Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2012, 09:06 PM   #251
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
I remember when you made this thread and I thought you were stuipid

but now I worship you
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 11:48 AM   #252
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
I remember when you made this thread and I thought you were stuipid

but now I worship you
Hahaha :-D thanks :P

On a side note... Happy birthday Bondi! Lol
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 10:40 PM   #253
ppcg4mac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Somewhere Else
Very good job. Probably better than I could of done!
__________________

iPod Touch 2g 16 GB, Dell Optiplex 755, Pentium 3 "Server", Whatever the library runs.
ppcg4mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 03:28 AM   #254
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcg4mac View Post
Very good job. Probably better than I could of done!
thanks :-) have you done something like this before? my next project thats sitting here is a Power Mac G5, but that is getting some serious work done so not starting that until this years uni is finished
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 11:57 AM   #255
ppcg4mac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Somewhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkious View Post
thanks :-) have you done something like this before? my next project thats sitting here is a Power Mac G5, but that is getting some serious work done so not starting that until this years uni is finished
I have never done something like this before, the closest thing would be upgrading a HD in a eMac (pita, involves removing everything but the CRT)

If i had a G5 tower, I would turn it into an expansion bay for a 11-13" MacBook, complete with a 30" CD, but like you, I don't have the time, and like me, I don't have the money (being 15 during the school months is a boring time for me, as there is something that I want to do, but don't have the funds), oh well, ill set the plans right next to the one for a 128 unit Pi supercomputer.

Good luck!
__________________

iPod Touch 2g 16 GB, Dell Optiplex 755, Pentium 3 "Server", Whatever the library runs.
ppcg4mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:50 AM   #256
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcg4mac View Post
I have never done something like this before, the closest thing would be upgrading a HD in a eMac (pita, involves removing everything but the CRT)

If i had a G5 tower, I would turn it into an expansion bay for a 11-13" MacBook, complete with a 30" CD, but like you, I don't have the time, and like me, I don't have the money (being 15 during the school months is a boring time for me, as there is something that I want to do, but don't have the funds), oh well, ill set the plans right next to the one for a 128 unit Pi supercomputer.

Good luck!
Ahhh, just with you saying probably better than you could have done. By no means is this perfect but i think I'm getting close :-D

on a side note, ive spent a bit time getting the on button, speakers and mic working. having a little issue with interference but its working so i'm not grumbling at the moment. ive also adjusted the clock settings on both the CPU and iGPU, that has given me a boost to 40fps with low amounts of 'tearing' as it was the only down side before.

here are some quick vids;

Boot speed and operation of power button

http://youtu.be/tQMgUd0I0co

Sound test, using my favourite old commercial

http://youtu.be/MzYDTzhXdWE

Finally, an in game video with sound and FPS monitoring

http://youtu.be/i5Jt8nzgJFQ

I havent got a video of the Mic working yet, as i forgot to test it ^.^ but i will get one when i next spend some time on it.
Arkious is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 12:30 PM   #257
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkious View Post
Ahhh, just with you saying probably better than you could have done. By no means is this perfect but i think I'm getting close :-D

on a side note, ive spent a bit time getting the on button, speakers and mic working. having a little issue with interference but its working so i'm not grumbling at the moment. ive also adjusted the clock settings on both the CPU and iGPU, that has given me a boost to 40fps with low amounts of 'tearing' as it was the only down side before.

here are some quick vids;

Boot speed and operation of power button

http://youtu.be/tQMgUd0I0co

Sound test, using my favourite old commercial

http://youtu.be/MzYDTzhXdWE

Finally, an in game video with sound and FPS monitoring

http://youtu.be/i5Jt8nzgJFQ

I havent got a video of the Mic working yet, as i forgot to test it ^.^ but i will get one when i next spend some time on it.

how does it run wow settings wise do you have to set them low or high

cause I'm trying to figure out if my baseline new imac will run wow when it gets here cause what i've been hearing from the mac pro forum is that the new imac will just barely work for web browsing and photo editing
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 12:34 PM   #258
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
how does it run wow settings wise do you have to set them low or high

cause I'm trying to figure out if my baseline new imac will run wow when it gets here cause what i've been hearing from the mac pro forum is that the new imac will just barely work for web browsing and photo editing
"BARELY JUST WORK FOR WEB BROWSING"??

It is a new iMac. It has an i5/i7 with 2/4 cores. You can browse the web with it with no stress on it whatsoever. Photo editing should be fine. I don't know how they can say that it won't work for web browsing.
MisterKeeks is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 12:41 PM   #259
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
"BARELY JUST WORK FOR WEB BROWSING"??

It is a new iMac. It has an i5/i7 with 2/4 cores. You can browse the web with it with no stress on it whatsoever. Photo editing should be fine. I don't know how they can say that it won't work for web browsing.
I know when I heard it I was like wtf you guys should go over to the powerpc forum there is a guy playing wow on a imac g3
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 01:55 PM   #260
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
"BARELY JUST WORK FOR WEB BROWSING"??

It is a new iMac. It has an i5/i7 with 2/4 cores. You can browse the web with it with no stress on it whatsoever. Photo editing should be fine. I don't know how they can say that it won't work for web browsing.
4 cores and it should work for video editing too. They must be thick.
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:55 PM   #261
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Haha :-D u should link the video there and they will be like WTF!?!?

If it has no graphics card that will be where it struggles. My 27" 2009 iMac has an i7 but its downfall (the fully upgraded graphics card) still doesn't hack pandaria the best. Everywhere else runs ultra

The G3 on the other hand plays medium, shadows turned down and somthing else to keep the frames up. It doesn't like raids too well but not tried one since I played about with the settings. My partner has played her account for 4 hours today and she said it was fine apart from the hissing from the speakers lol!

Joyful when she's on my new toy and I'm doing Uni work :-(
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 03:13 AM   #262
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Spent a little time yesterday whilst lying in bed with the flu, utilising the iPad to research what could be causing the interference on the speakers. turns out, its because the motherboard is getting the same power frequency as the speakers so you get a little buzz and hiss. Then because the amplifier was turned up to max, this amplified it. So i am going to get a 240v powered version and hook it directly up to the mains, that way there is no integration with the Motherboard.

least im feeling a little better today to start this year with a little bit of a smile, still feel like death though -.-

happy new year all!
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:21 AM   #263
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkious View Post
Spent a little time yesterday whilst lying in bed with the flu, utilising the iPad to research what could be causing the interference on the speakers. turns out, its because the motherboard is getting the same power frequency as the speakers so you get a little buzz and hiss. Then because the amplifier was turned up to max, this amplified it. So i am going to get a 240v powered version and hook it directly up to the mains, that way there is no integration with the Motherboard.

least im feeling a little better today to start this year with a little bit of a smile, still feel like death though -.-

happy new year all!
Sorry you feel that way, but at least you've got a kick-arse imac to keep you company
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 05:11 AM   #264
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
well...

over a month since i last posted and i have been doing various things to get the sound to work. it seems to be the hardest thing to do for some reason!!!!


anyways ive been working on it for 4 hours this morning, and i did somthing that made my heart skip a beat :-(



if i can be truthfully honest i feel heartbroken, im not quite sure what exactly i did but the screen went like that. After some research i have found that the screen is still displaying everything but something to do with the magnets that bounce the image up and down has failed :'(

now the question is do i let everything go to waste, or do i try to resurrect the resurrection? I dont have another i can put in :-( i dont know if its the screen or if its the main board.

Gutted, is an understatement... the question is what do i do
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 05:38 AM   #265
Brian Y
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkious View Post
well...

over a month since i last posted and i have been doing various things to get the sound to work. it seems to be the hardest thing to do for some reason!!!!


anyways ive been working on it for 4 hours this morning, and i did somthing that made my heart skip a beat :-(

Image

if i can be truthfully honest i feel heartbroken, im not quite sure what exactly i did but the screen went like that. After some research i have found that the screen is still displaying everything but something to do with the magnets that bounce the image up and down has failed :'(

now the question is do i let everything go to waste, or do i try to resurrect the resurrection? I dont have another i can put in :-( i dont know if its the screen or if its the main board.

Gutted, is an understatement... the question is what do i do
I'd give up at that point. Fiddling with the CRT is an easy way to electrocute yourself.
Brian Y is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:38 AM   #266
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Y View Post
I'd give up at that point. Fiddling with the CRT is an easy way to electrocute yourself.
ive had it apart on many many occasions, but i know what you mean, i do worry each time but take the necessary precautions. Im thinking, another one with a duff flyback would be best and just switching them
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 10:55 AM   #267
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
that really sucks after all that work.....too bad you weren't located close to a guy that posted in here quite a while ago that got something like 60 of those machines from his school for a ridiculously low cost and was trying to figure out what to do with them all.
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 01:09 PM   #268
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkious View Post
well...

over a month since i last posted and i have been doing various things to get the sound to work. it seems to be the hardest thing to do for some reason!!!!


anyways ive been working on it for 4 hours this morning, and i did somthing that made my heart skip a beat :-(

Image

if i can be truthfully honest i feel heartbroken, im not quite sure what exactly i did but the screen went like that. After some research i have found that the screen is still displaying everything but something to do with the magnets that bounce the image up and down has failed :'(

now the question is do i let everything go to waste, or do i try to resurrect the resurrection? I dont have another i can put in :-( i dont know if its the screen or if its the main board.

Gutted, is an understatement... the question is what do i do
At this point man I would just put it in the closet with a copy of this thread printed out for old times sake
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 02:43 PM   #269
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
At this point man I would just put it in the closet with a copy of this thread printed out for old times sake
I agree. Dreams die hard.

Part of the enthusiasm and excitement with working on these old rigs is never knowing whether or not things will work out. It often seems a miracle when they do, and a great disappointment when they don't.

Though I've always been very careful when I've cracked open my several Macs, I wouldn't mess with CRTs under any condition.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:52 PM   #270
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhall1 View Post
that really sucks after all that work.....too bad you weren't located close to a guy that posted in here quite a while ago that got something like 60 of those machines from his school for a ridiculously low cost and was trying to figure out what to do with them all.
Haha yeah, they seem much more available in the US

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
At this point man I would just put it in the closet with a copy of this thread printed out for old times sake
Quote:
Originally Posted by skateny View Post
I agree. Dreams die hard.

Part of the enthusiasm and excitement with working on these old rigs is never knowing whether or not things will work out. It often seems a miracle when they do, and a great disappointment when they don't.

Though I've always been very careful when I've cracked open my several Macs, I wouldn't mess with CRTs under any condition.
I couldn't do it :-(

IT SHALL LIVE AGAIN!

I picked these both up for 20, a major bargain! Both in tip top shape! A Blueberry Rev D 333 Tray Loader and a Graphite SE 600 Slot Loader.





There's a few other benefits too, the PSU of the Blueberry does not whine like mine does, the front bezel is the only bit that's scratched on mine, this is pristine. I also have a spare set of speakers etc so I can sort it first ^.^

So this will be my donor, the Graphite will be upgraded and utilised by a friend that hasn't ever used a mac. So 20 well spent! Watch this space ^.^

Does this class as iMac G3 Revival - V2? :-D

Last edited by Arkious; Feb 12, 2013 at 10:46 AM.
Arkious is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:53 AM   #271
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Started rebuilding from best of both to create Frankenmac today lol. But beforehand I had to have a bash on Warcraft 1, since it turned up from no where lol



But after stripping down the Computers, here's a comparison of the 2 PSU Boards. Top board is the old



And here is a picture of the 2 CRT driving boards. Top board is new



I will be removing the Flyback Transformer from that board and fitting the new one I fitted to the old board. But I want to test it's functionality rebuilt 1st.

Here's my spare bedroom/ iMac graveyard haha... With my next project just peeking from behind there...





When I said some plastics are in better condition, here's a pic of my front bezel that is scratched, beside the one I will refit that isn't



So there's multiple bonuses of having this mac!

Anyways I rerouted all the cables and got the new CRT into its frame all cleaned up and looking new. I didn't fit the boards last night as I want to fit the speaker amp in a place I have found.



Will have a bit more play over the next few days.
Arkious is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:48 AM   #272
1337david
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I was thinking about constructing a hackintosh this summer and ran into your project which sparked my curiosity since I have a Graphite G3 iMac in my parent's attic (mint condition when she retired). I had a few question concerning the power supply.

You considered replacing the PSU at one time but you seemed unsure if it would work, have any new thoughts on the idea? A PicoPSU I thought might work really well, another modder used it to replace the PSU of an iMac G4.

As well could you get a full sized GPU if you ditched the CD drive and used riser cables to hook it up?

And have you had any cooling issues?

I ask because my main reason for wanting to build a hackintosh was as a Mac Pro replacement with a mini ITX with a high end GPU and decent CPU.

Any opinion would be helpful, I simply don't have any visual reference of the space available in the iMac or the know how of the PSU/CRT.

Last edited by 1337david; Feb 13, 2013 at 03:32 AM. Reason: Grammer
1337david is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 09:00 AM   #273
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337david View Post
I was thinking about constructing a hackintosh this summer and ran into your project which sparked my curiosity since I have a Graphite G3 iMac in my parent's attic (mint condition when she retired). I had a few question concerning the power supply.

You considered replacing the PSU at one time but you seemed unsure if it would work, have any new thoughts on the idea? A PicoPSU I thought might work really well, another modder used it to replace the PSU of an iMac G4.

As well could you get a full sized GPU if you ditched the CD drive and used riser cables to hook it up?

And have you had any cooling issues?

I ask because my main reason for wanting to build a hackintosh was as a Mac Pro replacement with a mini ITX with a high end GPU and decent CPU.

Any opinion would be helpful, I simply don't have any visual reference of the space available in the iMac or the know how of the PSU/CRT.
Happy to know that id made you want to have a go :-)

The biggest setback of my project has and always will be, keeping the CRT. If the CRT went, there would be space for pritty much anything in computer terms. The reason i was looking at bypassing the PSU was that it would not give the required wattage for the hardware i wanted. I cant simply switch the power supply as its tied heavily with the CRT. If you decide to scrap the CRT and fit a LCD then yeah you could fit anything you want really. Now the Slot loader works entirely different to the Tray loader. You could add another PSU inside as there is a lot more space available (still hampered by the CRT though at the end of the day).

My only issue with the LCD is that it doesnt look right, CRTs are curved so they never fit properly. an eMac on the other hand would fit a LCD no problem, shame they are FUGLY!

But if you want to keep the CRT to make it look 'right' i dont think there is a way of making it super speedy and a mac pro replacement, but it will make a good computer with the right hardware as you can see by mine.

if i can offer any more advice please let me know ^.^
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 12:50 AM   #274
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Hey guys,

Just thought id let you know, this project is now at its end

When i finished rebuilding this other mac, i went to turn it on and it started sparking from the rear and a puff of smoke was released. It allows the original hardware to boot, but this new CRT is more dead than the original lol.

But I've lost my affection to have it working as its not really my mac any more, its Frankenmac. So I've been thinking and its a lot of moneys worth of hardware to not be utilised, so its going to a new home in my partners PC.

The goal of this project was to Revive the iMac G3 and to see it playing World of Warcraft as it was the computer that i played all other Warcrafts on from a child of 8 years old. I succeeded!

I will take everything i have learnt from this for my next project, that is a Power Mac... Pro. I plan on following the same steps to keep the Mac as original as possible with necessary mods. That project will start within the next 2 months, i have a bit to clean up from the 2 mac shells i have.

The Blue iMac shell my friend wants to build into an iLamp, which i shall post upon completion. I dont know if its worth keeping my Bondi shell or just disposing it. I was thinking of an idea with a LCD but putting a piece of curved plexiglass like the one used on my iMacquarium in front of the LCD. This would fill the gaps and make it look better. so i might bag it after the CRT is removed.

That will not be a continuation of this project as it will be entirely different. Finally, the slot load iMac i picked up as a bonus will be staying with my now, and will be moving into the shed/ workshop. Here it will serve as a jukebox but also and more importantly, once upgraded to 1GB RAM and WiFi installed, it will serve as an aid for when I'm googling mods

Anyways, keep an 'i' out for for my power mac project coming up pretty soon and until then, heres the 'front cover' picture for this thread!



RIP Bondi

Last edited by Arkious; Feb 18, 2013 at 12:57 AM.
Arkious is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 05:49 PM   #275
Estes
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Somerville, AL
I hate to see it end, but this has been a great thread to lurk in. Thanks for sharing.
Estes is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Tags
bondi blue, imac g3, itx, modification, revival

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to revive an iMac G3 Blueberry CaoCao PowerPC Macs 12 May 27, 2012 12:31 PM
Screen Flickering on iMac G3 DV after upgrade to Mac OS X Coolmatt49 PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 19, 2011 02:43 AM
imac g3 350 converting to imac g3 600 MacHamster68 PowerPC Macs 8 Nov 25, 2009 09:24 PM
WTT: Graphite iBook G3 and Tangerine iMac G3 for iBook G3 t300 Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 3 Mar 7, 2005 07:25 PM
FS: iBook G3/466 - iMac G3/500 w/ Airport BS & 2 Cards nickyj182 Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 0 Sep 10, 2003 01:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC