Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 9, 2013, 06:57 AM   #26
garybUK
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
I wondered why the network has been so bad recently, I've been getting a lot of 'No Service' 50 per month and it sucks...

The only way to get service is to switch off and on again, even a Airplane (which is spelt wrong) should be Aeroplane Mode doesn't work.

I would try 3 but they are THE single worst company I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with, they are cheap for a reason.
garybUK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 01:43 PM   #27
SimonMW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
I upgraded to 6.1 and am on Vodafone. But as they seem to have virtually 0 3G coverage anywhere I go anyway I haven't noticed any difference.
+1! My 3G connection is rarely existent even in built up areas where I would expect it. Usually everyone else I know on O2 or 3 gets a perfect 3G signal even in many countryside areas while my phone is stuck on GPRS!

I'll be changing provider as soon as my contract is up this year.
SimonMW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 03:52 PM   #28
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
This is odd. I am in the UK, but I am with o2 and I don't see any 3G performance issues since upgrading to 6.1
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 07:00 AM   #29
ikir
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Vodafone in italy is a complete joke, super slow 3G, more grps (1G) than 3G.... they force you to pay everything compared to 3 and TIM. I hope Vodafone UK is different because a message like this would be fun.

"Ohhh wait, sorry it is our problem, we sucks" Vodafone ;-D
__________________
My homepage html, php, css handwritten, graphics made by me
Amiga News.it THE italian Amiga portal
ikir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 09:16 AM   #30
farleysmaster
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
My wife's phone on EE had a simliar problem, though I suppose it could be a coincidence...

I don't want to lose my jailbreak...
farleysmaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 09:28 AM   #31
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capers123 View Post
I've had a similar experience on O2 UK.
I'm with O2, haven't had any issues yet, nor have they messaged me either, but if its an IOS / 3G issue, then logic would dictate that we will also suffer from intermittent issues at some point...hopefully Apple will sort this out ASAP.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 01:11 PM   #32
cambox
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: omnipresent
There is also an issue with 02 and 6.1 if you try and switch over to 2G it keeps you on 3G without realising it. its only when you see that the battery has gone down like the titanic you see its a bug in the software. Also a small bug is now it says Cellular rather than Mobile?? WTF??
cambox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 11:56 PM   #33
rjjkp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
iphone 4 with the same issues

This afternoon with 5 bars on my ATT in Michigan, USA. the 3G symbol present , I could not get so much at the current local temp. I tried a speed test app and it just spun unable to get even a "ping" reference.
I recently upgraded from iOS5 to 6.1 waiting past the 6.0 versions in hopes to avoid the problems of early adopters.
It would seem even waiting 6months isn't enough. Apple is truly souring once Mr. Jobs has left.
SAD SAD
rjjkp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:01 AM   #34
farleysmaster
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjjkp View Post
This afternoon with 5 bars on my ATT in Michigan, USA. the 3G symbol present , I could not get so much at the current local temp. I tried a speed test app and it just spun unable to get even a "ping" reference.
I recently upgraded from iOS5 to 6.1 waiting past the 6.0 versions in hopes to avoid the problems of early adopters.
It would seem even waiting 6months isn't enough. Apple is truly souring once Mr. Jobs has left.
SAD SAD
This sort of thing has always happened from time to time. It may just be a network issue.
farleysmaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:52 AM   #35
irnchriz
macrumors 6502a
 
irnchriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by garybUK View Post
I wondered why the network has been so bad recently, I've been getting a lot of 'No Service' 50 per month and it sucks...

The only way to get service is to switch off and on again, even a Airplane (which is spelt wrong) should be Aeroplane Mode doesn't work.

I would try 3 but they are THE single worst company I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with, they are cheap for a reason.
aeroplane noun a powered machine used for travelling in the air, that is heavier than air and supported in its flight by fixed wings.
ETYMOLOGY: 19c: French.

aeroplane, airplane
Aeroplane is the standard form in British English. Airplane is the normal form in American English, and it is sometimes found in British English also.
__________________
irnchriz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 05:50 AM   #36
klausmmia
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: My home
vodafone-----have nothing to say
klausmmia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 06:54 AM   #37
TiggsPanther
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hampshire/Surrey, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by farleysmaster View Post
My wife's phone on EE had a simliar problem, though I suppose it could be a coincidence...
I'm also on EE and have been having it drop the 3G quite a bit the past week or so. Coincidence? Maybe. But when I run the dates in my head, I'm pretty sure I didn't have this problem prior to the 6.1 update.
TiggsPanther is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 07:40 AM   #38
mayone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Milan, Italy
Send a message via Skype™ to mayone
Same problem with my 4S (6.1) and Vodafone Italy
mayone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 07:41 AM   #39
TheMacPotato
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
More background: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-21411970
TheMacPotato is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:07 AM   #40
KdParker
macrumors 68030
 
KdParker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
With rumored two new release coming this year, I imagine most users will be moving away from 3g since the iPhone will be available at a discount.
__________________
64g iPhone6+Space Grey; 16g iPhone6 Silver;16g iPhone5s Space Grey;
15" retina - MBP 2.6 GHZ 16 RAM;
iPad4 retina
KdParker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 01:04 PM   #41
cambox
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: omnipresent
Big story in the UK but not even mentioned on this site!
cambox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 03:55 PM   #42
Stella
macrumors 603
 
Stella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
Seems likely that some Android fan at Vodafone is just trying to stir the pot.
Exactly, and Apple had to create a fix..........
__________________
Hardware / Software: The right tools for the job - be it Apple or otherwise.
Stella is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iOS 6 Users on Devices Able to Run iOS 7 Must Upgrade to Fix FaceTime MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 918 Aug 6, 2014 04:29 PM
iOS 7 Users Complaining About Motion Sickness Due to Parallax and Zooming Effects MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 211 Sep 26, 2013 07:20 PM
iphone 5 upgrade ios 6.1.2 > 6.1.4 > 7.0 issues Mrfatboy iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 18, 2013 08:08 PM
Sprint Users: iOS 7 Beta 2 Data Issues on iPhone 5 locoboi187 iOS 7 13 Jul 21, 2013 11:46 PM
iOS 6.1 Performance issues - Vodafone text MrGimper iOS 6 0 Feb 8, 2013 01:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC