Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2013, 11:33 AM   #1
Bk800
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago
 
see vendor information in user profile
HDMI for ATV

I need some suggestions I recently got an ATV for my main TV, but became disappointed with the lack of content, I replaced the ATV with the Roku and moved the ATV to my iMac, only to discover that the regular HDMI cable will not fit the iMac, my question what kind of HDIM cable will fit the ATV and the iMac?
Thanks for your help

Last edited by Bk800; Feb 7, 2013 at 11:35 AM. Reason: Spelling
Bk800 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 11:52 AM   #2
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bk800 View Post
I need some suggestions I recently got an ATV for my main TV, but became disappointed with the lack of content, I replaced the ATV with the Roku and moved the ATV to my iMac, only to discover that the regular HDMI cable will not fit the iMac, my question what kind of HDIM cable will fit the ATV and the iMac?
Thanks for your help
As far as I am aware no iMacs have ever had HDMI ports. They have Mini displayports on the 2009 and 2010 and Thunderbolt ports on the 2011 and 2012....

Sorry, I don't think you can do what you want to do unless you can find some converter (and most likely will be very expensive).
__________________
MBP 8,2 15" 2.2Ghz w/ 120GB SSD + 500GB
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 12:03 PM   #3
CaptTCS
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Why would you want to use the ATV on the iMac, anyway? Don't you have iTunes?
CaptTCS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 12:14 PM   #4
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bk800 View Post
I need some suggestions I recently got an ATV for my main TV, but became disappointed with the lack of content, I replaced the ATV with the Roku and moved the ATV to my iMac, only to discover that the regular HDMI cable will not fit the iMac, my question what kind of HDIM cable will fit the ATV and the iMac?
Thanks for your help
Yeah, not quite sure what you are trying to accomplish. The aTV does not feed the iMac. The iMac (iTunes) feeds the aTV.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; AppleTV 3; iPad 2, 32GB; 2TB Time Capsule (RIP 9/12); AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; AE; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 12:57 PM   #5
Bk800
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago
 
see vendor information in user profile
HDMI cable foe ATV

Hi all, thanks for all the information, I just had a quick conversation with an Apple representative and they confirmed that the ATV can't be used on my iMac, it's use is only for a TV, so now I need to decide on keeping it or selling it, the thought did hit me on hooking it up on another TV, but I am so impressed with the Roku, that I was thinking about getting one for the other TV as well O well, again thanks for the information
Bk800 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 08:43 PM   #6
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bk800 View Post
Hi all, thanks for all the information, I just had a quick conversation with an Apple representative and they confirmed that the ATV can't be used on my iMac, it's use is only for a TV, so now I need to decide on keeping it or selling it, the thought did hit me on hooking it up on another TV, but I am so impressed with the Roku, that I was thinking about getting one for the other TV as well O well, again thanks for the information
if u have a 2011+ 27" i heard you can connect to any device via Mini Displayport>hdmi adapter
WhiteIphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 09:43 PM   #7
jtara
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
He's trying to go the other way, I gather. He wants to display ATV output on the iMac.

You can do that. You don't need a cable. Update to the latest firmware, and if you have Mountain Lion, you can Airplay from the ATV to your iMac.
jtara is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC