Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 14, 2013, 02:16 PM   #1
DrD
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Aperture 3 on large 2560 x 1440 screen, macbook with intel 3000 + I5 2.3ghz

I am wondering about running aperture 3 on large external 2560 x 1440 screen, connected to my 2011 macbook pro. Not so much a question of IF it will work, just how well it will run.

The macbook pro specs are:
Intel HD 3000
Core I5 2.3 ghz
4 gb ram

I don't plan to run much, if anything, else in the background. It'd just be a way of taking my photo library with me on the go, while also letting me do some nice pixel peeping and professional editing at home on a big screen.
__________________
"Two roads diverged in a wood, and I--
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference."
-Robert Frost
DrD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 07:19 PM   #2
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrD View Post
I am wondering about running aperture 3 on large external 2560 x 1440 screen, connected to my 2011 macbook pro. Not so much a question of IF it will work, just how well it will run.

The macbook pro specs are:
Intel HD 3000
Core I5 2.3 ghz
4 gb ram

I don't plan to run much, if anything, else in the background. It'd just be a way of taking my photo library with me on the go, while also letting me do some nice pixel peeping and professional editing at home on a big screen.
I have a Thunderbolt display that I have attached to my 2012 MBA and it was fine for Aperture. I often bring the ATD with me when I am working remote at my beach condo.

At home, the ATD is attached to my 27" iMac... and then I run Aperture in dual display mode. I typically have the secondary display set up to display a full screen view of the selected photo... but there are lots of options.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 12:48 PM   #3
DrD
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Great answer. Thanks, my MBP should be speced pretty similar to your MBA, so that more or less answers that.
__________________
"Two roads diverged in a wood, and I--
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference."
-Robert Frost
DrD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 06:47 PM   #4
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
You do have an SSD correct? I find Aperture performance is quite sensitive to fast I/O. The SSD has about ~100X the IOPS of a HDD... and you can feel it in an application such as Aperture.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 08:52 PM   #5
DrD
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
You do have an SSD correct? I find Aperture performance is quite sensitive to fast I/O. The SSD has about ~100X the IOPS of a HDD... and you can feel it in an application such as Aperture.

/Jim
Not yet... but oddly enough I was planning on getting one along with the monitor at the same time. Glad to know it will help considerably.
__________________
"Two roads diverged in a wood, and I--
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference."
-Robert Frost
DrD is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best 2560 x 1440 monitor options dpavid Mac Peripherals 16 Apr 28, 2014 05:36 PM
Macbook Pro retina 2560 x 1440 x 2 + 4k x 1 screens mrsavage1 MacBook Pro 1 Jan 13, 2014 07:48 AM
AirPlay 2560 x 1440 bill-p OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Jul 9, 2013 10:09 AM
Why am I not getting 2560 x 1440? richardamp Mac mini 8 Jan 19, 2013 02:12 PM
9400m + Aperture 3 + 2560 x 1440 monitor? McClassic MacBook Pro 0 Jan 6, 2013 08:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC