Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 28, 2013, 08:51 PM   #1
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
Adding grain for YouTube video

Anyone else find that when they add grain in their PP project then export it for youtube that it just looks like mud?
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 10:32 PM   #2
matteusclement
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
1000 views and no comments?

do I need to sharpen it more?
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2013, 04:11 PM   #3
Zwhaler
macrumors 603
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
More info please... just so you know YouTube will re-encode everything you send it so it probably does look like mud as a result.. depending on the native resolution, bit rate, and other factors. Can you show us what you're talking about?
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 05:51 AM   #4
acearchie
macrumors 68030
 
acearchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
You're adding grain as in trying to emulate film grain?

Do you find that your videos start to get blocky after uploading to Youtube and is that what you are referring to as mud?
acearchie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2013, 05:33 PM   #5
Siderz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London, UK
Depends on how much grain you actually add.

I often add grain, I think I set it to ~8 (OR it might be ~0.8, I don't have it in front of me right now) using the Premiere Pro noise & grain filter, only a very small amount, it's like adding salt to food; only add a pinch.

Something that happened to me, using CS6 I think, was that the video would just go crazy with artefacts everywhere when adding noise, I think it was only when adding it to After Effects comps within a Premiere Pro timeline that that was happening. Perhaps that is what happened to you?

I was using the CS6 trial at the time, I'm still on CS5.5, getting CC when I go back to College in September.
__________________

Apple
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC