Heavy Excel Users? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 2, 2013, 10:18 PM   #1
davenz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Heavy Excel Users?

I currently in the market for a new notebook. I would really like a mac, and would buy one in a second if it were not for one thing. Excel. I do use it a lot for my job, and would often need to do some work from home.

I don't think it is really worth buying a windows machine all because of one piece of software. I work in insurance so tend to use a lot of macros/VBA, pivots tables, statistical formulas ect. I know excel 2011 on mac is not too bad but how much am I really giving up? Would it be fully compatible? and will I be able to change the shortcuts so they are the same as windows (if I use a windows keyboard). I will be working on a windows machine at work so it needs to be full compatible.

Would I be better to just use bootcamp/VmWare when using excel?

I much prefer OSX compared to windows as I am used to it for everything else.

Any thoughts from other heavy spreadsheet users?
davenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 10:21 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by davenz View Post
I know excel 2011 on mac is not too bad but how much am I really giving up? Would it be fully compatible? and will I be able to change the shortcuts so they are the same as windows (if I use a windows keyboard).
The keyboard shortcuts will be a bit different on Excel 2011, but you should have full compatibility with Excel for Windows.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:43 PM   #3
glenthompson
macrumors Demi-God
 
glenthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Virginia
When I switched to the Mac over a year ago, I started using Office for Mac 2011. I have a number of comp,ex spreadsheets with extensive formulas, pivot tables, and graphs. Have not found a single problem yet. I don't have any VBA code.

I use the Mac shortcuts since I rarely use Windows anymore.
__________________
15" MBP (late 2011), iPhone 5
iPad Air, ATV3
glenthompson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 04:17 AM   #4
poobear
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I think Excel for Mac is not as polished, performance wise. See e.g. recent threads http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1510979 and http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1071615. However, if you are a heavy user I don't think you will have any problems avoiding those performance pitfalls.
poobear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 05:28 AM   #5
JoelBC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I too work in the insurance industry and am a heavy user of Excel...I too have made the move from Windows to OS X as have a number of my colleagues who have a similar move...in speaking with them the consensus was to use a VM and to use Excel for Windows which I am doing without any issues or problems...in the end, this was likely the right decision [at least for me] given that I also use other financial modelling software for which there is no OS X equivalent.

I hope this helps.


Joel
JoelBC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 06:34 AM   #6
James Craner
macrumors 68000
 
James Craner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
I agree with Joel, while Microsoft have done an excellent job with cross compatibility in Microsoft Excel 2011 for Mac - with Excel for Windows 2010, unfortunately the calculation engine in the mac version leaves a lot to be desired. Complex finance models that work fine in the Windows Version of Excel can be seen recalculating in the Mac version. Running Excel for Windows in a VM (Virtual Machine) like Parallels may be the best approach.

Parallels has a useful Coherence Mode, which hides the Windows desktop while displaying Windows applications. Windows still runs in the background, but is hidden from view. Windows applications appear in the Mac Dock, letting you switch between them without using the Windows interface.
__________________
Productivity Orchard Be more productive with your Mac
James Craner is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 06:45 AM   #7
hallux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
In supporting Macs in a corporate environment, the largest complaint is the performance in larger spreadsheets. VBA may also be an issue. The BEST suggestion for macro and scripting compatibility is to do as the others suggested, run a VM with Office 2010 installed in it. With the right hardware configuration it will be smooth as can be.
__________________
2012 15" MBP, 2.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Hi-Res glossy
hallux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:53 AM   #8
Confuzzzed
macrumors 68000
 
Confuzzzed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Liverpool, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelBC View Post
in speaking with them the consensus was to use a VM and to use Excel for Windows
I can concur with that. I work in banking and have too much reliance on other enterprise software to get away with a complete break from Windows but then again the little annoyances of working via remote desktop were not reason enough not to own a Mac at home
Confuzzzed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 09:45 AM   #9
JoeRito
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New England, USA
I'm a heavy Excel (and Access) user and I've found compatibility with Excel for Mac to be fine, almost transparent. However, as noted by an earlier poster, there is a performance difference. Excel for Mac is much slower and missing a few of the key keyboard shortcuts I use every day -like F2 to edit a cell, ALT + to total a column of numbers, etc. When I really need to crank, I honestly use the actual windows version via Parallels as I also have this loaded on my Mac. I like the menu bar on the Mac version (it also has the newer "ribbon"), but for productivity purposes I need the windows version of Excel. Also, macros and VBA are hosted by the windows version for automation techniques.
__________________
MBP 15 , MBA 13 , iPad Air 64 , 92 lb Chocolate Lab
JoeRito is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 10:39 AM   #10
phoenixsan
macrumors 65816
 
phoenixsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I would....

suggest you to go with the route VM-Windows or Bootcamp-Windows. I am also a heavy user of Excel in engineering calculations.


__________________
Mac Pro 2012 3.06 Westmere version, 12 Core 64 GB RAM, 4 TB , iPhone 5 (black), Moto G 8 GB (black)
phoenixsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 10:49 AM   #11
ToomeyND
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I haven't had a compatibility issue. However, all of the shortcuts that make excel a breeze on windows are not as apparent on the Mac. This really slows me down to the point that I'll just go back to my work (windows) laptop if I need to be on excel extensively. I've never put in the time to learn the Mac shortcuts, I guess....
ToomeyND is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 01:05 PM   #12
davenz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
VM/Parallels it is. Do you think 2012 MBA i5 8GB ram will suffice to run a virtual machine smoothly?
davenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 01:08 PM   #13
poobear
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by davenz View Post
VM/Parallels it is. Do you think 2012 MBA i5 8GB ram will suffice to run a virtual machine smoothly?
That's more than enough.
poobear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 01:10 PM   #14
WesCole
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by davenz View Post
VM/Parallels it is. Do you think 2012 MBA i5 8GB ram will suffice to run a virtual machine smoothly?
Good decision.

Also, Office for Mac doesn't have Access...that was a deal breaker for me and why I run Office 2010 inside a Win7 VM.
__________________
2010 15" MacBook Pro, Anti-Glare Hi-Res, 2.4 i5 128 GB SSD & 500GB HDD in optibay; iPhone 5 32GB; ATV3; 2011 Core i7 27" iMac 2GB VRAM; "New" iPad 32GB AT&T 4G; 2012 MacBook Air 13", i7, 8GB, 256GB
WesCole is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 01:18 PM   #15
surfearth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Francisco, CA
heavy excel user here, too

Quote:
Originally Posted by davenz View Post
VM/Parallels it is. Do you think 2012 MBA i5 8GB ram will suffice to run a virtual machine smoothly?
I work in banking/private equity and am a heavy user of windows excel despite being a mac user since 2001. Office for Mac never satisfied my needs since I would need to relearn all of my shortcuts and for a while macros didn't work.

Fast forward to today and I have the maxed out 2012 MBA and run excel via VMWare Fusion 5 (in its own space). Performance is as good as my official work laptop which pretty much never get used. There will be a few small tweaks you need to make (e.g. disabling ctrl-arrows for changing spaces in mission control in order to move around in cells more effectively, or remapping page-up/page down commands to make navigating worksheets more manageable).

Overall it is a great setup and I am sure you will be find running it in either VMWare or Parallels. I've avoided using bootcamp for the simple reason that I don't need the highest levels of performance and prefer using windows in a VM in its own space so that I can do my browsing, etc on the mac side and MS Office work on the PC side.
surfearth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 01:23 PM   #16
James Craner
macrumors 68000
 
James Craner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by davenz View Post
VM/Parallels it is. Do you think 2012 MBA i5 8GB ram will suffice to run a virtual machine smoothly?
Yep, I used to run it with just 4GB Ram and it worked fine, 8GB should be no problem.
__________________
Productivity Orchard Be more productive with your Mac
James Craner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 03:25 PM   #17
JoelBC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by davenz View Post
VM/Parallels it is. Do you think 2012 MBA i5 8GB ram will suffice to run a virtual machine smoothly?
Yes, this will not be a problem as I am running it on a 2012 MBA with 8GB and an i7 and I can tell you that I notice no difference between its performance on my MBA compared to my Windows laptop.


Joel
JoelBC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 09:52 PM   #18
davenz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
For those of you using parallels...

Can you have excel in the dock, and then you launch it it will open it in windows in another space?

basically using windows without really realising.
davenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 10:09 PM   #19
JoeRito
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by davenz View Post
VM/Parallels it is. Do you think 2012 MBA i5 8GB ram will suffice to run a virtual machine smoothly?
Absolutely... will run like a dream.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by davenz View Post
For those of you using parallels...

Can you have excel in the dock, and then you launch it it will open it in windows in another space?

basically using windows without really realising.
Yes, as long as you launch Excel, when you minimize it it remains in the dock. There will be an Excel icon in the dock with two parallel lines over it letting you know its a virtualized app. Can copy and paste into Mac apps without an issue.
__________________
MBP 15 , MBA 13 , iPad Air 64 , 92 lb Chocolate Lab
JoeRito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:40 AM   #20
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
I am in engineering and a heavy Excel user, light/moderate with VBA. I find Excel for Mac to slow me down considerably versus the Windows equivalent. This is not from a features perspective, but rather a work flow perspective. Mac Excel does not have the auto-fill option like in Windows (well it does but it gives you a dropdown of item which requires mousing or down-arrowing to your choice), furthermore loading of spreadsheets is a little slower and in some cases the VBA code does not translate.

I do not recommend doing heavy Excel workflow on Mac Excel. Some people tend to disagree with me as I have been vocal about this over the years here on MR Forums but I still have not budged on my opinion.

Mac Excel is definitely worse than Win Excel.
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 08:46 AM   #21
FHayek
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by poobear View Post
That's more than enough.
This is the set up I use and the MS Office Suite works well. Coherence mode is very cool.

Office for Mac is a poor version of its Windows' counterpart.
FHayek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:29 AM   #22
prchohan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by surfearth View Post
I work in banking/private equity and am a heavy user of windows excel despite being a mac user since 2001. Office for Mac never satisfied my needs since I would need to relearn all of my shortcuts and for a while macros didn't work.

Fast forward to today and I have the maxed out 2012 MBA and run excel via VMWare Fusion 5 (in its own space). Performance is as good as my official work laptop which pretty much never get used. There will be a few small tweaks you need to make (e.g. disabling ctrl-arrows for changing spaces in mission control in order to move around in cells more effectively, or remapping page-up/page down commands to make navigating worksheets more manageable).

Overall it is a great setup and I am sure you will be find running it in either VMWare or Parallels. I've avoided using bootcamp for the simple reason that I don't need the highest levels of performance and prefer using windows in a VM in its own space so that I can do my browsing, etc on the mac side and MS Office work on the PC side.
Surfearth, I found your post really helpful. Can you please elaborate on this part? "(e.g. disabling ctrl-arrows for changing spaces in mission control in order to move around in cells more effectively, or remapping page-up/page down commands to make navigating worksheets more manageable)." Where do you disable ctrl-arrows and how do you remap page-up / page-down commands? Home/End/PgUp/PgDn are pretty much the only commands holding me off since I am a heavy Excel user as well. Appreciate your help. Thanks.
prchohan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:18 PM   #23
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
I've used Excel (O4M 2004) for years on OSX Leopard. It works fine for me, but I only weigh in at about 170 pounds.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Visual Basic Module/Macro works in Windows Excel but not Mac Excel 2011 chrispy1042 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 May 4, 2014 07:41 AM
Templates for Microsoft Excel - Best Excel Spreadsheets for Mac! Alexander-James Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Apr 24, 2014 01:19 AM
Formulas in Excel on Mac... Switch to values in Excel on PC Noob2mac Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Apr 24, 2013 05:24 AM
Question for heavy Skype / iPhone users (L) iPhone 3 Nov 21, 2012 06:57 PM
Creating Pivots in Excel 2011 that can be used in Excel 2003 (Windows) Extreme Red Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jun 5, 2012 09:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC