Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:59 AM   #51
el-John-o
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Missouri
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
We are going a bit off topic here so my last post on this.

If you google you get just normal cables mostly, in my job when we needed a crossover we really asked for a crossover and not patch cable.
I think crossovers gets rarely used now, it in my opinion was a stupid invention, why make it hard when you can do it easy
Well, because years ago NIC's weren't smart enough to figure it out without a crossover cable, AND, routers and hubs were really expensive! More for home networking and small use cases than anything enterprise. I've actually seen people 'daisy chain' computers with dual NIC's and crossover cables. Ludicrous now when an 8 port gigabit switch is 10 bucks, but back then...
__________________
Windows7 PC - Phenom II 965@4GHz x4 Cores, 16GB DDR3-2133, Radeon HD7970 | iPhone 5 32GB | iPad Air WiFi+LTE 128GB | Mid 2012 MacBook Pro 13", Dual 256GB SSD's in RAID 0, 16GB DDR3-1600
el-John-o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 03:30 AM   #52
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by el-John-o View Post
You actually don't need a patch cable with a MacBook Pro, it will automatically reconfigure the ethernet ports to work with any ethernet cable to link two MacBooks together.

But you're right, migration assistant will work just fine using ethernet vs FW800. In theory gigabit ethernet is faster, though I'm not sure which (FW800 or GbE) will actually end up working faster.
Gig-E is faster in real terms too. This is the solution for the OP she most likely doesn't have a FW cable nor a TB to FW adapter. She'd still need a TB to Gig-E but that is more useful going forward.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 03:15 PM   #53
el-John-o
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Missouri
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Gig-E is faster in real terms too. This is the solution for the OP she most likely doesn't have a FW cable nor a TB to FW adapter. She'd still need a TB to Gig-E but that is more useful going forward.
Oh okay. I wasn't sure. USB 2.0 is 480mbps but 400mbps FireWire 400 is faster in large data transfers, so I wasn't sure if FW800 had an efficiency advantage over GbE. I know I don't actually get 1000 megabits per second over my GbE network, close, but not quite. Although that could definitely be due to network overhead and cheap equipment!
__________________
Windows7 PC - Phenom II 965@4GHz x4 Cores, 16GB DDR3-2133, Radeon HD7970 | iPhone 5 32GB | iPad Air WiFi+LTE 128GB | Mid 2012 MacBook Pro 13", Dual 256GB SSD's in RAID 0, 16GB DDR3-1600
el-John-o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 03:27 PM   #54
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by el-John-o View Post
Oh okay. I wasn't sure. USB 2.0 is 480mbps but 400mbps FireWire 400 is faster in large data transfers, so I wasn't sure if FW800 had an efficiency advantage over GbE. I know I don't actually get 1000 megabits per second over my GbE network, close, but not quite. Although that could definitely be due to network overhead and cheap equipment!
I keep my MBP and MP in sync a humble ethernet cable..I don't have exact stats but after using FW 400/800 and ethernet, ethernet is significantly faster but I can't quantify it.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 03:30 PM   #55
el-John-o
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Missouri
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
I keep my MBP and MP in sync a humble ethernet cable..I don't have exact stats but after using FW 400/800 and ethernet, ethernet is significantly faster but I can't quantify it.
I suppose it would make sense. As I understand it, one of the advantages FireWire has is that's it's 'smarter' with controllers and both ends, and is a little bit closer to a networking device than a peripheral device. Ethernet also has a controller (NIC) at both ends, and IS a networking device!
__________________
Windows7 PC - Phenom II 965@4GHz x4 Cores, 16GB DDR3-2133, Radeon HD7970 | iPhone 5 32GB | iPad Air WiFi+LTE 128GB | Mid 2012 MacBook Pro 13", Dual 256GB SSD's in RAID 0, 16GB DDR3-1600
el-John-o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:55 AM   #56
a-m-k
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Do you all want this thread to stay on the board/forum? I could request to close it. I don't have that MBP anymore.
a-m-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 01:46 PM   #57
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by a-m-k View Post
Do you all want this thread to stay on the board/forum? I could request to close it. I don't have that MBP anymore.
Does it matter to you?
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:00 PM   #58
a-m-k
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Does it matter to you?
No, not now.
a-m-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 10:58 PM   #59
a-m-k
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Holy cow, there was MORE?!?!!!?

The top case and microphone, too. (That was new problems to me.) So in total it was

the top case
the keyboard
the logic board
the microphone cable

Everything but the logic board was a surprise. I don't think the optical drive was even mentioned. The slot drive wasn't even mentioned. So I am wondering. I am supposed to call tomorrow to finish one last step. (I forgot what the man said I had to still do.)
a-m-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:13 PM   #60
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by a-m-k View Post
The top case and microphone, too. (That was new problems to me.) So in total it was

the top case
the keyboard
the logic board
the microphone cable

Everything but the logic board was a surprise. I don't think the optical drive was even mentioned. The slot drive wasn't even mentioned. So I am wondering. I am supposed to call tomorrow to finish one last step. (I forgot what the man said I had to still do.)
So, essentially a whole new computer.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:26 PM   #61
a-m-k
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
So, essentially a whole new computer.
I'm so happy to have what I have now. I think my dad really wants my old one. I just have to read up on how to keep this MBP from the same thing that nearly killed (for lack of a better word) my old MBP. It had a LOT of errors.

What causes the errors, does anyone know?
a-m-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:33 PM   #62
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by a-m-k View Post
I'm so happy to have what I have now. I think my dad really wants my old one. I just have to read up on how to keep this MBP from the same thing that nearly killed (for lack of a better word) my old MBP. It had a LOT of errors.

What causes the errors, does anyone know?
Liquid, humidity maybe, or just real bad luck.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:48 PM   #63
a-m-k
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Liquid, humidity maybe, or just real bad luck.
I am very careful never to have any kind of liquid near anything electronic now... I guess that means no more hot humid days on my back deck.

Thank you for the information.
a-m-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mid 2010 MBP 15'' to Late 2013 MBP 15'' - what hardware features am I loosing? Snookerman MacBook Pro 6 Nov 5, 2014 01:24 PM
MBP with two funny pieces of round metal on MBP side of magsafe. What are they? LolaNoz MacBook Pro 19 Jul 29, 2014 08:25 PM
2.0ghz late-2013 MBP vs. 2.3ghz mid-2012 MBP Hebi Buying Tips and Advice 2 Dec 1, 2013 02:18 PM
15" MBP with high-res anti-glare and SSD vs retina MBP Nostromo MacBook Pro 14 Jan 18, 2013 02:10 PM
Purchae Advice - 2011 MBP or 2012 MBP 15" Base Model mac mac mac MacBook Pro 4 Jul 13, 2012 09:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC