Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2013, 07:34 AM   #1
Zav
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
iMac just shut itself down - first time ever.

Okay so I've read a lot of stories of Macs just shutting them self down but never had an issue myself - until now.

I read that the main cause of this is the RAM. I've recently added 4GB to my existing factory 4GB and it's been running fine for a good 3 days. However today when streaming the football the iMac just shut itself down instantaneously. Does this mean I have faulty RAM?

Kinda worried as clearly the Mac shutting down in such a manner cannot be good for its health.
Zav is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 07:41 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Was it this?
If so, if it happens once, it is not a bad sign, it can happen, and it can be hardware (RAM) or software related.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 08:00 AM   #3
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
OP, run Apple Hardware Test by holding the D key at start up.

Intel-based Macs: Using Apple Hardware Test

If no errors show up you're good.

Simsaladimbamba, I'm pretty sure he did not see that, he said instantaneously which indicated a hard shut down.
If it was what you showed you have to manually shut it down, it even tells you to do so in the Dialogue box.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 08:23 AM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
OP, run Apple Hardware Test by holding the D key at start up.

Intel-based Macs: Using Apple Hardware Test

If no errors show up you're good.

Simsaladimbamba, I'm pretty sure he did not see that, he said instantaneously which indicated a hard shut down.
If it was what you showed you have to manually shut it down, it even tells you to do so in the Dialogue box.
Right, forgot that, but it was worth a try, and sometimes there are just circumstances, where, you know, that thing gets out of hand, and nothing gets told as it happened, and yeah, loss of memories and such ****.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:56 AM   #5
Zav
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
OP, run Apple Hardware Test by holding the D key at start up.

Intel-based Macs: Using Apple Hardware Test

If no errors show up you're good.

Simsaladimbamba, I'm pretty sure he did not see that, he said instantaneously which indicated a hard shut down.
If it was what you showed you have to manually shut it down, it even tells you to do so in the Dialogue box.
Okay, so I've tried doing this over 5 times now and the best I get is an extended boot time. I get the grey screen and its takes a good 30 seconds before the Apple sign comes up and then the usual boot procedure follows.

And no, I didn't get that screen Sims. Thanks for replying though!
__________________
iMac, 2.5 GHz Intel i5, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6750M, HTC One X+, iPad 4th Generation 16GB(best product by far).

Website:http://zavtech.org
Zav is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:00 AM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zav View Post
Okay, so I've tried doing this over 5 times now and the best I get is an extended boot time. I get the grey screen and its takes a good 30 seconds before the Apple sign comes up and then the usual boot procedure follows.

And no, I didn't get that screen Sims. Thanks for replying though!
So, it did not work, you could not get into AHT?

How old is the mac, year and model, if you hold Option at start up what do you see?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:16 AM   #7
Zav
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
So, it did not work, you could not get into AHT?

How old is the mac, year and model, if you hold Option at start up what do you see?
No it failed to boot the hardware test. Its a 2011 Core i5 iMac. Pressing prompt keys at boot don't seem to work with it, maybe its highly stubborn?
__________________
iMac, 2.5 GHz Intel i5, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6750M, HTC One X+, iPad 4th Generation 16GB(best product by far).

Website:http://zavtech.org
Zav is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:19 AM   #8
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zav View Post
No it failed to boot the hardware test. Its a 2011 Core i5 iMac. Pressing prompt keys at boot don't seem to work with it, maybe its highly stubborn?
Is this with a wireless keyboard, if so connect a wired one and try again.(If you have one)

An SMC reset might also help.

Resetting the System Management Controller - Support - Apple

Quote:
Shut down the computer.
Unplug the computer's power cord.
Wait fifteen seconds.
Attach the computer's power cord.
Wait five seconds, then press the power button to turn on the computer.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shut down Time Capsule Safely? opinio Mac Peripherals 4 Aug 18, 2013 04:13 PM
Long shut down time GTghost MacBook Air 4 Jun 6, 2013 07:58 PM
Shut down time became too long on Mountain Lion jincheker MacBook Air 13 Oct 28, 2012 02:08 PM
Shut Down Time rMBP Textureboy MacBook Pro 28 Oct 9, 2012 10:43 AM
Shut down takes a long time wilywampa Mac Basics and Help 6 Jul 15, 2012 08:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC