Power Mac G5 Wireless Dongle - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2013, 03:53 PM   #1
keremtezcan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Question Power Mac G5 Wireless Dongle

Hey!
I was wondering if I could use a wireless dongle on my Power Mac G5 since I cannot install a built in airport card because I have the late 2005 model. Can I use any dongle? Or is there a specific type of dongle? Or does the Power Mac G5 not allow dongles? It would help if someone could give me an EBay (UK) link with a dongle that is compatible with the Power Mac G5.
(A dongle looks like a USB stick, but instead of being used for storage it allows a Wired computer to accept Wireless signals)

Thanks!
keremtezcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:14 PM   #2
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
You can use dongle but of course you must get one which has OS X support, for the version you are using. I have used Tenda W311u with OS X 10.4 and 10.5, it worked fine but the application you use to control the dongle looked like crap, that was/is the only complain with that dongle.

Last edited by Zotaccian; Jan 13, 2013 at 04:20 PM.
Zotaccian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 05:44 PM   #3
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
You can put in Airport.

As for dongles-
as Zotaccian said, has to have OS X compatibility. I also have a wreless dongle for a G5, and it works fine, but the application is horrible. It does not live in the menu bar like Airport, it is a standalone application in the dock. The UI is terrible.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 06:37 PM   #4
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by keremtezcan View Post
Hey!
I was wondering if I could use a wireless dongle on my Power Mac G5 since I cannot install a built in airport card because I have the late 2005 model. Can I use any dongle? Or is there a specific type of dongle? Or does the Power Mac G5 not allow dongles? It would help if someone could give me an EBay (UK) link with a dongle that is compatible with the Power Mac G5.
(A dongle looks like a USB stick, but instead of being used for storage it allows a Wired computer to accept Wireless signals)

Thanks!
I've posted this here before, but it may be helpful for you.

When my AirPort Extreme card crapped out I replaced it with a USB dongle. After a short time I learned that I noticed I wasn't getting a very strong or reliable signal, not so much at home, but most especially when I was out. I then bought a USB WiFi signal booster, and it's worked beautifully wherever I go with my iBook. Most of the ones I looked at were OS X compatible, but I needed to download the driver based on the chip (Ralink 3070) rather than on the name or serial number of the item. The interface is fine and, as above, everything works well.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:30 PM   #5
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
I recommend this card for the G5.
It is internal!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ralink-RT309...item2a24798d87
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:38 PM   #6
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Nice substitute for the original G5 airport/bt combo card... but I don't trust things from Hong Kong. Had bad experiences with sellers who sold stuff on ebay from there. I avoid Hong Kong like the plague!

Anyway, would this work in a G5 Quad?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
I recommend this card for the G5.
It is internal!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ralink-RT309...item2a24798d87
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:45 PM   #7
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
Nice substitute for the original G5 airport/bt combo card... but I don't trust things from Hong Kong. Had bad experiences with sellers who sold stuff on ebay from there. I avoid Hong Kong like the plague!

Anyway, would this work in a G5 Quad?
This card is from the united states.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-600370-00...item2325f4cbea
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:36 PM   #8
ybz90
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
Nice substitute for the original G5 airport/bt combo card... but I don't trust things from Hong Kong. Had bad experiences with sellers who sold stuff on ebay from there. I avoid Hong Kong like the plague!

Anyway, would this work in a G5 Quad?
Also, that's generally an unfair generalization of international sellers. You get what you pay for, and should do some research into what you might be getting when you buy anything off eBay, especially from HK and CN sellers. I've had nothing but good experiences from international bulk eBay sellers, better than domestic individual sellers who frequently misrepresent items or damage.
ybz90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 01:12 AM   #9
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
I don't trust things from Hong Kong... I avoid Hong Kong like the plague!?
Yeah cannot buy from Hong Kong, full of scammers like this:

http://www.apple.com/hk/en/retail/ifcmall/




Most of the time when I buy something from eBay it's from a Chinese seller and very rarely I've had problems. Cheap product is sometimes really a cheap product, but for example USB WLAN dongles have worked well, even the cheapest ones. You will of course buy one which has support for your Os, that's all.
Zotaccian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 01:50 AM   #10
keremtezcan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Wink

Could somebody send me a UK Ebay link of a dongle that works with my Power Mac G5? And even though it might say 'for mac' on the package that could mean only an intel mac...
So if you use one (apparently a lot of people here do) and it works with your PPC Mac and has a good signal and looks decent could you send me a United Kingdom EBay link for it?
Thanks very much!
keremtezcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 04:38 AM   #11
wobegong
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
I use a Dlink USB on my PMG5 ( http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=722 ) dirt cheap and works - Download the driver from the Ralink website (their chipset used).
__________________
PM G5 DC 2.3Ghz 16Gb 240Gb OCZ SSD 2Tb WDBlack 7800GTX 512Mb 23" ACD Bowers & Wilkins MM-1Late 2011 MBP 2.0Ghz i7 8Gb 500GB SSD iPad 3 64Gb iPhone5 64Gb
wobegong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:29 AM   #12
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by wobegong View Post
I use a Dlink USB on my PMG5 ( http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=722 ) dirt cheap and works - Download the driver from the Ralink website (their chipset used).
It's all about the chip. Ralink typically supplies chips that are compatible with virtually all versions of OS X, regardless of architecture.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:34 AM   #13
keremtezcan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by wobegong View Post
I use a Dlink USB on my PMG5 ( http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=722 ) dirt cheap and works - Download the driver from the Ralink website (their chipset used).
The URL doesn't work
keremtezcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:24 PM   #14
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
There is a FAQ with Dongle Examples.
Right on Top of this forum, and on my sig...
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:06 PM   #15
StUPoT
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
I have a dongle that works with my G5 it's a netgear WG111v2 and works fine and was dirt cheap on ebay
StUPoT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:01 PM   #16
wobegong
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by keremtezcan View Post
The URL doesn't work
Hmm works for me - try this one http://www.dlink.com/us/en/home-solu...50-usb-adapter
__________________
PM G5 DC 2.3Ghz 16Gb 240Gb OCZ SSD 2Tb WDBlack 7800GTX 512Mb 23" ACD Bowers & Wilkins MM-1Late 2011 MBP 2.0Ghz i7 8Gb 500GB SSD iPad 3 64Gb iPhone5 64Gb
wobegong is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Tags
dongle, ebay, power mac g5, signal, wireless

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headless Mac mini 2012 & Video Dongle? Buckeyes1995 Mac mini 11 Mar 8, 2014 09:38 AM
O2 Alcatel X230D dongle & Mac OSX 10.9.1 jonesdw OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Jan 6, 2014 09:08 AM
Wireless - Airport or dongle And PowerPC Macs 9 Jan 3, 2014 08:04 AM
Mac Pro bluetooth: antenna or dongle? rk25123 Mac Pro 22 Dec 12, 2013 10:05 PM
Working Bluetooth dongle for Mac mini? Smrtka Mac mini 5 Jul 7, 2013 01:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC