Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 28, 2013, 10:52 AM   #26
Mac32
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
No, Crysis and Warhead will still occationally struggle when maxed out in 1440p (with antialiasing off) using the 680MX. In certain demanding places the framerate will go down to <25 fps sometimes, even when using an aggressive overclock. (I've modded those games though.) Warhead is pretty brutal on the gfx card, I wonder if it's poorly optimised..

Yes, and 680MX when overclocked can perform better than GTX670 at stock speed, at least according to 3d mark11. But, one can obviously also overclock the GTX670...

OSX is not really an option if you care about proper framerate performance in games overall. Bootcamp is the way to go.

Last edited by Mac32; Aug 28, 2013 at 04:12 PM.
Mac32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2013, 01:39 PM   #27
akm3
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by KimJongEun View Post
Skyrim plays beautifully at native resolution on my 2011 iMac with the 6970m card.

The 680mx will destroy it
It also plays beautifully at native rez on my iMac with the 5xxx series card. I don't think I can run it on ULTRA though.
__________________
akm3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2013, 05:44 AM   #28
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by theturn View Post
can't wait to place my order, x-plane will hopefully run at very high graphic settings
X-Plane 10?

Probably not that high as the VRAM needed will exceed 2 GB...

I have the 3 GB 7950 Mac-editon in my Mac Pro (2008).
Settings are:
- screen resolution: 1920 x 1200 @ 32bits
- "extreme" res.
- world detail: high
- airport detail: high
- rest is "mediocre or less...

With airports / scenery loaded like the payware EHAM, KJFK, KLGA, converted Manhattan, etc. the VRAM usage exceeds 2 GB easily, and it maxes @ about 2.7 GB.
Even though the 680 desktop model is faster than the 7950, this is only true when the game does not exceed 2 GB VRAM. TBH, I think only X-Plane 10 can do that, and only when very highly detailed scenery is loaded.
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.

Last edited by MacsRgr8; Aug 31, 2013 at 05:52 AM.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2013, 06:16 AM   #29
NutsNGum
macrumors 68030
 
NutsNGum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by elithrar View Post
This is on the mark. The 680MX is *very* good for a mobile chip, and let's be honest, with a 122W TDP, it's stretching the definition of mobile.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blanka View Post
But you must compare Apple's with Apple's. So don't expect the Mac version of a game to run similar framerates as a 670 in a Windows machine with the windows version of the game. DirectX has a 30-50% advantage over OpenGL unfortunately.
Holy ancient thread, batman!
NutsNGum is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody play indie games on a rMBP? (re: 2D gaming at native resolution) sofakng MacBook Pro 4 Dec 17, 2013 05:09 PM
Rotating screen 90˚ will set rMBP to native resolution hartemop MacBook Pro 0 Apr 1, 2013 10:54 AM
GeForce 680MX OS X Driver Question Ryan.Tanner iMac 2 Dec 20, 2012 11:16 PM
Nvidia GeForce GT 680MX vs AMD 6970M w/2GB Fried Chicken iMac 2 Nov 27, 2012 04:38 PM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX in the new iMAC2012 flashfang iMac 4 Nov 19, 2012 02:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC