Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 6, 2012, 08:12 AM   #1
MightyWhite
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Oxford UK
Question 2012 27" iMac Ram

Hello...

Crucial has ram for the new iMacs and I plan on getting a 27" so while I am waiting I will order some ram and the trackpad (Get the mouse with the computer)

My question is as it comes with 2 X 4gb sticks... options:

1) buy 2 X 4gb to total = 16gb (with the 2X4 in there)
2) Buy 2 X 8gb to total = 16gb So I can add up to 32 at a later date...

My question is if I get 2 X 8gb can this go in with the 2 X 4gb to total 24gb?
Can I buy just 1 8gb stick for now to total 16gb

I heard its not great to have different RAM sizes but I have searched and cant find a difinitive answer and you guys seem a lot more savvy than me...

Cheers
__________________
iPad 2 32gb wifi 3G iPhone 4s 16gb TV3 iMac 27" 2012 3.2 i5 1TB Fusion GTX680MX

Last edited by MightyWhite; Nov 6, 2012 at 08:20 AM.
MightyWhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 08:20 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
I upgraded my 2011 27" from 8GB ( I took it up at purchase date due to a deal) to 16GB by adding in 2 more 4GB sticks from Crucial. Since the new stock Imacs come with 8GB already, 2X4GB sticks should be enough. I can't see you needing more than that really, I do a lot of video and photographic work on my ( I7 3.4GHZ 2GB VRAM) iMac, and it never pages out at all. The only app that really does use all the RAM and all the VRAM is X-Plane, but that eats all the available resources anyway.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 08:30 AM   #3
AcesHigh87
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
It's only really bad to have different RAM sizes if you mess with the dual channel. So long as the 2 8GB sticks are next to each other horizontally 24GB will be no problem at all.

I'm no expert on the matter but from everything I've heard this is the case. At the very least, even if somehow I'm wrong, the extra 8GB would more than make-up for the loss in power from messing with the amounts.

But yeah, from what I know, you'd be fine to add 16GB to the 8 already present.
__________________
21.5" iMac (Mid 2011), 2.8GHz i7, 20GB of RAM, 1TB HDD | 13" macbook (Early 2008), 2.4 GHz C2D, 2GB RAM, 60GB G-Skill SSD | 16GB iPhone 5S | Apple TV | 16GB iPod nano (7th Gen)
AcesHigh87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 08:48 AM   #4
MightyWhite
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Oxford UK
Thanks Both

I will just go for 2 X 4gb - I will not be doing too much other that the usual so no point spending the cash on overkill.

Cheers
__________________
iPad 2 32gb wifi 3G iPhone 4s 16gb TV3 iMac 27" 2012 3.2 i5 1TB Fusion GTX680MX
MightyWhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 27" Late 2012 -- Can I use July 2012 Macbook Pro RAM? Reg88 iMac 3 Apr 18, 2013 04:23 PM
iMac 2012 27" RAM, which one from Best Buy? Adamx iMac 13 Jan 11, 2013 06:00 PM
Adding RAM to 2012 27" iMac chaseardoin7 iMac 5 Dec 2, 2012 02:56 PM
27" late 2012 iMac RAM Scottuary iMac 2 Nov 19, 2012 01:09 PM
2012 27" iMac RAM compartment garrize iMac 2 Nov 6, 2012 09:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC