Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2012, 12:39 AM   #1
Lilbrian
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
iPod display to tv please help

I have a jail broken iPod touch iOS 5 and I want to know if I can display it to my tv. I have the cable that connects to the ipods headphone jack with the 3 color thing to connect to the tv. I want to know if I can please answer if you know how.

Last edited by Lilbrian; Feb 19, 2012 at 12:41 AM. Reason: Misspelled word
Lilbrian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 03:48 PM   #2
likethesoup2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
When you say 'display' . . . are you trying to watch a Netflix movie on your TV, or see the actual screen?

To watch a Netflix movie, I bought a cord at Best Buy (I think), but it goes out the bottom, the dock connector. That WILL NOT allow you to actually see the apps etc on your device, just watch a movie. But it worked great with my ipod touch.

I now have an iPhone, and got a cable that is an adapter, that accepts an HDMI cable, then goes into the dock connector. With that cable, you CAN see your screens etc.

I'm not 100% on this, but I think the cable you have only worked with an ipod that was called a 'video' ipod, that was made a few yrs ago.
likethesoup2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2012, 02:22 AM   #3
Lilbrian
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by likethesoup2 View Post
When you say 'display' . . . are you trying to watch a Netflix movie on your TV, or see the actual screen?

To watch a Netflix movie, I bought a cord at Best Buy (I think), but it goes out the bottom, the dock connector. That WILL NOT allow you to actually see the apps etc on your device, just watch a movie. But it worked great with my ipod touch.

I now have an iPhone, and got a cable that is an adapter, that accepts an HDMI cable, then goes into the dock connector. With that cable, you CAN see your screens etc.

I'm not 100% on this, but I think the cable you have only worked with an ipod that was called a 'video' ipod, that was made a few yrs ago.
I mean to display the whole iPod with something called displayout. I figured that the cables were for older ones but thanks for the reply.
Lilbrian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt Display vs display port display for rMBP case2001 MacBook Pro 6 Sep 26, 2013 01:48 PM
Battery percentage display on the 5G iPod touch? i'm.huMAC iPod touch 36 May 18, 2013 05:06 PM
Updated iPod Touch to Carry 1136x640 Display, 32-Nanometer A5 Chip? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 128 Nov 13, 2012 07:45 AM
make external display primary display when macbook display no longer works Andy88! Mac Basics and Help 1 Nov 3, 2012 08:36 PM
Apple to Update iPod Touch with 4-Inch Display, A5 Chip, Buffed Aluminum Rear Shell? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 215 Aug 28, 2012 12:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC