

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=3.925 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.677 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=3.739 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=1.154 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=2.619 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=1.300 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=3.798 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=1.623 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=1.765 ms



MacBook-Air:~ cg$ ping 192.168.1.1

PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1): 56 data bytes

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=1.574 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.121 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=1.005 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=2.116 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=23.208 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=1.206 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=17.562 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=40.562 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=3.748 ms
celo48 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Releases EFI Firmware Update 2.7 for Mid-2013 MacBook Air MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 17 Oct 11, 2013 06:38 AM
Apple Releases EFI Update for New Late 2013 iMac Models to Address Boot Camp Install Issues MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 9 Sep 25, 2013 07:56 AM
Apple Releases MacBook Air Software Update to Fix Photoshop Screen Flickering and Wi-Fi Connection Issues MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 50 Jul 22, 2013 05:55 PM
Apple to Update MacBook Pro and MacBook Air in June 2013 with New Processors, All Retina? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 436 Jul 15, 2013 01:38 PM
Apple Issues SMC Firmware Update for MacBook, MacBook Pro, and MacBook Air Models MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 78 Mar 23, 2013 11:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC