Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 2, 2010, 09:34 PM   #1
Keysmark
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Firewall Settings

I have a new mid 2010 iMac 27" quad core 2.8

Is it necessary to enable the firewall, which is off by default.

If so, what are your settings recommendations.

Thanks
Keysmark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 09:35 PM   #2
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
It's recommended, certainly not necessary.
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 11:09 PM   #3
iCaleb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Why not turn it on?
Its free and safe.
So to all the people who say leave it off ****!
Unless the firewall is causing you issues LEAVE IT ON
iCaleb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 07:04 PM   #4
Rivergull
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Firewall

I have an iMac 27" desktop, as well. My Firewall is set to OFF. Didn't even know it. If I now set it to ON, it says I must always know my password OR ELSE all will be LOST forever. That part scares me almost as much as leaving it OFF. It also says that if I turn it ON, it could take quite a while.
Rivergull is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 07:08 PM   #5
ezramoore
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
It is mostly irrelevant if you're behind NAT (most common broadband connections).
ezramoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 07:20 PM   #6
chown33
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivergull View Post
I have an iMac 27" desktop, as well. My Firewall is set to OFF. Didn't even know it. If I now set it to ON, it says I must always know my password OR ELSE all will be LOST forever. That part scares me almost as much as leaving it OFF. It also says that if I turn it ON, it could take quite a while.
I think you've misread something.

FileVault has a warning about needing a password. Which makes sense because it uses a password to encrypt the hard drive. If you encrypt the disk and forget your password (as well as the recovery password), then there's no way to decrypt the data. That's the nature of encryption: without a key, you can't read it.

Firewall is in the segmented control immediately next to FileVault. I see no warning about passwords, and I can turn it on and off with impunity (after clicking Unlock and entering an admin password). There is no delay and no warning dialog for this.

This is on OS X version 10.8.0.

If you want to know the difference between the two features, you can google FileVault, and then google OS X Firewall.
chown33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leopard Firewall Settings babyfett OS X 2 Nov 14, 2007 01:34 AM
Can we get a definitive sticker on the firewall setting? IChing OS X 1 Nov 1, 2007 12:42 PM
Are these firewall setting necessary? Amy2005 OS X 5 Sep 26, 2006 02:06 PM
Firewall settings?! gangst Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 10, 2005 04:34 PM
Firewall settings? After G Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 0 May 7, 2005 03:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC