Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:14 AM   #501
MarcinK95
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York City
For the 2011 iMac 21.5 do I need

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/DIDIM21SSD11/

or

****************tVm0y

+

****************mP1q0

I'm not sure if I need that special wire that OWC sells or if I could just get the two things from amazon.
__________________
iMac 21.5" Mid 2011 128GB SSD, 20GB RAM
iPad 16GB + ATT 4G (3rd Gen)
iPhone 5 16GB ATT
AirPort Extreme (4th Gen)
MarcinK95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:43 AM   #502
kgian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
You need the first one...
kgian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 04:11 PM   #503
ben2e
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Back for a 2nd try

I've got a 27" 2011. I plan to upgrade the drive and install an SSD. I tried this once before and will retry. I have the 13-22 female/femail sata cable and a Seagate Baracuda 3TB.

Does it matter which sata port I use for the SSD so that it uses it as the boot drive ? Sounded like a few folks put their SSD (mind is a Sandisk 240G extreme) in port 0. Move the new hard drive to port 1 where it will hopefully not have heat sensor issues and get the fan control software. I don't have the pin-2-7 plug grounding part. Sounds like a few folks have done the port 0 connection and moved the hard drive to port 1.

Sound correct ?
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 08:02 PM   #504
ben2e
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Anyone tried to add a real temperature sensor ?

Something like this ?

http://applecomponents.com/items/922...72&per_page=30

I spoke to the local Apple Service Provider who said when they upgrade the drives on the 2011 iMac's, they cable in a sensor. It adds up as they charge $150 (on top of the $150 for the SSD install) but at least it works without any software help. If it were a cheap enough part, seems like a good solution.
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:27 AM   #505
kalleferm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben2e View Post
I've got a 27" 2011. I plan to upgrade the drive and install an SSD. I tried this once before and will retry. I have the 13-22 female/femail sata cable and a Seagate Baracuda 3TB.

Does it matter which sata port I use for the SSD so that it uses it as the boot drive ? Sounded like a few folks put their SSD (mind is a Sandisk 240G extreme) in port 0. Move the new hard drive to port 1 where it will hopefully not have heat sensor issues and get the fan control software. I don't have the pin-2-7 plug grounding part. Sounds like a few folks have done the port 0 connection and moved the hard drive to port 1.

Sound correct ?
It doesn't matter which port you plug it into, I recently installed a Samsung 840 Pro in my iMac, I let the old WD harddrive remain in port 0 and plugged the SSD into the extra slot on the logicboard. Works like a charm! In order to avoid problem with heat sensors you should get the cable from OWC or iFixit.

http://www.ifixit.com/Apple-Parts/iM...27%22_emc_2429
kalleferm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 12:56 AM   #506
ben2e
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalleferm View Post
In order to avoid problem with heat sensors you should get the cable from OWC or iFixit.

http://www.ifixit.com/Apple-Parts/iM...27%22_emc_2429
Thanks, I have that cable. I was more concerned with the new 3TB hard drive causing drive sensor problems. We'll see. The Hard drive is a lot easier to replace than the SSD so at least I can go back if I need to.
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 02:52 PM   #507
nsk11
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Will this guide work with the mid 2010 iMac 27". Everyone in this thread seams to be talking about the 2011 model

http://www.btobey.com/learn/imac-ssd-install.php

i Have the 13/22 sata cable and the SSD
nsk11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:36 PM   #508
rprice54
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I went with the OWC tutorial on my 2010 iMac. They don't remove the HD or DVD drives. Less steps, less to screw up.
rprice54 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 04:27 PM   #509
nsk11
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
From what i see in the video, the 2010 iMac is not compatible with the 13/22 cable. I must use the Y power splitter method
Is this correct?
nsk11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 06:16 PM   #510
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsk11 View Post
From what i see in the video, the 2010 iMac is not compatible with the 13/22 cable. I must use the Y power splitter method
Is this correct?
That's how I did mine, with a Y-splitter for power and a standard SATA data cable ( 2010 iMac).
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:41 AM   #511
iMac Mario
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Limassol Cyprus
Upgrade 27inch 3.4Ghz Mid 2011 iMac

Hi, Happy New Year all i have a mid 2011 27' 3.4Ghz 2GB graphics 16GB ram 1TB HD, I purchased the following OWC Kit's OWCDIYIM27HDD11 & OWCDIDIM27SSD11. I removed the factory fitted HD and with the help of the OWC DIY video, this cable OWCDIYIM27HDD11 , the single SATA cable that came off the original installation of the HD was not removed i just added the power cable mentioned above thus together i was covered for the one SSD HD, now the other SSD HD i purchased the following cable OWCDIDIM27SSD11 that is shown in the OWC video for installing behind the optical drive which i did NOT, and put both SSD’s were the factory fitted 1TB HD was on a custom made 2-1/2 Inch HD back plate adaptor the wires were long enough for me to carry out the above mentioned and NOT having to remove the optical drive and it’s fan and place the second SSD behind no need. NO power splitter was used because both mentioned kit’s above one is DATA & Power and the other is just Power with the thermal sensor, using SANDISK 480Gb 6.0 Gb/s my iMac fly’s and don’t listen that RAID0 is unstable i guess it is on windows but not a Mac using time machine or like i use Drobo you will be covered in case something goes wrong which i very much doubt, the job that was done works perfect 'it's Amazing like have a Ford Fiesta and traded it in for a Bugatti Veyron' also no fan issues and all is well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0936.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	119.9 KB
ID:	387199   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0968.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	159.7 KB
ID:	387200   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0989.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	233.8 KB
ID:	387201  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0998.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	170.8 KB
ID:	387202   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-03 at 12.11.12 AM.png
Views:	45
Size:	190.2 KB
ID:	388123  

Last edited by iMac Mario; Jan 10, 2013 at 10:29 AM. Reason: More information for the whole upgrade
iMac Mario is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:46 PM   #512
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Strange problem - got all the way to the end of my install and noticed there was no header for the power port:



I just had the pins (no plastic part as shown in the photo). The SATA port was there fine.

This is a brand new refurb - what are my chances of getting Apple to fix this? I technically installed the ssd by just plugging the plug over the metal pins but it won't be steady.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 12:23 PM   #513
carlsson
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
No thermal connector on Mid 2011" 27"?

I have installed a SSD with HDD in a 27" iMac mid 2011, but it's impossible to locate a slot for the thermal connector!
Have never seen this before - either it's the old "external" sensor, OR the newer sensor integrated with the HDD. But at least there have been a connector for the temperature sensor…

It's the same iMac as in this pic:
http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/F...RucliAR.medium
(courtesy to iFixIt)
And sure, there are no temp sensor connectors on the picture...

Can someone please confirm that there are no temp sensor for the HDD in this iMac?

Last edited by carlsson; Mar 11, 2013 at 05:41 AM.
carlsson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 07:28 AM   #514
compas70
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Hey,

OWC just released a cable with a digital thermal sensor module to bypass the fan issues. Looks quite interesting to me: iMac Hard Drive Upgradeability Expanded!
compas70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 01:47 AM   #515
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
My iMac is currently being upgraded at a repair shop as we speak. They've done an awful job though.

I took my machine in and said "I want the old HDD out, and these 2 new ones in" *hands over SSD and HDD*
Continuously having to clarify that yes, I don't want all 3 HDD drives in, just the new ones. I get a phone call later that day "the problem is we can't fit in all 3 drives". Urgh. I clarify again.
Then when it comes to picking the machine up they say they haven't done it yet, but are replacing the optical drive with the SSD as they didn't have a cable to put the SSD in the dedicated bay.

When I get it back I want to fix the mess they made (and to never use them again). What do I need to get the SSD in its own bay?
__________________
Maybe if everyone who'd ever been close to you had died, you'd be sarcastic, too.
Macrumors Steam Group
Dagless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 03:19 AM   #516
wkw
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Eugene, OR
Send a message via AIM to wkw Send a message via Yahoo to wkw
what an absolute nightmare.

I am planning on selling my 2011 imac soon because of the hassles involved with upgrading.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagless View Post
My iMac is currently being upgraded at a repair shop as we speak. They've done an awful job though.

I took my machine in and said "I want the old HDD out, and these 2 new ones in" *hands over SSD and HDD*
Continuously having to clarify that yes, I don't want all 3 HDD drives in, just the new ones. I get a phone call later that day "the problem is we can't fit in all 3 drives". Urgh. I clarify again.
Then when it comes to picking the machine up they say they haven't done it yet, but are replacing the optical drive with the SSD as they didn't have a cable to put the SSD in the dedicated bay.

When I get it back I want to fix the mess they made (and to never use them again). What do I need to get the SSD in its own bay?
wkw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 07:25 AM   #517
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkw View Post
what an absolute nightmare.

I am planning on selling my 2011 imac soon because of the hassles involved with upgrading.
I might keep this as my final mac and just pair it with a desktop PC. Upgrading a HDD should not be this difficult and problematic with warranties, etc.
Dagless is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone tried to put DDR3 1066 Ram in 2011 Mini Wicked1 Mac mini 8 Aug 18, 2011 08:38 PM
2011 iMac. Same Price. Less Features. Moz316 iMac 41 May 17, 2011 03:16 PM
Has anyone tried to downgrade back to 2.x yet? (from 3.0 beta) skoops iPhone 23 Mar 18, 2009 05:37 PM
Has anyone tried to upgrade iPhone to v2.1 without inserting any simcard?? ewangnz iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Nov 4, 2008 03:34 PM
Has anyone tried to force Jaguar to crash? Shrek General Mac Discussion 0 Sep 7, 2002 01:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC