Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 7, 2012, 11:04 AM   #1
baxlobs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Suffolk UK
PC > iMac Migration assistant problem

My new iMac has arrived today, I ran Migration Assistant to transfer stuff from my PC, and it completed OK, but I can't see that it transferred much at all.

The "file selection" area did not seem to show anthing to do with my Outlook stuff, contacts, e-mails etc, which I understood would be transferred.

If I have missed something obvious can I run it again?

It will take me a while to get used to the Mac way, but I am very happy to learn.
baxlobs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 07:37 AM   #2
Apple fanboy
macrumors 603
 
Apple fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
I also got my first iMac today. I ran Migration assistant (took about 1.5 hours) and all my music and stuff is there. The problem I have is that i can't bring over the other 2 users from my PC or see how to set up an additional account for them. How did you connect to the PC? I used a ethernet cable direct between the 2.
__________________
iMac 21.5 2013, iPhone 6 Plus, iPad 2/4/Air Nikon D7100/D300 70-200 2.8/24-70 2.8/14-24 2.8/60 Macro 2.8/10.5 Fish eye 2.8
Apple fanboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 09:46 AM   #3
readymade524
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by baxlobs View Post
My new iMac has arrived today, I ran Migration Assistant to transfer stuff from my PC, and it completed OK, but I can't see that it transferred much at all.

The "file selection" area did not seem to show anthing to do with my Outlook stuff, contacts, e-mails etc, which I understood would be transferred.
Your data was likely moved to Address Book, Mail etc.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple fanboy View Post
I also got my first iMac today. I ran Migration assistant (took about 1.5 hours) and all my music and stuff is there. The problem I have is that i can't bring over the other 2 users from my PC or see how to set up an additional account for them. How did you connect to the PC? I used a ethernet cable direct between the 2.
You will need to create the other users on the new Mac first, then run the Migration Assistant from the new profile on the Mac and the old profile on the PC.

You can create the new users in the System Preferences->Accounts.
readymade524 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 11:12 AM   #4
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Did you run migration during the setup or did you finish setup before trying to go back and migrate? If the latter, your migrated data likely exists on another user account on the system. Check Users & Groups preferences, and see if there is an account listed under Other Users in addition to your Current User and the Guest account. To login to the migrated account, go to the Apple menu and log out. When you try logging into an account migrated from a PC you will be prompted to enter in a new password. At this point you should have access to all your migrated data. You can remove the initially created account by going back to Users & Groups preferences, unlocking the lock in the bottom left, then selecting an account other than the currently logged-in one, then clicking the - sign. You can choose whether to save the user as a disk image, just delete the login but keep the home folder, or delete the home folder containing all of its files. You can also enable automatic login from Login Options.
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 11:17 AM   #5
Apple fanboy
macrumors 603
 
Apple fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by JediMeister View Post
Did you run migration during the setup or did you finish setup before trying to go back and migrate? If the latter, your migrated data likely exists on another user account on the system. Check Users & Groups preferences, and see if there is an account listed under Other Users in addition to your Current User and the Guest account. To login to the migrated account, go to the Apple menu and log out. When you try logging into an account migrated from a PC you will be prompted to enter in a new password. At this point you should have access to all your migrated data.
I did it on initial set up. All the information was migrated into the first account (mine). I have now set up the other two accounts manually and will just drag the stuff they have of the external. Been busy trying out other things! The machine is so quick compared to my old dog of a PC though. Its going to be hard going to use my XP machine at work on Monday. Still lots to learn though!
__________________
iMac 21.5 2013, iPhone 6 Plus, iPad 2/4/Air Nikon D7100/D300 70-200 2.8/24-70 2.8/14-24 2.8/60 Macro 2.8/10.5 Fish eye 2.8
Apple fanboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 04:34 AM   #6
baxlobs
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Suffolk UK
[QUOTE=readymade524;16449181]Your data was likely moved to Address Book, Mail etc.[COLOR="#808080"]

Thanks, I think (??) I have worked out what went wrong. When Migration Assistant was at the directory selection stage I unticked a number of Windows directories which I did not realise may have contained my Mail & Contacts data.

I will have to run it all again using the defaults.

I assume I am right in thinking that I will have to delete the iMac account that was created last time as I gather from an article in "Switch to Mac" by the MacFormat magazine that Migration Assistant cannot move data to an existing account of the same name?
baxlobs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 12:25 PM   #7
readymade524
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I assume I am right in thinking that I will have to delete the iMac account that was created last time as I gather from an article in "Switch to Mac" by the MacFormat magazine that Migration Assistant cannot move data to an existing account of the same name?[/QUOTE]

I believe that is true.
readymade524 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 05:46 AM   #8
baxlobs
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Suffolk UK
I did delete the account I created the other day, and re-ran Migration , I left it to move everything without unticking any of the directories. It completed OK.

I then logged in to the newly created account, but sadly there was no sign that any data had been transferred from Outlook.

It looks as if I will have to get all my contact data across another way, probably by typing it all in again.
baxlobs is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migration assistant problem poc7667 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 27, 2013 07:05 PM
Problem with Migration Assistant- Please Help! mjo MacBook Pro 5 Oct 26, 2013 11:17 PM
Migration Assistant problem McClassic OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jan 29, 2013 03:50 AM
Migration Assistant question regarding new iMac youeyemind iMac 5 Jan 28, 2013 09:34 AM
New install or Migration assistant? New iMac jackofharts iMac 8 Jan 20, 2013 11:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC